We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Cimabue
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Alessandra(Florence)(Great Value!)
US$253
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Corte dei Medici(Florence)(Great Value!)
US$267
US$257
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hilton Florence Metropole(Florence)(Great Value!)
US$220
US$168
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Grand Hotel Adriatico(Florence)(Great Value!)
US$262
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$217
US$204
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Brunelleschi(Florence)
US$869
US$737
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Orcagna Hotel(Florence)(Great Value!)
US$590
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Hermitage(Florence)
US$290
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$424
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$198
US$185
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (516)
Filter reviews
516 results
Traveller rating
135
140
104
78
59
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
135
140
104
78
59
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree wifi in our roombefore check in timesecond stopwithin walking distancepleasant stayother hotelssanta mariafree breakfastmin walkfamily roombudget hotelcomfortable roomsexcellent locationaround the cornerthe air conditioningluggagesites
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
58 - 63 of 516 reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We stayed here last week and had a positive experience. Room was very clean - and included a refrigerator. Staff was friendly and helpful; made some museum reservations for us in advance when we ran out of time to do this. Certainly walking distance to major attractions, and away from the busiest tourist area. Would stay again. Didn't have noise problems.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
4  Thank BRiehl2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

The place is dirty, the rooms are poor, very old, plastic flowers all around, noisy as hell, to not mention the breakfast is really sad ... Consider that the place is 20 meters from the central police offices (the "Questura") so you can really enjoy police cars and vans going up and down under your window ( windows that very old, providing no acoustic isolation). We also enjoyed at 3.30 the washing of the street and sidewalk under our window: a cleaning truck goes up and down practically in your room for good 30 minutes!) again the same at 8.00. Btw, is fun to see the pics posted by the management on Tripadvisor... Another tourist trap in one of the most beautiful cities of the planet.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank VittoLux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Travelled just recently to Florence and had a very pleasant stay in this hotel. The room we stayed in was an average size for 3 people and the beds were clean and comfortable. There was only one pillow each but we asked for more and it was no problem. We had no cleanliness issues in our room and the bedding and towels were changed everyday. We had plenty of towels for 3 people. The bathroom was small but it wasn't really an issue. The water pressure in the shower was surprisingly good!
The staff were helpful and spoke good English and the breakfast was basic but satisfying, we never had any problems with food running out or finding a place to sit. We stayed in a ground floor room at the back with the private patio (I think it might have been 8?) and there was no street noise although I guess this varies between rooms.
As for some of the other reviews, we were never asked to leave our key at the front desk and took it with us whenever we went out.
The review saying it is not near tourist attractions is clearly confused as we found all the attractions to be very close on foot, the main shopping streets, the Duomo, Accademia and Uffuzi were all within a 10-20 minute walk and even the Ponte Vecchio is only about 20-25 minutes away, we walked everywhere! There is a small supermarket about 2 minutes away which we got food from a few days, very convenient.
As for the sewer smell, you can smell it outside but this is nothing to do with the hotel and other parts of Florence smell the same.
On the negative side the air conditioning was a bit loud at night and we had to have it on because of the August heat! Also a small fridge in the room would not have gone amiss. All in all we had a very enjoyable trip and would definitely recommend this hotel for comfortable, basic accommodation.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back had no street noise and ours had a private patio
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gtancredi, Direttore at Hotel Cimabue, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

Thank you,

We are glad about your comment here.

Visit us whenever you want.

Have a nice summer!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Hotel Cimabue! The hotel was close walking distance to exploring Florence. The room was very spacious and comfortable, and the staff were helpful. The hotel was great and we recommend to anyone looking to stay in Florence!

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank demigv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

I recently stayed for a week in this hotel.
The room was ok but quite small for three people. The bathroom was tiny with barely enough room to sit on the toilet! We had a lovely patio outside our room- but it was too hot to sit in most days with no shade. The hotel was about a fifteen minute walk from the town centre, which was not too far and nice be out of the madness.
There was a fridge which was very useful.
Breakfast was very limited with only tinned fruit, yogurts, cereal, toast and pastries to choose from- no hot food, or fresh fruit.
The bar is cheap but it is not big enough to sit in and make a night of it.
Some of the staff were very nice and friendly- others were not.
There is no pool which is painful in such lovely weather.
The cleaners had a habit of moving all your things and sweeping anything on the floor under the beds which is very annoying. A bag of crisps was spilt on the floor on the first day which remained on the floor for the entire week- despite being visible.
The decor was ok and there was free wifi, the hotel was relatively cheap- so you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews