We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Banana.. That's the colour of the WHOLE room... Great location !!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Azzi - Locanda degli Artisti
Ranked #172 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Room was huge. Lots of space to hang stuff, a couch to sit on, plenty of floor space. The bathroom was clean and shower hot. The furnishings all yellow.. Curtains, bed linen, walls, light shade.. Like yellow, you will love this room. Reception very helpful and friendly. Only one flight of stairs .. Yeay:-) I will return.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rovvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (836)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

89 - 95 of 836 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel. Very friendly staff & helpful. Good, plentiful breakfast. Well located, easy walking distance to centre, train/coach station. V good restaurants close by. Rooms are spacious and beds comfortable, slept well.
Only minor downers were no fridge in room, but ice available from reception. Building opposite having some work done.
You can rent a Vespa from friendly company 15 min walk away, €40/ 4hrs, €60/ day

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurent F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I love this hotel. I have a bad leg,so I was looking for a hotel with a lift (hard to find in Italian budget hotels) or a room on the ground floor (also rare for a budget hotel in Italy). The Hotel Azzi told me that they could give me a room on the ground floor. I reserved 2 months in advance and they were able to deliver on their promise. I got a huge room complete with sitting area plus a huge bathroom with a raised toilet with guardrails. I couldnt have been more pleased. The front desk also made train reservations and museum reservations and printed out the tickets for us so we could avoid the lines!
And the breakfast buffet was very nice -boiled eggs, sliced cheese and they will make you a capuccino if you ask for it.
Dont be afraid of the Via Faenze budget hotels, this one is a winner.

Room Tip: Bring your own bar soap, Italian hotels arent big on that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
Thank Icantu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

When you enter after a long journey into the cold and dark room located almost subterranean and has bars on the dirty windows, what to say?
My kids have said: We are in prison!
Owners do not rent this room!
However, I must commend the friendly hotel staff. At our request, they offered us another room in another part of the hotel called the NH Marine.We got a regular room on the second floor. Breakfast was fine. Location of the hotel is good, is located near the train station and all the attractions and shops.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Slavica V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Charming 300 year old hotel, helpful front desk staff, 5 min from train station, ten minutes from the heart of Florence! Charming lobby, delicious breakfast! Room clean, three of us fit in just fine! Cozy upstairs sitting area, magazines, coffee and a little bar too!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

If you are looking for a character hotel with a great breakfast and friendly helpful staff. One went to great lengths to find a phone charger for me (i'd forgotten mine) then this is the place. for you.

We bought 48 hours passes for the hop on hop off bus which was a brilliant way to see Florence and great value. The bus stop is a two minute walk from the Azziz. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

Room Tip: We had an upstairs room the bed was ultra comfortable and the bathroom was lovey
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patricia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

Everything in these reviews about the staff and the absolutely wonderful breakfast spread is true. I'm sure if you are lucky enough to actually get one of the rustic and well kept rooms upstairs in the actual Azzi Hotel, you might give this place top stars. It's so close to the train station you can walk but never hear a train. Very close to the market and downtown attractions.
The only reason I feel conflicted was the room we booked, a quad for our family of 4, was on the ground floor next to the busy dining area. The room was dark and almost subterranean with uncomfortable beds and a strange layout with scruffy walls that had odd plaster patches. It was weird. Not cozy or charming. I do tend to be a bit picky though, so if you're not perhaps this will work for you.
Luckily the staff really is awesome. The owner lives upstairs in the other property called the hotel Anna and he offered our family two rooms up there for the same price as the quad. The Anna rooms are newly renovated and are tidy, super clean and freshly painted with new bathrooms. They lack any real Tuscan charm and resemble super basic, efficient hotel rooms, but they were safe with heaters and air conditioning.
The street side is a tad noisy so pack ear plugs. Enjoy breakfast!

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Dynorocket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Porta Faenza
Porta Faenza
#68 of 410 in Florence
1,078 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Mario's
Hotel Mario's
#92 of 410 in Florence
603 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Vasari Palace
Hotel Vasari Palace
#152 of 410 in Florence
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Caravaggio
Hotel Caravaggio
#119 of 410 in Florence
821 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Palazzo Vecchio
Hotel Palazzo Vecchio
#154 of 410 in Florence
611 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Mia Cara & Spa
Hotel Mia Cara & Spa
#112 of 410 in Florence
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Azzi - Locanda degli Artisti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Azzi - Locanda degli Artisti

Address: Via Faenza 56/88r, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#145 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £44 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Azzi - Locanda degli Artisti 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 1948, Hotel Azzi has historical roots, owning the third oldest license in Florence.Housed in the old building once the home of the Barbera typography it was originally part of a monastery which since the 14th century hosted travelers and pilgrims: its combination of culture and hospitality has made it a favorite place of artists, writers, painters and theatre people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Azzi - Locanda degli Artisti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Azzi Locanda Degli Artisti
Azzi Locanda Degli Artisti Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing