We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Azzi - Locanda degli Artisti
Ranked #186 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Mythicalsoul
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awesome stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2009

Stayed here with same sex partner in Room 6 for 3 nights. This room did not include it's own bathroom, but did have a sink and such in the room.
The bed was really comfortable, I believe it was two beds pushed together, as is common. The towels are really good and lush. The bathroom was a shower type room right next to us, had some difficultly as slipping was a danger. As well, my partner found the toilet a little big, she would go downstairs as it was uncomfortable for her, but it was fine for me.
The staff is really friendly, and speak okay English. There was a liquor store right across the way with really friendly staff as well. We had to leave early in the morning and the staff set out breakfast a bit early for us.
The breakfast is amazing, lots of choice. Not your typical Italian breakfast, plenty to make lunch with.
The location is good, 15 minute walk to the Duomo, and ten to the train station with luggage.
Our room was a bit noisy at night because there is a restaurant or something that has a patio in the square, but I didn't find it too bothersome.

I would definitely recommend this hotel for all sorts of travelers, we paid 59 Euro a night for a double room.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mythicalsoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    327
    134
    34
    38
See reviews for
146
335
35
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brazil
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2009

The location is very good, the lady receptionist is very helpful and friendly (THE ONLY ONE) even though she immediately told us the room would be ready at 2PM without checking anything (the standard check-in time) as we arrived around 11AM. We came back around 13:45, seat in the small lobby next to the reception (it was only us) and she was pretending not to see us than I had to ask if the room was ready…. And it was! .Our bathroom was clean. They don’t tell you they change your linen and towels every 3 days (coincidently the length of our stay). The problem is that there are no hooks or rails to dry the bath towels so it’s difficult to manage it. She has arranged for me to change the towels myself taking clean (dried) ones at the reception. Our room was across the narrow street in a building which looks like abandoned and you need to climb 2 storied of stairs (you receive a bunch of keys to open all the doors ….. it looks extremely unsafe, scary and dangerous). The room doors have no numbers and during our last night at 1:39AM we heard heavy noise apparently from another guest trying to open other rooms (drunk) and he opened (maybe the keys are similar) the room next to us and the lady started to scream opening the window to the street asking for help. Than it was our time and the man tried to open our door and I’ve called the reception asking to call the police and the receptionist said it was a mistake….that’s why I thought it was a drunk guest trying to find his room as there is no signage in any room and they all look the same (only 4 on that building). At that time of the night the experience of waking up with someone screaming for help and than someone trying to open your door it’s really scary and all you think is that a thief is trying to enter your room in that abandoned building as everybody knows there are only tourists staying there. No apologies or explanation were given the day after from an old man at the reception (same who was on duty during the incident) who had difficulties to check us out!! The breakfast is managed by a moody lady who cannot cope with few tables and the load of few guests at the same time. We had to clear our space from other guests left overs in order to have space to eat. Most of the few items of the spread had to be asked from the same lady as they ran out quickly as she is not fast enough to replenish them (I’m talking about waiting for more than 10min for juice, bread, ham …. in a restaurant of maybe 25-30 seats).

  • Stayed September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GenuineStrength
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
detroit, michigan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2009

This was a great hotel. Within walking distance from train station. Quad room was large. Very friendly service. Reasonable rates. Very good breakfast. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank italyoxox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2009

Cosy rooms, good shower (free ginseng soap - bonus!) & nice breakfast. Beds very soft thou! Good selection of bed time reading. 2 flights of stairs to rooms - pack light, no lift. Nice staff.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bushwacka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ljubljana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2009

Small, but nice rooms. Close to the center. I'm impressed by the kindness of the owner.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barbi7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2009

Knowing florence is full of tourist traps, I was looking for a honest, well priced and placed property. Very kind service and infos. Clean wide rooms (for italian standard) and quiet good breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandroz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Vasari Palace
Hotel Vasari Palace
#159 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Desiree
Hotel Desiree
#162 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
San Lorenzo
Porta Faenza
Porta Faenza
#74 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Palazzo Vecchio
Hotel Palazzo Vecchio
#192 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Machiavelli Palace
Hotel Machiavelli Palace
#195 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,115 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Kursaal Ausonia
Hotel Kursaal Ausonia
#127 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Azzi - Locanda degli Artisti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Azzi - Locanda degli Artisti

Property: Hotel Azzi - Locanda degli Artisti
Address: Via Faenza 56/88r, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#145 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Azzi - Locanda degli Artisti 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 1948, Hotel Azzi has historical roots, owning the third oldest license in Florence.Housed in the old building once the home of the Barbera typography it was originally part of a monastery which since the 14th century hosted travelers and pilgrims: its combination of culture and hospitality has made it a favorite place of artists, writers, painters and theatre people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Azzi - Locanda degli Artisti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Azzi Locanda Degli Artisti
Azzi Locanda Degli Artisti Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing