We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Imagine a foundation in continuous operation since 1419”

Museo degli Innocenti
Book In Advance
More Info
US$81.00*
and up
Introduction to Florence: Evening Walking Tour
Ranked #46 of 442 things to do in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Imagine a foundation in continuous operation since 1419”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

In 1419 the wealthy Silk Guild of Florence committed itself to caring for poor and abandoned children. The building was designed by Brunelleschi who also spent 7 years overseeing the construction. The building is wonderful. A new museum is under construction. Currently there is a small display tracing the history of the building and its activities. What is so amazing is within its walls it has fulfilled the same function - to care for children - for 600 years. How great is that! A quick visit to an interesting small museum and an opportunity to see an architectural beauty. Well worth the few minutes it will take.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    82
    38
    11
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
442 reviews
126 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
“Nice architecture but a place where the homless stay”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We would walk through the Piazza Santissima Annunziata two or three times a day. The buildings architecture is very interesting, but we always found several homeless people staying in the piazza. At night there would always be 4 - 5 who would be sleeping under the eves. It was nice place to walk through, but we never wanted to spend time there like other piazzas.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank NSRoadrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
3,568 reviews
3,175 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3,098 helpful votes
“Good Architecture”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

The Galleria dello Spedale degli Innocenti has beautiful architecture. It was designed by Brunelleschi and finished by F. Luca in 1445. The façade has a beautiful portico of nine arches that are decorated with polychrome terra-cotta roundels of babies. These roundels were made by the artist Andrea della Robbia in 1463. It is located by the Church of Santa Annunziata.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BennyMalaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
3,568 reviews
3,175 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3,098 helpful votes
“Good Architecture”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

The Ospedale degli Innocenti was the Hospital of the Innocents. It is a historical building in Florence. The building was designed by Filippo Brunelleschi in 1419. It is regarded as a very good example of early Italian Renaissance architecture.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank BennyMalaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
79 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“I found this by accident and was glad I did”
Reviewed 11 July 2013 via mobile

I just stumbled upon this square when strawling around Florence and I found it more beautiful than some if the higher rated sights here. Only later did I find out about it's history and architect, which made it even more interesting. Many students hung out around the square - i think the university is close by. And with this some nice bars and right when I was there also a outside cinema

Helpful?
2 Thank SimoneWitt
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travellers who viewed Museo degli Innocenti also viewed

 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Museo degli Innocenti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing