We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to city - Terrific view closeby”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Camping Michelangelo
Ranked #238 of 304 Speciality Lodging in Florence
Lier, Belgium
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Close to city - Terrific view closeby”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We had a good stay on the camping. We stayed in a tent of PLUS. We made an error with our booking dates and with a great smile the rebooked everything. The tent is not that big, but you have enough room. Inside there is only light, no plug for power. You can find this at the bar. There is also a small shop. To the city you can walk or take the bus, who stops in front of the camping. Advise is to buy a FLORENCE CARD (€72). This gives you the opportunity to travel with the public transport for 72 hours and you can go straight into museums, instead of waiting in long queues. We parked our car on the camping for €6,1/day.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beer_Engel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    86
    91
    77
    76
See reviews for
51
145
27
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We stayed here in July 2013, we had a private tent which had three beds (1 single, 1 bunk bed) bright lights, a lock and wooden flooring. Perfectly comfortable for three nights. This campsite has unbelievable views and is within walking distance of the beautiful city of Florence; It is a great place to meet other travelers and the onsite shop and bar make it a great stay. The showers and toilets are fairly typical for a campsite, but fine for a few nights. However they clean the showers and toilets at really inconvenient times and we didn't find the staff that friendly. There is also quite a lot of noise from a nearby club, but it wasn't as bad as we were expecting after reading other reviews. Nothing a pair of ear plugs cant fix. There is also a gap at the bottom of the tent which means bugs can get in very easily and we had spiders/ants/anything else that could get in the whole time we were there. WiFi is also completely useless - didn't manage to get onto it once the whole time. This is a great place for travelers for a few nights, but not the best out of the plus camping chain.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dingle, Kerry, Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and really enjoyed it. Staff were always helpful, tents were really nice with lights and locks and comfortable beds. The bar was not too expensive and lots of fun. The shop had everything we needed, it even sold plug adapters. The toilets and showers were clean and had hot running water. The location was stunning with views over the whole of florence and regular buses to and from the city centre, it was also just a short walk away down lot of steps which was fun going down though very tough going up on hot days.

Low points: It could be a little noisy at night as there is a nightclub nearby but that really didn't bother us at all, though it could bother others. It was difficult to get a plug socket, patience is key. Wifi is only available in the bar area and, with so many people using it, it can be slow. Early morning is the best time for fast browsing.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Tent doors broken, easy to open even when locked. Showers were rubbish, impossible to keep clothes dry while showering. Very noisy through to small hours. Wifi is non existent if more than 2 people connected. No power outlets in tents so have to share 9 with whole camp. BEWARE we were told that if we wanted to check out before reception opened at 7 (which we did) we were told we could pay the "night before", then upon trying to pay we were told the only took payments between 7 and 11am. This caused stress because we had to catch early transport which we only just caught using an expensive taxi. Accessability of the tents were verympoor especially with large travel bags, narrow paths and poor lighting made it difficult to get to and from. Views were alright, better from piazzle michelangelo just up road.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Florence hotels

Ballymena, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013 via mobile

Felt like our tent was in the middle of a dancefloor. Music until 4am. Do not underestimate the noise. Good location with nice views. Food was ok and price was reasonable. Wifi was terrible. Only available in the bar area and very slow. Wash rooms what you expect from camping. Booked 3 nights in advance but only stayed 2. Were decent not to charge us the 3rd night.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fixtures_man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We stayed here in summer last year whilst travelling through Italy. Using the stairs to go up to the Michelangelo Plaza to get to the campsite kept us fit during our stay here, but the view over Florence was worth it. The tents are clean and somewhat secure, we never had any issues with this although the bathrooms are not the cleanest. One evening we went to the supermarket and purchased meats, wine cheese etc and sat on the grass bank of the Michelangelo Plaza and watched the sun go down over Florence with a perfect view of Ponte Vecchio which was one of the best nights on our trip.

It is a perfect place if you are looking to travel around Italy and would prefer to spend your money on the fantastic Italian food!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoFar12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Straight forward arrival - but be aware, on the bus the stop for the campsite is BEFORE the piazzale michelangelo.
Tents were a good size and secure. No electricity in the tent though.
Toilet block was dirty and showers were poor. Lots flies around.
Difficult to find an available plug socket.
On site restaurant was average.
Nice walk downhill down to the centre, bit more difficult to walk back up to!

Room Tip: Be aware all of the permanent tents are next to a night club!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philippa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Florence
8.0 mi away
Camping Village Il Poggetto
Camping Village Il Poggetto
#184 of 304 in Florence
94 reviews
2.4 mi away
Camping Firenze Camper and Caravan Site
3.6 mi away
Camping Village Panoramico Fiesole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Camping Village Internazionale Firenze
13.8 mi away
Norcenni Girasole Club
Norcenni Girasole Club
#1 of 23 in Figline e Incisa Valdarno
932 reviews
13.9 mi away
Camping Panorama del Chianti
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camping Michelangelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping Michelangelo

Property: Camping Michelangelo
Address: Viale Michelangiolo 80, 50125, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Piazzale Michelangelo
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #238 of 304 Speciality Lodging in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open from 01/06 -15/09 only for tend's, camper van and motorhome are not allowed to host on this campsite ,we are now on the new area adress:viale generale dalla chiesa nr 1 florence ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Camping Michelangelo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plus Camping Michelangelo Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing