We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast, fantastic staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Azzi - Locanda degli Artisti
Ranked #193 of 412 Hotels in Florence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great breakfast, fantastic staff”
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Staff was extremely helpful and friendly.
Very nice breakfast which gets you ready for a full day of tourism.
Perfect location in a quiet area, but close to everything, i.e. the train station, the Mercato Centrale Markets, the Duomo and more.

Thanks again

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcn294
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    334
    140
    36
    38
See reviews for
152
345
35
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Urbino, Emilia-Romagna, Italy
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2013

This is my favorite hotel in central Italy. Of all the choices I always return here if they're not booked. Staff is really friendly, the rooms meet my needs perfectly and the atmosphere really lends itself to writing, composition and thought. The prices are great for its convenient location (5 min on foot from S.M. Novella station and 5 min on foot from the market), and the breakfast is decent. I use this hotel every semester for study abroad trips, and probably always will. It is a place I like to go back to.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterLCullen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

What a quaint hotel with warm staff and a funny owner. Room is a little small but that's Europe for you. Very clean and conveniently located - minutes to train station (Santa Maria Novella) Just remember to wake up in a timely manner or an Italian woman will knock on your door and yell at you. Overall, both owner and front desk are so helpful and wonderful. Would definitely come back and stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank unieduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 August 2013

This is very centrally located, about 5 minutes walk from the train station, close to the Mercato Centrale Markets, the Duomo and the Uffizi Gallery. There is also a lovely Irish Pub, Finnegans, close by which shows all the Irish GAA matches!. We had two rooms and our room on the ground floor was spacious with a good sized bathroom. Our second room, a triple was somewhat cramped and had an odour from the bathroom but the staff who were very helpful at all times, changed us to a bright spacious bedroom in the Marine Hotel which is actually in the same building as the Azzi and which had very good WiFi. Breakfast was very good and with a good variety of food served in a lovely breakfast room with long wooden tables and where there were tea and coffee making facilities which you could avail of at any time. Very good AC. Great value for a central Florence location.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms at the back which are opposite an ongoing extension- the workers were on holiday when w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donegalcorncrake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights in July 2013. The location is very convenient and very close to almost everything in the city. The air conditioner is really worked because it was inhumanly hot outside. The breakfast was pretty decent and even has tea (which is rear in Italy).
The only thing we didn't like is bathroom. When you enter it is big, but the light turns on by itself by motion detector, so if you are there for a while it shuts off and you have to raise your hands or do something because there is no window and its dark. The other problem is the shower compartment. The shower is installed on the wall opposite the toilet and not separated from main area by curtain or something. So the floor is always wet and if you forget your feet will be always wet. I have a family of 5 so after the first person takes the shower everything is getting damp and no way to dry it fast. I would really recommend the management to do something about that because it was very annoying. Other than that it was very pleasant stay. The staff was helpful and friendly. They have a special room to leave your staff if you are checking out this day but need your luggage to be stored somewhere safely.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Galkaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort McMurray, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We arrived in Florence with no room booked so as soon as we got off the train we went on the hunt for a room, we popped into Hotel Azzi and the lovely front desk attendant showed us the 2 rooms she had available, a bigger room and a quite small one, we opted for the bigger room as we were there for 3 nights. We loved the proximity to the train station as well as an easy walk to sights and restaurants. The room was good, a little tired, could use a fresh coat of paint but it was clean and we slept well which is all that matters!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krystal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We stayed in the Hotel Azzi for two nights last week, as part of our Italian holiday.
The hotel itself is a little bit tired, in need of a lick of paint, but the main thing for us was its close proximity to the main attractions in Florence. About 7mins walk to the duomo (through a street with little corner shops & small cafes), 15mins walk to the Uffitzi and 5mins to the Accademia (through the back streets).
The first night was a struggle due to poor air-con (room 11), we asked at reception & they got an engineer out to attempt to fix it. As that didn't work, we spoke to the owner who kindly moved us to a room with better air-con (room 4), where we had a better night's sleep. Not sure what we would have done if there hadn't been another room available.
Breakfast was adequate.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HannahandAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Desiree
Hotel Desiree
#162 of 412 in Florence
421 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Palazzo Vecchio
Hotel Palazzo Vecchio
#173 of 412 in Florence
568 reviews
San Lorenzo
Porta Faenza
Porta Faenza
#69 of 412 in Florence
1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Annabella Hotel
Annabella Hotel
#288 of 412 in Florence
202 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Kursaal Ausonia
Hotel Kursaal Ausonia
#142 of 412 in Florence
1,016 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Sempione
Hotel Sempione
#129 of 412 in Florence
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Azzi - Locanda degli Artisti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Azzi - Locanda degli Artisti

Property: Hotel Azzi - Locanda degli Artisti
Address: Via Faenza 56/88r, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#145 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Azzi - Locanda degli Artisti 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 1948, Hotel Azzi has historical roots, owning the third oldest license in Florence.Housed in the old building once the home of the Barbera typography it was originally part of a monastery which since the 14th century hosted travelers and pilgrims: its combination of culture and hospitality has made it a favorite place of artists, writers, painters and theatre people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Azzi - Locanda degli Artisti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Azzi Locanda Degli Artisti
Azzi Locanda Degli Artisti Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing