We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ideal spot”
Review of Botticelli Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Botticelli Hotel
Ranked #166 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“ideal spot”
Reviewed 3 December 2012

Spent 3 nights here with my daughter after spending the 3 previous nights in Rome. We booked a twin room which was very comfortable. The sheets and towels were changed daily and the room cleaned. The buffet breakfast was very good with cheeses and ham/salamis, rolls, cakes, croissants, jams, cereals and fruit, as well as coffees/teas and fruit juices, it was plenty. The hotel was very charming and the shared balcony upstairs a delight. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The location was ideal and all the main attractions and restaurants/bars were within easy walking distance. The rail station was also only a 10 minute walk away. We loved our stay here and would definately make a return visit.

Room Tip: We had a room at the front which was a bit noisy. Would ask for a room facing the back next time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Linda3011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

787 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    318
    343
    94
    25
    7
See reviews for
105
464
25
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
l'Etang-la-Ville
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2012

We selected Botticelli Hotel to stay during our visit to Florence after noting a high rating for it on Tripadvisor and were rather disappointed. Our dissatisfaction is mainly due to the room and general lack of charm of this hotel, in a city known for its beauty. Hotel is located in a rather run down area,  although close to important sights and the train station. Our room was tiny, just enough to fit two small single beds, it was not big enough for a queen sized bed. The furniture was spartan,  with not even a padded a chair to sit upon and relax, so one had to use the bed. I could not connect my iPad to the hotel wi-fi signal and nobody could help. Receptionist Sarah was however very pleasant and helpful, as indeed all the staff was very courteous. Breakfast was okay. In short this is a very basic hotel, therefore expectations should not be too high.

Although no fault of the hotel, taxi from the station to hotel gave us a run-around going as far as Fortezza (fort), normally a less than ten minute walk took more than a ten minutes in the taxi.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neverestnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hingham, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2012

No need for a car! The hotel is within walking to Uffitzi and duomo and Academia...and very close to central market and street vendors with everything! Many restaurants close by ... Real fabric and pulse of Florence...All personnel at hotel was accommodating,pleasant,and helpful. The feel of a small boutique hotel. It was a bit expensive but the breakfast and beautiful bathrooms were worth it

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brewerstate360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2012

My husband and I stayed here for the beginning of our Italian venture and by far this hotel is remembered as a very special place. Location is excellent, the staff very helpful, the room extremely comfortable and surprisingly large. We celebrated our wedding anniversary and my husband had organised them to provide champagne and chocolates. They had done a wonderful job! The next night the hotel surprised us with a bottle of wine and a card. I would highly recommend this hotel and really hope that we get back to Florence and stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank keentravellor_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2012

We were visiting our daughter during her semester abroad program and stayed in the hotel a week. We were happy with our stay. Our room was clean, comfortable and sufficiently spacious. The bathroom was good sized and clean with a nice shower/bath. The front desk staff were always helpful (suggested restaurants, made reservations, provided directions) and the breakfast room attendant was pleasant and attentive. The hotel is close to the Mercato Central and Medici-Riccardi Palace and only a few blocks from the Duomo. The wifi is free and always worked. Our only disappointment was the breakfast buffet...it was very basic and never changed.

Room Tip: We had an interior room located on an central air shaft. There are some exterior facing rooms; ask i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goadad1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012

My fiance and I stayed here in mid November 2012 for two nights. It was the perfect accommodation for us because we were really just using Florence as a jump off point to see the rest of Tuscany. It is close to the train station so it was really easy for us to get around, but it was also close to the major sites in Florence so when we got home late at night we could walk around and see it all. The breakfast is basic but good and the rooms were fine, just the beds were hard (but I find that true of most every place in Europe).

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Storm4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitestone, New York
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2012

Our stay in mid October at Hotel Botticelli was very nice..although have been to Florence many times before this was our first stay at this hotel and will be our go to next time we visit!! The hotel is very clean, the rooms are a good size and very clean. The hotel staff is friendly and helpful! The hotel is located a few minutes walking distance to the Duomo and convenient also to explore the rest of Florence! The breakfast at the hotel was good and enough variety! The hotel also provides a parking garage if you are traveling by car which was very convenient for us...there are a few good restaurants within walking distance from the hotel...well worth it!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pizzsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Corte dei Medici
Corte dei Medici
#63 of 411 in Florence
534 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Caravaggio
Hotel Caravaggio
#120 of 411 in Florence
781 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel City
Hotel City
#58 of 411 in Florence
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Rosary Garden
#136 of 411 in Florence
429 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Machiavelli Palace
Hotel Machiavelli Palace
#199 of 411 in Florence
1,156 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Corona D'Italia
Hotel Corona D'Italia
#126 of 411 in Florence
810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Botticelli Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Botticelli Hotel

Property: Botticelli Hotel
Address: Via Taddea 8, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#69 Family Hotel in Florence
#130 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Botticelli Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Patrician building of 16th century; its renaissance architecture & refined furnishings reflect the florentine character - In the city ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Botticelli Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Botticelli Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing