We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Azzi - Locanda degli Artisti
Ranked #192 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights in July 2013. The location is very convenient and very close to almost everything in the city. The air conditioner is really worked because it was inhumanly hot outside. The breakfast was pretty decent and even has tea (which is rear in Italy).
The only thing we didn't like is bathroom. When you enter it is big, but the light turns on by itself by motion detector, so if you are there for a while it shuts off and you have to raise your hands or do something because there is no window and its dark. The other problem is the shower compartment. The shower is installed on the wall opposite the toilet and not separated from main area by curtain or something. So the floor is always wet and if you forget your feet will be always wet. I have a family of 5 so after the first person takes the shower everything is getting damp and no way to dry it fast. I would really recommend the management to do something about that because it was very annoying. Other than that it was very pleasant stay. The staff was helpful and friendly. They have a special room to leave your staff if you are checking out this day but need your luggage to be stored somewhere safely.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Galkaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (808)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

110 - 116 of 808 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2013

We arrived in Florence with no room booked so as soon as we got off the train we went on the hunt for a room, we popped into Hotel Azzi and the lovely front desk attendant showed us the 2 rooms she had available, a bigger room and a quite small one, we opted for the bigger room as we were there for 3 nights. We loved the proximity to the train station as well as an easy walk to sights and restaurants. The room was good, a little tired, could use a fresh coat of paint but it was clean and we slept well which is all that matters!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krystal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We stayed in the Hotel Azzi for two nights last week, as part of our Italian holiday.
The hotel itself is a little bit tired, in need of a lick of paint, but the main thing for us was its close proximity to the main attractions in Florence. About 7mins walk to the duomo (through a street with little corner shops & small cafes), 15mins walk to the Uffitzi and 5mins to the Accademia (through the back streets).
The first night was a struggle due to poor air-con (room 11), we asked at reception & they got an engineer out to attempt to fix it. As that didn't work, we spoke to the owner who kindly moved us to a room with better air-con (room 4), where we had a better night's sleep. Not sure what we would have done if there hadn't been another room available.
Breakfast was adequate.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HannahandAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night, and it served the purpose. It is close to the Florence train station, but that's it. We got the large room at the ground level for four people, but there was a damp smell in the room (probably because the room was below ground level). The bathroom was large, but there was hardly any shelf space. The decor of the room was spartan and the beds/linen were ordinary. None of the outlets were international (given the place, this is a must). For the price charged, they could do better.

Room Tip: The rooms at the ground level are easily accessible from the lobby if you have a lot of luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravJV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

If you go to this hotel

It was one of the cheapest choises around the area and it offered good value for money. However, try to avoid the old section (2nd floor) of the hotel and insist in staying in the renovated section of the hotel (1st floor). This may cost you a bit more even though you may get a better price through booking,com. Breakfast was fair. Cleaningness was very poor in the old section of the hotel but very good in the new section. Staff was helpful in general.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IP I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We chose Hotel Azzi because we wanted an apartment for our 6 night Florence stay, and we were very happy with the size of the apartment and kitchen. The staff was fairly helpful, and cleaning ample. The location is convenient for heading just about anywhere in Florence, but beware, the cobblesone is a bit rowdy on this street. The beds could be improved but overall, my stay here was fine. My only real complaint would be the acrobats living upstairs, or what seemed like acrobats who also had a child, because there was stomping, running, and various pounds all day and all night long that unfortunately the staff couldn't help (it is a privately owned apartment above). Otherwise, a good stay. I think we might have overwhelmed the desk staff with questions about the city...but what do you do? :)

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank evierieder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

We were very disappointed with this hotel. The room was very large but there was a terrible smell from the bathroom. The room facilities were poor with little provided. The breakfast showed a complete lack of effort or variety. Having visited Florence in the past this hotel was a real let down. There are better other hotels.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank seasider11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Desiree
Hotel Desiree
#168 of 410 in Florence
430 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Kursaal Ausonia
Hotel Kursaal Ausonia
#138 of 410 in Florence
1,035 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Fiorita
Hotel Fiorita
#100 of 410 in Florence
910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Porta Faenza
Porta Faenza
#71 of 410 in Florence
1,041 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Caravaggio
Hotel Caravaggio
#119 of 410 in Florence
797 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Vasari Palace
Hotel Vasari Palace
#142 of 410 in Florence
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Azzi - Locanda degli Artisti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Azzi - Locanda degli Artisti

Address: Via Faenza 56/88r, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#145 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £53 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Azzi - Locanda degli Artisti 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 1948, Hotel Azzi has historical roots, owning the third oldest license in Florence.Housed in the old building once the home of the Barbera typography it was originally part of a monastery which since the 14th century hosted travelers and pilgrims: its combination of culture and hospitality has made it a favorite place of artists, writers, painters and theatre people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, HostelWorld, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Azzi - Locanda degli Artisti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Azzi Locanda Degli Artisti
Azzi Locanda Degli Artisti Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing