We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, convenient location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Cimabue

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Cimabue
Ranked #322 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Acworth, Georgia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, convenient location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

We had a quad room with one full/queen bed and two twin beds. It was a little tight but we still had room to move around in the room. This hotel is in a great location for walking around Old Florence. Everything, at least for us, was in walking distance. It cames with breakfast which included yogurt, bread, pastries, cereal and hot and cold drinks (various coffee drinks were made on the spot for you). A drawback was that the city trash collectors come around very early in the morning and they are loud--it sounded like they were picking up small cars to discard. There is an elevator. Everyone was pleasant to deal with. Free wifi that we had no problems with.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cheri-inAcworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    132
    99
    67
    49
See reviews for
106
214
7
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

Our room was very nice (no bad smell at all), with a lovely newly renovated bathroom (the very nice shower was in the bathroom where it belonged). The twin beds were narrrow and quite firm. The breakfast was good, with lots of choices and coffee made to order. The neighbourhood was quiet and not too far from restaurants and the museum district.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank r r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gtancredi, Direttore generale at Hotel Cimabue, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear Vancouver,Canad

thank you for your kind comment.
We are very glad to know that you enjoyed your stay in our Hotel.
We hope to see you again.

Best Regards.
Giacomo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

From the minute we arrived, the staff here helped make our trip memorable. The rooms are basic but some have beautifully painted ceilings and the breakfasts are excellent. There are lots of small shops and restaurants close by and the location is ideal, close enough to walk into the heart of the city but far out enough to feel like a local suburb. Excellent all round.

Room Tip: I'm not sure they have any bad rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Yorkie1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hubert, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

We were there in the off season and really enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Cimabue. The staff was extremely polite and helpful. They were excellent at making our stay in Firenze a wonderful experience. The breakfast served in the dining area was the perfect start to the day. They even had a little coffee bar to serve your favorite drink before going out to explore the city. The location is a few blocks up from the main tourist area but there are some excellent restaurants near the hotel to help unwind from a busy day seeing the sights. I would definitely stay here again next time we return.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MattRoss2171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gtancredi, Direttore generale at Hotel Cimabue, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear MattRoss,2171,

thank you for you kind comment.
We are very glad to know that it was a pleasant stay.

We hope to see you again in our Hotel.

Best Regards.
HOtel Cimabue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

The hotel was adequate for our needs which were purely to get in as much sight seeing as we could in 2 days. Service was OK, staff were young but friendly enough and helpful when asked to assist. The safe in the room couldn't open until just before we left but they did offer to move us to a different room if we wanted after the 3rd attempt to open it failed. We had a tiny courtyard off our room which would be good for smokers. Room was big enough but bathroom was tiny. The hotel (including room) was clean. Breakfast was good.

Most importantly the hotel is close to most sights as well as the market and train station. We did some excellent tours with Mycity tours - all tours started under train station clock at 08:30 Siena and San Gimignano, Cinque Terre and Pisa tours are highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jones_Glenwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

I will start with the positives: the service at this hotel was quite good. We had a young lady majority of the time and she was very attentive to our needs. We had issues with the wifi and she made every attempt to fix it for us. She also assisted us with changing rooms at the start of our stay after the toilet in our room did not flush.
The negatives: the room we moved in to was almost unbearable due to the constant foul smell (not sure if it was damp, sewerage or mould) and also lack of privacy with the shower being outside the bathroom and situated in the doorway. The room was also quite noisy facing the street, as well as being very hot to sleep in. The breakfast was dreadful. Don't even bother with it.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Brad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Florence hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

I thought this hotel was clean, friendly with great wifi. The rooms were a decent size. Blow dryers were nice. Has an elevator if you have a lot of luggage. The cappuccinos were made fresh to order. Basic breakfast, only thing I wish they had fresh fruit. It was not super close to the train station but about 11 euro cab ride. I liked it I would stay there again. Very secure.

Room Tip: Ask for ground level they had pretty ceilings. I saw someone that was staying in one of these rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stormymorning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Kursaal Ausonia
Hotel Kursaal Ausonia
#121 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
San Marco
Albergo Hotel Panorama Firenze
Hotel Annalena
#219 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel de la Pace
Hotel de la Pace
#183 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Hotel Meridiana
#276 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Gioia
Hotel Gioia
#168 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cimabue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cimabue

Property: Hotel Cimabue
Address: Via Bonifacio Lupi 7, 50129, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #322 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cimabue 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Agoda, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Cimabue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cimabue Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing