We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for long stay in Florence”
Review of Palazzo Antellesi

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Florence
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Palazzo Antellesi
Ranked #84 of 305 Speciality Lodging in Florence
El Cerrito, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location for long stay in Florence”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

My wife and I and several friends rented two apartments for the month of May. Beautiful furnishings and architecture in a central, historic location. The owner and staff were very helpful, offering good recommendations for restaurants and useful tips on getting around the city. It was very nice to have a place to relax, spend a couple hours in the middle of the day planning our days, and cook dinner at home when we were tired. There are wine shops and a large market within a couple blocks.
We'll definitely come back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 9876Steve54321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    6
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
17
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Staying in an apartment in the Palazzo Antellesi is a very special experience. We stayed here, in the "Mimi" apartment, in October 2012 and loved it so much that we returned again, in May 2014, staying this time in the "Miravista" apartment.

The Palazzo Antellesi is a Renaissance era palace that now houses ten apartments, no two alike. What each apartment does have in common, however, is that each is furnished with taste and style. The two we've lived in thus far had washer/dryers, dishwashers, wood-burning fireplaces and wifi.

They also had large terraces overlooking the Piazza Santa Croce, one of Florence's most famous piazzas, next to the Church of Santa Croce. We enjoyed dining outside on the terrace and watching all the activities in the piazza below us (no cars allowed, only pedestrians). The location couldn't be better. Most of the city's sights/sites that we wanted to visit were no more than a 15 minute stroll or a short cab ride away. We especially loved being able to walk each evening to a restaurant no more than a few minutes away, especially Boccadama which is literally five steps from the front door of the Palazzo.

The latest apartment we lived in, "Miravista", besides its large terrace, had a spacious living-dining room, galley kitchen, two comfortable bedrooms each with private bathroom and an extra half bath. Daytime in May was warm so we used the terrace for breakfasts and late afternoon tea or cocktails - and people watching. Evenings were cool and we used the fireplace almost every night (logs are supplied by the Palazzo at a moderate cost).

We've always loved visiting Florence and have visited at least a dozen times over the past 30 years. But our love affair with this beautiful city has intensified since we "discovered" the Palazzo Antellesi. We can't wait to start planning our next trip. There are still eight other palazzo apartments we haven't tried yet!

If planning a trip to Florence, consider staying more than a week. It is at the end of a week that you begin to realize that you have barely touched the surface of all this city offers. As a favor to yourself: reserve an apartment in the Palazzo Antellesi. I am not much given to superlatives but the Palazzo Antellesi deserves every superlative I can think of.

Room Tip: The palazzo has 10 apartments available (plus 2 others in an adjacent building). No two apartments...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank julie13132013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

After renting in 2012, we returned in Feb 2014 and rented the apartment Casa Toscana and again we loved it. Beautifully furnished, spotlessly clean and comfortable. The building is wonderfully located and within just a few min walk of all the major sights of Florence. Their website is very accurate in showing all the apartments and all the booking can be done by email.
We liked this apartment even more than the one we rented before. a little more room and very quiet since it is in the back of the building. Everything works well. wifi works great. The management is very nice and will help with anything.
We recommend this to anyone looking for a short or long term rental in Florence.
We met some other guests who return each year for 3 months. that tells you something!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathleenwells1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
85 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014 via mobile

Have been staying at the Palazzo Antellesi now for five years and couldn't imagine a better experience. My apartment is splendidly comfortable and well-appointed, located in the heart of historic Florence. A close walk to Oltrarno and all the major sights in Florence proper, I especially love it here in the winter when the fireplace makes it cozy as ribbolita bubbles on the stove. Professionally and lovingly managed, the Palazzo Antellesi couldn't be a better choice for a Firenze sojourn.

Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank bgarrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
134 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Beautiful, super-large, very well-appointed and immaculately maintained apartment in this 16th century palazzo overlooking Piazza Santa Croce. The location couldn't be better, the apartment was superb and the management was exceedingly helpful in many different ways. It's not inexpensive, but it is well worth it. The only problem we had in several days' stay was that a ceiling bulb went out. It was fixed within 15 minutes of our telling the office about it. Absolutely fabulous.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravlelingFlash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We spent three weeks in August in the apartment Mimi on the top floor of Palazzo Antellesi and loved spending our mornings and many evenings and dinners on the terrace overlooking Piazza Santa Croce with the luminous glow of the Santa Croce church as our companion. The apartment had two bedrooms, the second of which served as a guest room for a visiting friend for a few days. The whole apartment is graciously laid out and has views from every window: one side facing Florentine rooftops and the other, Piazza Santa Croce. While it is well air conditioned in each room of the apartment, the cross breeze was adequate many days to keep us cool and fresh. Management is efficient and helpful, connecting by email almost immediately for any issue. There is an elevator, maid service if you want it (she was the most wonderful woman), and wifi. We loved the ease of the location - easy and beautiful walking distance to all the sights. While we enjoyed all that Florence has to offer, we felt lucky to be able to sit and soak it all in from high above our Piazza - a view only Palazzo Antellesi has to offer.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tola P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Our family (2 plus 2 teenagers stayed in the Casa Toscana apartment for 5 nights - it was our first experience at renting an apartment in A European city, and it could not have gone better. The rental agent was easy to find, got us settled in quickly, and gave us many useful suggestions and recommendations. The location is awesome - on the piazza de Santa Croce, just minutes walking to just about anywhere you want to go in Florence. The apartment had two large bedrooms, 2 large bathrooms, a good size sitting room, and a smallish but adequately equipped kitchen. Overall, the decoration was really comfortable, bright and tasteful, and we really enjoyed having the extra space and comforts of home to relax in when we weren't out touring. And the leaving was as easy as the arriving. All in all, a great experience and a great place to stay, for much less than two hotel rooms would have cost.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DLStern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel Della Robbia
#198 of 422 in Florence
190 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Golf
Hotel Golf
#252 of 422 in Florence
415 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Principe Hotel
Principe Hotel
#212 of 422 in Florence
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Dali
Hotel Dali
#141 of 422 in Florence
648 reviews
Villa Carlotta Hotel
#235 of 422 in Florence
591 reviews
Uffizi
Leone Blu
Leone Blu
#37 of 305 in Florence
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Antellesi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Antellesi

Property: Palazzo Antellesi
Address: Piazza Santa Croce, 21, 50112, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 305 Speciality Lodging in Florence
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are planning a vacation in Tuscany, the apartment rentals of Palazzo Antellesi in Florence and Siena are the absolute best. Palazzo Antellesi offers accommodations for long and short term rentals with a large selection of historical apartments for your Italian vacation. Our Florence accommodations are located in the Renaissance building of Palazzo Antellesi in the historic Piazza Santa Croce, one of the most important landmarks in Firenze. All Florence apartments take their names from important people in Florence history like Giotto, Donatello, Medici. Palazzo Antellesi apartments are only three minutes away by foot from Piazza Signoria and the Uffizi Gallery, and five from Brunelleschi's famous cathedral. Michelangelo's home is around the corner. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Palazzo Antellesi Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing