We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic”

Sinagoga di Firenze e Museo ebraico
Book In Advance
More Info
US$33.09*
and up
Photography Bike Tour of Florence
Ranked #40 of 443 things to do in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This synagogue, one of the largest in Europe, was built between 1874 and 1882 in eclectic Moresque style by architects Marco Treves, Mariano Falcini,Vincenzo Micheli. The museo was set up on 1982 in the same building to display ritual objects, dating from XVI to XX Centuries and documentation regarding the history of the community. In the new section on 2007 was set up a room devoted to the memorial of contemporary history included the Shoa.
Level Contributor
112 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

What a beautiful building with a lovely history. An "Emancipation Synagogue" - I'd never heard that term before, but it was explained by the docent that this synagogue was funded by a single Florentine, David Levi, after the Jews of Florence were free to leave the ghetto (and the ghetto was destroyed and replaced with the Piazza della Republicca). Slightly off the beaten track, and very well protected for obvious security reasons, this synagogue is gorgeous to behold - both inside and out. Thank God it survived the Nazis (though all of its congregants didn't) and the flood of 1966. A must visit - at least for Jews!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank feiden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    323
    149
    41
    8
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
215 reviews
110 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Surprisingly impressive for a synagogue”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

The interior was actually worth seeing. Elaborate, yet tasteful ornamentation. A woman came up to us as soon as we came in and gave us an excellent history of not only the synagogue, but of the Jewish community in Milan and Italy. They also have a small, very small, let's face it, miniscule museum. Still, it was interesting and also worthwhile. There are many fantastic places to visit in Florence and it's understandable if you don't get here. We went because we had an apartment a couple of blocks away. Serendipity.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JJJC_Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Off the beaten path”
Reviewed 3 February 2014

It was interesting to listen to the guide talk about the history of the synagogue an of Florence's small and dwindling Jewish community. The synagogue itself is very beautiful with hand painted walls. It's definitely worth the visit.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank 60stravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Impressive building”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We were not planning to visit this temple but looked so impressive we decided take a look.

The exterior is certainly awe inspiring if strangely hidden from the adjacent roads. The grounds are very peaceful with pomegranite trees and lawns. the interior is richly decorated with painted walls and a huge dome. There was a guided tour in English explaining the history of the Jewish comunity in Florence and the building of the Temple. The museum was rather small and mainly photo's with some religious scrolls and artefacts.

There is also a memorial in the grounds for members of the jewish community killed in both wars.

Worth a visit if you have an hour to spare.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Vince P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clemson, South Carolina
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very intersting synagogue”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We visited this synagogue, and we found it to be very interesting and beautiful. We had lunch at Ruth's kosher restaurant next door. My wife and I went to religious services on a Saturday morning. However, we were unable to take in any "carry on" packages. Therefore, I stayed behind with both my wife's and my carry ons" and I visited the excellent and nearby archeological museum. The only problem with that museum was that everything was explained in Italian, and there was very, very little English.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sinagoga di Firenze e Museo ebraico also viewed

 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Sinagoga di Firenze e Museo ebraico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing