We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“you get what you pay for”
Review of Hotel Scoti

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Scoti
Ranked #199 of 409 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 December 2006

Hotel Scoti is not a great place to stay in Florence. Firstly the name is misleading - its not a hotel at all the place is really a hostel. It was obviously the apartment of a very rich family at one time and the decor has the depressing air of faded grandeur about it. The rooms very basic and are not the kind you would want to spend any time relaxing in.The bed sheets were not changed once during our 4 day stay and neither were the towels Every day we came back to find our used towels which we had left on the floor carefully replaced on the radiators! The first morning we all woke up having been bitten during the night - we searched high and low for mosquitos but did not see or hear any -i have never experienced bed bugs before so I can't be sure what it was that was biting us but it was not mossies
The location is not great really either -there are no cafes or restaurants on the street but granted there are plenty within a 10 minute walk. The street is all very expensive designer shops and lets face it if you are staying at Hotel Scoti you probably cannot afford to shop here. We stayed in an expensive hotel for 6 days in Rome and decided to economise by staying some where cheaper in Florence - big mistake!!
Sure the family who run the place are friendly but we did not see them from the time we checked in til we left 4 days later
Florence is a beautiful city so do not ruin your experience of it by staying at the Hostel Scoti you could probably find somewhere much better for very little more cash

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank strawberryjellybean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (301)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

203 - 209 of 301 reviews

Reviewed 30 November 2006

After reading numerous reviews on TripAdvisor, we decided to book the Hotel Scoti for our three night stay in Florence in May 2006. We booked directly via the hotel's website, and Doreen and Carmelo kept in great contact after we made the reservation.

This was a long awaited family trip and we were a group of 4 ladies. When we arrived, Doreen was there to greet us and got us settled in right away. She gave us several restaurant recommendations near by as were starved after coming via the train from Venice.

The room was great. Large with a double bed and 2 single beds as we'd requested. The bathroom was large and the entire room was spotless. We opted to have breakfast in the room (for 5 euros) one morning when we didn't feel like venturing out too early.

The location was superb. We walked mostly everywhere (Duomo, Ponte Vecchio, Uffizi) and being located on the Via Tornabouni got to pass by the designer shops each day. There were plenty of restaurants and places to grab a snack nearby.

With Doreen's hospitality, the value, and the location, we couldn't think of a better place to stay in Florence.

  • Stayed: May 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank crs319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2006

This hotel was wonderful. It is very reasonably priced and very well located..about a 5-10 minute walk from the Uffizi and Ponte Vecchio, and also very close to the Duomo. Doreen is a helpful hostess, and her fluency in English makes life quite a bit easier. The room we stayed in and its bathroom were spacious and very modern. The breakfast, at 5 Euros each and served in the room, was very reasonable (a croissant, a danish, and another bread, coffee/tea/milk, orange juice, and some packaged toast). Eating at the hotel saved us the time of looking for a place to eat in the morning before our museum reservation times.

The only drawback was that we heard a good deal of noise from scooters speeding down the street at night. However, I don't think any hotel could have protected us from that.

Doreen's restaurant recommendations were also very good - look into Dante and La Spada - both very good options.

I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ReallyEnjoyTraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2006

i stayed at Hotel Scoti in 1997 and returned in 2006 and was just as pleased. it is on the fanciest shopping street in Florence, Via Tornabuoni in a building built in 1440. the main greeting room has frescos on the walls and ceiling from 1770. Doreen is a wonderful host, she and her husband live in the building and she was extremely helpful in advising us on how to get into the Uffizi without tickets. the room accomodations are simple, but clean and comfortable for a tourist who doesn't want to spend long in their room. the frescos and building are just beautiful, so even though the room is more plain, it's worth it. it's up a big staircase, but there is a TINY elevator that barely fit 2 people and 2 suitcases, but did the trick for the initial trip up.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mannlaurie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2006

I stayed at the Hotel Scoti for five nights at the beginning of October and wouldn't hesitate to go back. Doreen and Carmelo were the perfect hosts and couldn't do enough for you while you were there. They recommended the best places to eat when we arrived - one for every night we were there! (make sure you book to eat in il Latini when you are there which is just around the corner from the hotel! the food and experience is brilliant - thank you Doreen!)
The hotel is located on a very up market street, next to Prada and opposite Cartier, on the second floor of a building. Our ensuite room was large with twin beds and had all the basic things you could need for a short stay. The sitting room is beautiful with floor to ceiling frescoes. All of the major sites are no more than a 10-15 minute walk away, with the Duomo and Piazza della Repubblica (which leads to The Palazzo Vecchio and The Uffizi) about a 5 minute walk! We arrived by train which is an easy 15 minute walk.
I would highly recommend the Hotel Scoti and would definately stay there again!

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chaela104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2006

Having been to Florence many times in the 1980s, I knew we wanted a central location and a quiet night's sleep, two concepts which, in Florence, can be mutually exclusive. With a strong Euro, we also needed a good value.

Unlike many of the less expensive accomodations in Florence, Hotel Scoti is located in a central location on Florence's most fashionable shopping street, Via Tournabuoni. The location put us within not more than a 5 minute walk to most of Florence's attractions on both sides of the Arno, as well as the train station.

Located in a 16th century palazzo, the hotel is the only one in its buiding, unlike some buildings that have a pensione on every floor, so the building is a peaceful place. The website reccomends requesting a room on the inner courtyard for a quieter night's sleep, so that is what we got.

The hotel has been recently rennovated and our room had a nice bathroom w/shower, very clean. The owners, Doreen and Carmelo, could not have been nicer or more accomodating. They were available whenever we needed them and were helpful in suggesting options for dinner , etc.

It has been my experience that Florentine hoteliers have alot of pride in what they offer and standards are overal pretty high, but I think Hotel Scoti was an especially good value. Hotel Scoti is not a luxurious place, but it fit our needs perfectly, making our stay in Florence memorable.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Polyxena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2006

My partner and I spent two days at the Hotel Scoti in mid-September and can only echo the positive comments of other reviewers. The common areas of the hotel are charming, the rooms are clean and comfortable (a little spartan, but that's what we expected), the location is great for any first time visitor to Florence who wants to see the main sights, and the breakfast, while more expensive than a capuccino and croissant standing up at an Italian cafe, was cheaper than anywhere else we stayed. The highlight, however, is the proprietor Doreen, who was without a doubt one of the nicest, most helpful people with whom we dealt while in Italy. She gave us directions, made several helpful suggestions about things to see and places to eat, and seemed genuinely interested in making the acquaintance of everyone who stayed at the hotel. Before we arrived she or someone else at the hotel also made us a reservation at the Uffizi, and offered to make dinner reservations if we wanted to eat at an upscale restaurant. All of this for 95 euros per night for two people (with a private bathroom).

Two final notes: First, several other reviews mentioned noise in some of the rooms facing out towards the main street. We had one of these rooms, and it was our experience that if we closed the window the noise didn't wake us up in the morning (and the weather was cool enough so that this was not at all uncomfortable). Second, the only qualification I might make is that the neighborhood of the hotel is VERY touristy, even for Florence. Most of the restaurants in the hotel's immediate vicinity cater to foreigners, and the entire experience can start to take on a bit of a theme park quality. Were we to come again, we might try for a slightly more far flung neighborhood in order to get a bit more of a feel for the real city. But for first time visitors, or anyone who simply needs an economical, friendly place to stay, the Hotel Scoti is tops.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank DanW329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Villani
Hotel Villani
#229 of 409 in Florence
113 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Dali
Hotel Dali
#135 of 409 in Florence
670 reviews
Uffizi
Relais Uffizi
Relais Uffizi
#186 of 409 in Florence
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Olimpia
Hotel Olimpia
#294 of 409 in Florence
306 reviews
Duomo
Costantini
Costantini
#348 of 409 in Florence
215 reviews
Florent
#172 of 409 in Florence
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Scoti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Scoti

Address: Via Dei Tornabuoni 7, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#139 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £43 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Scoti 1*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Scoti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scoti Hotel Florence
Hotel Scoti Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing