We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mostly excellent - but some minor quibbles”
Review of Hotel Delle Tele

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Delle Tele
Ranked #222 of 412 Hotels in Florence
Tralee
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Mostly excellent - but some minor quibbles”
Reviewed 24 October 2011

I wanted to echo the general four-star rating, as for the most part, our stay was positive, but the experiences of my travelling companion forced me to dock a mark. To begin with, the pros - the location is excellent, with five minutes' walk of the central Duomo, and the staff were helpful, particularly the New York receptionnist, who highlighted the main attractions on a city map for us. Also, the self-service breakfast options amply sated travellers' appetites and the Wi-Fi Internet was gratefully appreciated, while the spacious bedrooms and en-suite bathrooms had all desirable facilities. The one major negative with our stay was an invasion of mosquitoes - I escaped unscathed, but my sister was bitten on the first three nights of our stay, colouring her holiday experience. Also, the heating in both bedroom and bathroom were rather stifling on occasion, and while lowering was possible, sleep proved somewhat difficult.

Room Tip: Don't choose a room near the breakfast area if you are not an early riser.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kerryguy82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    130
    69
    23
    18
See reviews for
86
135
11
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Eagan, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Review information from my father and brother-in-law who stayed at hotel and asked me to submit review for them. Staff very accommodating and helpful in every way. Room very clean every day. We were upgraded to a mini-suite because we were staying for six days. Small elevator on first floor takes you up to reception on third floor. Good location between Duomo and train station.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JRDEagan_Minnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 15 October 2011

This small little hotel is a simple cozy place in the heart of Florence. We chose it because we travelled from Switzerland by train and it was an easy 5-10 walk, but it is hard to spot with all the different hotel signs.
Don't expect anything grand, because it is really really simple with just everything you need.
It is not an accessible hotel since there are steps to the very very very small old fashion elevator. And the washroom has just enough space to move around in. If you have trouble lifting your luggage this is not the place for you, but excellent if you are traveling light with a few small / medium luggages.
However if all you need a safe and clean place to sleep this is a great place with small cafes around an shops and very very close to both the train station and the duomo.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StarringSer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2011

This hotel has the best location! First off, we traveled by train to the hotel and it was probably a 10 minutes walk at most. Secondly, it is in the heart of all the places you will want to visit. Florence is definitely a walking city, everything is closeby, I didn't believe it until our visit.

I thought our room was okay, it wasn't new, probably on the older side, but it was fine. Just don't expect super high end, it's not. The staff was always very helpful, Paolo and Charlie were great.

Please try to wake up for the breakfast, they actually serve cappuccino and custard creme croissants!

Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank evavlau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McKinney, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 10 October 2011

The Hotel Delle Tele is a great place to stay in Florence. Charlie and Paulo are friendly and helpful. Great restaurant recommendations and are glad to help plan your stay and make reservations. They are in a restricted access area for cars so if you are driving get their advice on how to avoid potential fines. You don't need a car. The hotel is within walking distance of everything. Rooms are clean and roomy, bathrooms are european. Not just a good place to stay, it was a great experience. We were there in Sept. 2011.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2011

The Hotel Delle Tele, for the most part, is a wonderful place to stay. Paulo and Charlie are so friendly and helpful, you can't leave without a smile after dealing with them.

The hotel's location is perfect. It's proximity to Firenze SMN (the train station), the Duomo, and many other sites is ideal. We were so glad to be able to walk everywhere knowing the hotel wasn't too far away.

Getting to the front desk is a fun adventure! We actually didn't even notice the elevator when we first arrived and walked all three levels with our luggage. Ugh! We finally noticed it when we came down after check-in. Just so you know: the stairs to the left take you to the elevator. The car is small, but I fit with my wife and all our luggage so it's not that bad. You just have to be creative!

Other reviews I had read about Delle Tele said to try to get a room on the back of the building because the street-side rooms would be affected by the noise of the busy streets. My concerns about this were allayed when we checked in: We arrived before their check-in time and I learned that not only was our room on the street-side, but it wasn't ready for us yet. I completely understood, but was somewhat dismayed at our circumstance. I asked Paulo if we could have a room on the back instead. He looked for availablilty and said, "Yes, that will be no problem and it's ready for you too!" What a relief! This is an example of the kind of service you can expect at Delle Tele.

Our room was quite nice and spacious. The decor really seemed to honor the history of the building and the city with walls rough-painted in salmons and golds. The one window was quite large and allowed an interesting view of neighboring rooftops and the Duomo. I actually got some great photos from this viewpoint. The room seemed quite clean and the furnishings were all in good order. We also never had any sign of bed bugs.

The bathroom was adequate. I understand the building is quite old and that the bathrooms were probably reconfigured to fit the needs of the hotel, but the bathroom seemed less finished than other parts of the hotel. It was clean and fully functional, but guests will have to make some compromises in this room's bathroom.

All together, we were not ill-affected by Delle Tele's imperfections. Any compromises we had to make during our stay with them were inconsequential and actually added character to our experience. It's comforting to know that when we visit the glorious city of Florence again, we already know where we will be staying...at Delle Tele.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdSchu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

Positives - Good location, nicely decorated rooms, very comfortable beds, good quality of food served at breakfast, friendly staff, free wi-fi and triple glazed windows (kept out all the sound from the city not that the windows needed to be opened such was the efficiency of the air conditioning). Lift to reception. Close to railway / bus station so easy to get around Tuscany. Hotel is only 5 min walk to the Duomo, 10 min to Ponte Vecchio. Good hotel for couples or if travelling with older children.
Negatives - tiny shower room, damp patch on ceiling above cubicle, mouldy patches of grouting in shower, slow service at breakfast (we had to queue on one morning and wait 15 minutes for our breakfast because the room is too small and doesn't have adequate seating, we saw other people waiting on other mornings too), Cold meats and cheeses at breakfast would have been good.

Room Tip: Book a room away from the breakfast area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MattR2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Romagna
Hotel Romagna
#230 of 412 in Florence
382 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Nizza
Hotel Nizza
#163 of 412 in Florence
422 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Domus Florentiae Hotel
Domus Florentiae Hotel
#205 of 412 in Florence
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Paris Hotel
Paris Hotel
#127 of 412 in Florence
1,478 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Rosso 23
Rosso 23
#140 of 412 in Florence
795 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel City
Hotel City
#56 of 412 in Florence
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Delle Tele? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Delle Tele

Property: Hotel Delle Tele
Address: Via Panzani 10, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#157 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Delle Tele 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Art and hospitality in the shadow of The Duomo... Hotel Delle Tele, overlooking one of the most charismatic streets in central Florence, is a charming 3 star hotel that will not disappoint your expectations. Take a relaxing stroll to some of the most popular monuments and museums, like The Basilica Santa Maria del Fiore (a.K.A. Duomo), The Uffizi Gallery and The Medici Chapels. These are just some of the wondrous structures that will make your stay an unforgettable one. Furthermore, Hotel Delle Tele is located a few steps from The Central Station Santa Maria Novella and The Palazzo dei Congressi, making it ideal for business trips, conventions, and conferences. End your day with a typical Florentine meal in one of our recommended restaurants and top it off with dessert while watching a sunset along The Arno River... Treat yourself to a relaxing holiday captivated by the wonders of this spectacular city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Delle Tele reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delle Tele Florence
Delle Tele Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing