We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It is relaxing and definitely worth it.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Cimabue

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Cimabue
Ranked #311 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“It is relaxing and definitely worth it.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

the rooms were detailed w/ such ambiance that relaxes and at the same time soothes your artistic senses with their 18th century theme. They're clean and well-maintained. The staff were very accomodating and helpful. Breakfast was simple but delicious. Just one thing: Wifi signal was poor inside the rooms. We had to stay either in the lounge or at the bar downstairs to get a decent connection. And its not good when you want to get in touch w/ family or friends thru skype or use the internet to do some work.
But apart from that tiny glitch everything is good.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clareng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    132
    99
    67
    47
See reviews for
105
212
7
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
WIGAN
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

Just spent 4 nights here 3 without hot water, all 4 nights without a hair dryer.

We found travel documentation and discarded disposable contact lenses from a previous occupant on the bedroom floor.

Despite assurances by the night porter that the hair dryer could be fixed easily in daylight, the power socket remained in a dangerous condition the whole time, and an alternative room wasn't available.

We had a corner room on the ground floor which meant that it was quite a noisy room with traffic on two sides.

Eventually I was able to negotiated a 5% discount although it wasn't offered.

I noticed the quality recognition awards on display were around 6 years old, I'm not nominating this hotel for any travel awards this year.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IAN_HUGHES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Florence hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
california
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

We recently stayed 5 nights at Hotel Cimabue and had a wonderful, relaxing stay. Hotel staff is very friendly and accommodating, helped us with reservations to the galleries and arranged taxi service to the train station. The room was incredibly clean and comfortable. Breakfast was very good too. Loved it!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brenda m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

We spent a cheap 3 nights here - not cheap as in cheap and nasty, rather cheap as in 'budget'. The hotel rooms are pretty spartan, but for the rates we were paying, it was to be expected. (I would think, though, that in winter, the bare wooden floors and lack of an electric kettle, would make for a very cold stay. ) We were content, with our single chair, mini desk, wooden wardrobe and very comfortable bed. The bathroom was a little incongruous as it appeared to be too modern compared to the old-fashioned appearance of the room's furnishings, but as everything in it worked perfectly, and the towels were always clean and fresh, we had no complaints. (Please remember, Italian hotels do not supply face cloths/washcloths, so the lack of this at Cimabue is not a deficiency.)
The breakfast buffet offers an adequate variety and the service is friendly and efficient. The only drawback is that it starts quite late (7am) which means that getting to an early appointment can mean forgoing breakfast, or else just grabbing a very quick bite and a swig of coffee.
If you need to use the hotel's free wi-fi service, make sure your laptop is fully charged as the wi-fi doesn't reach inside the rooms. Every time we wanted to connect to the internet we had to do it in the passage outside our room, so we learnt pretty quickly to leave our laptop charging while we went sightseeing, so we could use it on battery in the evenings. Although the passages are furnished, it's rather inconvenient to have to operate the laptop in the passage outside the bedroom as the automatic lights of the passage switch off when there is a lack of movement and you are left reading the laptop by the light of the screen.
One final tip - if taking an intercity train from Rome to Florence, this hotel is not close to the train station! The station which the IC trains deposit passengers at, is quite some distance away from Cimabue, so you'll need to take a taxi. And when you give the name of the hotel to the taxi driver, do your best with the Italian pronounciation, Cimabue should sound something like ... Chee-ma-boo-ee.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Xenawarriorteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

Very friendly staff, good continental breakfast, fairly convenient location and a decent price. True, the rooms are the typical "euro-urban tiny", but as I was there to sight-see, not hang around the hotel. There's a nice Greek restaurant (Odysseia) just a couple blocks away, too.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sailormike1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
154 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2011

One of the largest rooms I have been in and beautifully painted as well. Also not far from train station (around 700meters-15 minutes walk), BUT the staff's behaviour left a lot to be desired.

Totally ignoring our greetings, making us go down to the reception to pick up the remote control they forgot to bring to our room, forgetting to tell us that the power to TV and fridge was off until we asked and -finally- telling us that they won't clean our room, without asking what the number is (and later saying they didn't know)....

I think that's pretty unacceptable behaviour for hotel staff and it's a pity because the hotel is a charm!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SpirosK81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, Mississippi
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2011

This is a great hotel with a very knowledgeable and friendly staff.! We reserved a triple room and were given a wonderful suite of two bedrooms and a bath. The rooms were nicely decorated and had a freshly done feel. The staff, in particular Federica, gave us current and helpful information on shopping and great restaurants.

We really enjoyed Trattiore de Tito which was located about a two minute walk from the hotel. Great food and a dynamic owner, Jean Luc, better known as BoBo. The eggplant parmigiana is the best I've ever had!

ZaZa's is also very good. I had wonderful ravioli with truffle oil.

There are probably hotels a bit closer to the center of Florence and major tourist attractions. But, we found Florence to be a very compact city that is easy to get around. We loved the neighborhood we were in.

Our stay at this hotel was a great experience and exceeded our expectations!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MSSarah2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Kursaal Ausonia
Hotel Kursaal Ausonia
#117 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 976 reviews
San Marco
Hotel de la Pace
Hotel de la Pace
#173 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Bonifacio
Hotel Bonifacio
#155 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Palazzo Vecchio
Hotel Palazzo Vecchio
#195 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
Hotel Annalena
#230 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
San Marco
Albergo Hotel Panorama Firenze
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cimabue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cimabue

Property: Hotel Cimabue
Address: Via Bonifacio Lupi 7, 50129, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #311 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cimabue 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Cimabue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cimabue Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing