We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Belvedere - Florence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villa Belvedere - Florence
Ranked #199 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
United States
Level Contributor
69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

A friend stayed in this family run establishment over 20 years ago. He decided to make a return trip and recommended that we come along. He said we would love it and he was right. It is situated outside of the touristy areas of Florence and sits on a hill with marvelous views. We had a wonderful corner room with lots of natural light and enough closet space and room for our luggage. The European style breakfast, included in the price of the room, is substantial with great cappuccino and/or espresso as well as seasonal fresh fruits. Though we drove from Rome and had an available car, we walked to and from the hotel to the tourist areas of Florence. The walk up and down the hill kept us in shape after all the wonderful food we consumed. Because the hotel is well situated to the autostrada, the day trips to Pisa, Siena, Voltera, etc. were very easy. The tennis courts and small pool, help to give this small hotel it's four star rating. The staff and owners are very friendly. The grounds are well maintained. The small outdoor seating was a very relaxing place to sip cocktails after a full day of sight seeing. There is an in-room safe (old fashioned type) as well as free wi-fi. It is definitely a place to which we will return.

Room Tip: Corner room without the balcony is bright and airy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Checkingthelist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    67
    21
    2
    0
See reviews for
49
87
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
63 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2012

My husband and I return to Villa Belvedere each year, prior to going to a rental house. It is a family owned property with incredible art hanging on the walls on the first floor. The hotel offers free parking, an easy walk to city buses, a good sized swimming pool, a tennis court, and very affable hosts.

We take rooms that have large terraces with views overlooking the city of Florence. What could be bad? The rooms are nicely furnished and comfortable. Hotel rates are very reasonable. The breakfasts are nothing to get excited about but then, we make up for those deficits with all our other dining!

Carol

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights. We checked in late after driving down to Florence from the north, and on arrival we were shown the standard room ( with no view and a tiny window), the room was a bit crowded and we were offered an upgrade for 40Euro more per night. When we were shown the suite with HUGE balcony overlooking Florence, we immediately went for it and felt like we got a bargain. The price u paid and the room u get will DEFINITELY affect ur stay. We completely loved our balcony! The room was big, the furniture was more old styled, but still clean and comfortable. Breakfast was average, coffee was not that nice, and the basic cereal and fruits was offered, however the crossiant and bread was not that tasty. The receptionist are the family members that owned this property, once u get to know them i find they are quite talkative and helpful. We loved the view of florence from our balcony, the pool was not that big but adequate. car parking was easy and it's outside the ZTL. To get to city centre u can take the bus or walk for 20-25 mins. Overall, i'm glad we upgraded to this wonderful room! We would definitely recommend this hotel to u and our friends.

Room Tip: Go for the suite with balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shampoo999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

We found this hotel on Tripadvisor and it's probably our best find yet.

The Villa is situated overlooking the city of Florence around 30 minutes walk away located in a quiet area of the city.

Our double room was massive it had a queen bed along with more than enough space for luggage and clothes plus very big bathroom. The fixtures, fittings and furnishings are of the highest quality. The balcony had lovely views of the gardens.

The staff are very particular about the service and cleanliness and it shows.

The breakfast is good with a generous selection of cereals, hams,cheese, breads and jams.

One very minor downside is that the room service meals are a little on the pricey side but that is normal at a place like this.

One tip !! If you require a taxi when checking out allow yourself up to 45 minutes for the taxi to arrive. We waited for 30 minutes and we stayed just outside the peak holiday season.

We had a great stay here and just wish it had been for longer. The next time we visit it will be.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank delboyPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2012

This is an excellent hotel.
It is very close to the center of Florence and yet it is in a very beautiful and quiet place.
No need to stay in the crowdy center of Florence, you can be there in 15 minutes!
You have a clear view of Florence and the Toscanian landscape from the villa.
Our room was spacious and the bathroom was very good.
Furniture were a little bit old but it didn't matter at all.
It has a very nice breakfast room with a nice view all around.
Staff was excellent except the guy in the breakfast room that he was rude.
It was a great value for money choice.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rstoned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

Just returned from villa belvedere. Simone and the waiters were fantastic but the family who own the villa are extremely rude. Our room was small and in the servants quarter for 150euro a night. I was expecting a view but all we got was shrubs of trees and no balcony. There was no kettle or fridge in the room which made it extremely difficult with a baby. Obviously it forces you to buy stuff from their bar so it's not in their best interest to put a fridge in the rooms. This is definitely not 4 star. The 4star aldrovani suites we stayed at in Rome where a class above belvedere. It's a good 25/30 min walk downhill to ponte vecchio. Anyone visiting Florence must check out piazza michaelangio for the best views. The pool at the villa was very refreshing after a hot day sight seeing in the sun. We would not stay here again simply because of the rudeness of the family.

Room Tip: If staying in summer choose somewhere with a pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Briohny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

As previous reviewers said view from the garden is absolutely stunning. Garden itself is great, nice place to relax. Nice location, if you like to walk can walk to the old town. Owners are very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SLN968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Villa Carlotta Hotel
#233 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
Park Palace Hotel
#158 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Classic Hotel
#226 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Della Robbia
#202 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Principe Hotel
Principe Hotel
#205 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Cosmopolitan Concept Hotel
#109 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Belvedere - Florence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Belvedere - Florence

Property: Villa Belvedere - Florence
Address: Via Benedetto Castelli 3 | Firenze, 50124, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#98 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#107 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#130 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Belvedere - Florence 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Splendid Villa situated on the hill of Poggio imperiale at five minutes distance from the center of Florence admist a lovely garden with shady trees where one may admire an incomparable view of the city and the surrounding hills ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Villa Belvedere - Florence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Belvedere - Florence Hotel Florence
Hotel Belvedere Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing