We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Azzi - Locanda degli Artisti
Ranked #193 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed 2 May 2014

If you are looking for a character hotel with a great breakfast and friendly helpful staff. One went to great lengths to find a phone charger for me (i'd forgotten mine) then this is the place. for you.

We bought 48 hours passes for the hop on hop off bus which was a brilliant way to see Florence and great value. The bus stop is a two minute walk from the Azziz. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

Room Tip: We had an upstairs room the bed was ultra comfortable and the bathroom was lovey
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patricia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (808)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

87 - 93 of 809 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

Everything in these reviews about the staff and the absolutely wonderful breakfast spread is true. I'm sure if you are lucky enough to actually get one of the rustic and well kept rooms upstairs in the actual Azzi Hotel, you might give this place top stars. It's so close to the train station you can walk but never hear a train. Very close to the market and downtown attractions.
The only reason I feel conflicted was the room we booked, a quad for our family of 4, was on the ground floor next to the busy dining area. The room was dark and almost subterranean with uncomfortable beds and a strange layout with scruffy walls that had odd plaster patches. It was weird. Not cozy or charming. I do tend to be a bit picky though, so if you're not perhaps this will work for you.
Luckily the staff really is awesome. The owner lives upstairs in the other property called the hotel Anna and he offered our family two rooms up there for the same price as the quad. The Anna rooms are newly renovated and are tidy, super clean and freshly painted with new bathrooms. They lack any real Tuscan charm and resemble super basic, efficient hotel rooms, but they were safe with heaters and air conditioning.
The street side is a tad noisy so pack ear plugs. Enjoy breakfast!

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Dynorocket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

The hotel is ideally situated 5 minutes from the train station and 10 minutes from the Duomo. Hotel staff were friendly and helpful, making a good recommendation for a restaurant. They looked after our suitcase both on the day we arrived (we arrived long before check in time) and the day we left after we checked out. The room was large and clean, though quite dingy (only natural light was a door that led to a small courtyard) and the drains smelt a bit. Breakfast was excellent, with a large buffet selection. Overall we'd recommend it.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank calmay1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Very welcoming,super clean,very fresh and good breakfast,the staff were very helpful,and very polite. The location was great- a 10 minute walk from the Duomo. I would definitely stay again in that hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nadina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

10 minutes walk from the train station. Arrived at 11 AM. Allowed to store our bags and checked in at 2 PM. 5 minutes walk to the central market for a quick, cheap, and delicious lunch. A family of 2 adults and 3 kids. We had the Quad room at the back of the hotel. The room is very clean. However, the bath room has some strange smell. Quiet at night. Wake up with a smell of fresh baked croissant from the kitchen. Nice breakfast. But a bit under-staffed. Checked out at 11 AM and stored our bags until 4 PM. A very good deal for 99 EUR a night.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moveblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

When we arrived in Florence at Hotel Azzi around 7 at night, the man at reception informed us he was only expecting one person and that he had only a single room reserved.. He didn't have any more rooms apart from a double with a bathroom separate and down the hall. We weren't too happy but as it was only for one night we went to see the room and quickly agreed to take the room as we were tired and hungry from travelling. He also gave us a full refund.
After getting into the room we quickly realised we shouldn't have accepted, the heating was on full, the walls were dirty and there was one tiny light fitting high up the wall above the bed, so when I tried to get ready in the mirror I could hardly see what I was doing. My boyfriend came back from the shower which was down the corridor, and after he came back I went to use the loo.. but because the shower had no shower curtain and the bathroom was tiny I had to dry the toilet seat and stand on a towel because everything was drenched.
We decided we didn't want to stay here because it was disgusting and it had ruined our stay so we went to find another hotel.
The other areas of the hotel, such as the dining room , reception and corridors seemed nicely furnished.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruby c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Awesome interior!!!!! Lots of antiqurian things in it! Even in rooms, not only in lobby, little library. Really great atmosphere in rooms - huge mirrows, beds, unusual showers... Recommend to everyone!!!!! If Florence - only Azzi hotel!!
It's about 4 minutes to get from Santa Maria train station.
Staff is veeeery friendly and helpful! Like all of them! There was our self trip, so that we had a lot of questions and those people helped us in all of them))
Breakfast is well - eggs, croassants, toasts, pies, ham, chees, musli, milk, yoghurts, juices, great coffe (from bar, included in breakfast). Also an advantage - free tea/coffe all day long in lobby
To sum up, I've got only warm memories about this hotel and I'd like to come there one more time!

Удивительный интерьер! Много антикварных вещей, причем не только в лобби, но и в номерах. Отличная атмосфера в номерах - огромные зеркала, кровати, необычные душевые. также небольшая библиотека в отеле.Советую всем!! Если во Флоренцию - только в отель Ацци!!!!
Около 4 минут от жд станции Санта Мария Новелла (главная)
Персонал ооочень дружественный и отзывчивый. У нас была куча вопросов, так как мы путешествовали самостоятельное. В отеле нам помогли с каждым из них!
Завтрак хороший - сок,молоко,хлопья,мюсли,круассаны,булочки,джемы,яйца,пирог/кекс. Чаи, отличный кофе (из бара, включен в завтрак). Еще удобно - кофе и чай в лобби всегда бесплатны.
После этого отеля остались только теплые воспоминания, обязательно вернусь еще!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kolomiytsevak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Desiree
Hotel Desiree
#167 of 410 in Florence
430 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Kursaal Ausonia
Hotel Kursaal Ausonia
#138 of 410 in Florence
1,036 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Fiorita
Hotel Fiorita
#98 of 410 in Florence
910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Porta Faenza
Porta Faenza
#72 of 410 in Florence
1,041 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Caravaggio
Hotel Caravaggio
#119 of 410 in Florence
797 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Vasari Palace
Hotel Vasari Palace
#147 of 410 in Florence
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Azzi - Locanda degli Artisti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Azzi - Locanda degli Artisti

Address: Via Faenza 56/88r, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#145 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £52 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Azzi - Locanda degli Artisti 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 1948, Hotel Azzi has historical roots, owning the third oldest license in Florence.Housed in the old building once the home of the Barbera typography it was originally part of a monastery which since the 14th century hosted travelers and pilgrims: its combination of culture and hospitality has made it a favorite place of artists, writers, painters and theatre people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Azzi - Locanda degli Artisti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Azzi Locanda Degli Artisti
Azzi Locanda Degli Artisti Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing