We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Santa Monaca Hostel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Internet
Palazzo Guicciardini(Florence)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Palazzo Guadagni(Florence)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Westin Excelsior Florence(Florence)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Florent(Florence)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (198)
Filter reviews
198 results
Traveller rating
22
65
65
20
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
22
65
65
20
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsperson dormwalking distancetrain stationlocation is greattourist attractionsminute walkstayed here for nightsponte vecchiosupermarketfridgestoveplugssheetsprosconsterrace
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
95 - 100 of 198 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2008

We stayed four nights, in a mixed dorm. The hostel is well run and clean. The staff friendly and helpful. The doors to the dorm don't lock, but there are lockers for each bed. The location is great -right down the street from the Piazza des spiritu sanctu where we found great restaurants every night. The piazza also featured a large Sunday market and there were a few market stalls everyday with interest things to look at. Down the street is a very helpful green grocer, a good bakery and a good cheese and cold cuts shop. We walked everywhere and went back to the hostel at the end of the afternoon before going out in the evening.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank qcquebec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2008

worst experience i've ever had at a hostel backpacking europe for 3 months!! if you like book camps w/ yelling nazis this is the place for you. they wake you up at 9:30AM, lock you out at 10:00AM and if you're still in bed they'll literally pull/throw you out (i made it 1/2 way across the room) and then kick you out w/o a refund. in addition they lock you out at 1:58AM, not the 2AM they advertise and then you have to sleep in the streets until they open up at 7 in the morn.

avoid this place at all costs!!!

Stayed: May 2008
Thank Mashimoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2007

Cheap, easy access to florence town centre, just a 10 minute walk. Lovely friendly environment. Good facilities.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank flubberdubdub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2007

Stayed here for a few nights in Dec 2006. Was happy with my stay here - i met new friends, and have no significant complaints. I recommend this hostel!

Positives:
Clean rooms with comfortable beds
Efficient, english speaking staff
Large common room conducive to mingling with fellow travellers
Kitchen facilities (stove, sink, NO fridge as mentioned before... borrow utensils from front reception)
Washing facilities (although 6.50euro for wash + dry)

Negatives:
Can be a bit of a trek from the train station if you have heavy bags
Showers - water pressure is not that high when the temperature is set to warm/hot

Notes:
Lock out btwn 10am and 2pm
BYO towel
To take the bus - you need to go to the Piazza di santa Maria Novella (far end of the piazza)
From the front of the exit (ie. turn left when you get off the train), turn right, cross the road (there is a round about here), walk to the left of Santa Maria Novella.
Cross the piazza to the other side, where there will be a bus stop.
Bus 36, 37 or 11 - 2nd stop after the bridge.

Stayed: December 2006
Thank chinsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2006

I stayed here for 3 nights as a base for my visit to Florence. The location is central, close to the Arno in Oltrarno, so saved on transport.
The good points are the hostel is very clean, with excellent showers, (for a hostel).
There is a kitchen and equipment can be hired for free which keeps the budget down and there are cheap shops very near. However there is no fridge.
The dorms are closed from 10 -2 but you can hang out in the living room, which by the way really needs a makeover.

The negatives are, the dorm was rather cold, so a sleeping bag is recommended outside of Summer. The dorm I stayed in was large - 18 beds, so bring ear plugs and a sleeping mask to get a good night's sleep.

I would definitely stay here again. What made it so good was the other backpackers were very friendly and I made some good friends while there. Hostelling is not about luxury, it is about the people you meet.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MartinBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews