We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, reasonable, comfortable”
Review of Hotel Scoti

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Scoti
Ranked #209 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Northern NJ
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Convenient, reasonable, comfortable”
Reviewed 28 February 2011

The upsides for this place are: Doreen, the owner, who could not have been more pleasant and helpful. She made several reservations on our behalf and was diligent in helping to gete my power converter to work.
The Location is excellent, a hundred yards from the Arno and a few hundred hards from the Ponte Vecchio
The price was very reasonable.
Our room was fairly small, but clean and comfortable. The bathroom is modern, with plenty of hot water and water pressure.

The downsides:
it's up several flights of stairs or one can take the world's smallest elevator. Neither is much of a problem.
The sounds outside the room do permeate into the room more than at most hotels (this is absolutely not a 'hostel') but it was not intrusive to us.
The WiFi was in and out during the several days we were there.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NNJTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    96
    36
    14
    3
See reviews for
39
129
20
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mt Isa, Queensland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2011

This hotel is very quaint and old style Italy. The bathroom is very modern but small. We had room number 1 whcih had two single beds. Even though it is a non-smoking hotel, I could smell smoke in the main living room area.
We did not order the breakfast whcih was extra.
The location is great-easy to get to via a taxi from the main train station and within good walking distance to all sights.
Doreen is a fantastic host and each evening would bring us up a hot pot of water, so we could make our own tea. I was also a bit ill one night and she organised a hot water bottle etc. The internet only works in the main lounge room.
Would definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank qlder_03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
231 reviews
174 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2010

Hotel Scoti's location is fantastic. It is on a fashionable street, close to the Piazza della Repubblica in Florence. The hotel's owner/host Doreen was exceptionally helpful in her recommendations. She sent us to a delightful restaurant that was not touristy at all.

I am most grateful to Doreen for providing my daughter who had become sick with complimentary tea and cookies, which was very helpful. This is one of the key reasons for my rating the Hotel "Excellent."

The bathroom was newly renovated and spotless. The room too was very clean, but very plain, no luxurious appointments by any means. Though the rooms were rather large.

Also, I appreciated that Doreen had made advance reservations for us, at my request, to both the Uffizi and the Accademia.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JasmineMarti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2010

We were very happy with our stay at Hotel Scoti in mid May.

Location is brilliant. Central to everything.

The rooms are basic but we didn't need much more that a place to sleep. The beds are a bit rustic and could do with upgrading (my side of the bed was leaning out - felt like I was going to fall out).

It is probably more a B&B than a hotel. The common areas are basic however there is an outstanding fresco in the main room. There were some lovely antiques. There was a dining type room that wasn't used and it is a shame that that wasn't utilised for guests.

Our host Doreen is lovely and had plenty of information about places to see and where to eat. The trattoria she recommended (name escapes me) was one of the best meals we had in Italy.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WheelsOnTheBus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2010

Hotel Scoti is on Florence's most expensive street, Via Tornobuoni, right next door to the likes of Gucci Bvlgari etc.. This great little 1 star has everything, helpful, friendly staff that make you feel like family, fantastic location in the centre of Florence, WIFI, a light Italian breakfast delivered to your room, all in a 17th century building with the original 1740 fresco's on the walls. Absolutely beautiful.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paolaedavide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2010

This the perfect place to stay in Florence. You are greeted by a lovely lady by the name of Doreen, nothing is too much trouble, she is knowledgeable, polite, friendly and welcoming. The rooms are large, clean and well fitted. The hotel is in a perfect location, minutes from the train station, close to all sites while still being quiet. There are two large communal rooms with frescos and a relaxing atmosphere so after sightseeing you can come back and relax there which a lot of guests tend to do. My brother and I were very well looked after, felt comfortable and didnt want to leave. I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel it was fabulous!!!!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kate937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2010

Location: great -- but keep in mind, Florence is so small and if you stay on this side of the river, it is easy to get to the key sights within 10 minutes.

Building: This "hotel" is actually a large apartment within a building. So you'll have other tenants in the hotel who are not part of the hotel.

Rooms: clean, small, sparse. Very spartan like living. We paid 110 Euros. There was no TV. A school like desk + 2 chairs + heater + 1 mirror. No TV.

Doreen: Hostess. Was very informative and initially seemed nice. However, as our stay went on, she didn't seem so nice after all. She seemed more like a dorm mother who walked around enforcing 'the rules'.

Lobby: or more like a 'common area'. No eating, no staying past 11:30PM, no congregating for long periods of time. Just too many rules for a hotel. I felt that we were asking to stay and not paying to stay. My friends were feeling ill and decided to bring some snacks back to the hotel to eat. We sat in the lobby, where we were told by Doreen to make ourselves at home, and carefully drank our soup. Her daughter came out to give us a spoon. Then Doreen came out to tell us to go back to our room to eat.

Towels: We asked for a new towel because the one we had was a little dirty. To which, we were informed that it would cost us 7.50 euros for a new set. However, they do change the towels once every 2 days, free of charge.

Hallways: Since this is actually a large converted apartment (which has its charms), its drawback is that you can hear everything in the hallway. People walking into the lobby, walking down the corridor to their rooms, doors banging. Not so great.

Internet: Free access. But it doesn't work in your rooms. Only in the rooms closest to the lobby, which means the rooms closest to the entrance and therefore loud. You cannot (it is a rule) hangout in the lobby after 11:30PM -- therefore no internet after 11:30PM.

Yes, this is a clean, spartan like place. Great location. Decent, if you don't expect too much. However, there are one too many rules -- which made us feel like we were in college, living in a dorm.

For 110 Euros (double) -- there are better bets.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank atanner100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Dali
Hotel Dali
#133 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Balcony
Hotel Balcony
#88 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Por Santa Maria
Hotel Por Santa Maria
#211 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Locanda Orchidea
Hotel Locanda Orchidea
#207 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Villani
Hotel Villani
#210 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Il Bargellino
Hotel Il Bargellino
#130 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Scoti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Scoti

Property: Hotel Scoti
Address: Via Dei Tornabuoni 7, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#139 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Scoti 1*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Scoti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scoti Hotel Florence
Hotel Scoti Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing