We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Are at the top yet?”

Campanile di Giotto
Book In Advance
More Info
US$51.25*
and up
Duomo Monumental Tour
Ranked #10 of 631 things to do in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Calgary
Level Contributor
183 reviews
171 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Are at the top yet?”
Reviewed 29 August 2014

This is where you buy the group ticket to all of the Duomo group.

We went first thing in the morning and there was no lineup or crowds on the stairs.

There are several floors where the stairs end, and each time you think I made it!, only to realize there is more to go.

Once at the top the views are fantastic.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rautakallio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,474 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,675
    1,571
    188
    23
    17
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Worth the climb for the stunning vista”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

LOTS OF STEPS! But worth every one! Once you make it to the top you are rewarded with a stunning, breathtaking view of Florence. We thought this was better than the dome because you got the same view of Florence but also of the Duomo itself from right next door. Big plus - go early and there is practically no line. Pre booking a ticket is probably advisable however to cover your bets. Bring water and a hand fan. There is no bathroom on the climb. It is super narrow with no breeze at all in the stairway. The last 100 steps are steep too - this is not for the faint of heart. However, you will get fantastic photos on the 360-degree observation deck. My 9-yr old had no trouble with the climb, but I didn't see many much younger than that.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Planegator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgewater, New Jersey
Level Contributor
306 reviews
186 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“Keep climbing till the top”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

After many steps, I thought I had reached the top then I realized I was only at first level. To climb up further, you would go to the corner and climbed more. You did this 3 times to reach the top (see sky and not roof).

The stairs were a little bit easier to climb than Duomo and the wait was not as long. Still, the wait was about 1 hour and under the sun when I was there at ~ 11am. Once you were in, there were fewer people inside compared to Duomo.

If you have time, you should climb both. If you don’t, it depends on what you like to see, see Duomo from Tower or see Tower from Duomo. It was fun for both.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Family_from_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A beauty in the sky!!”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We did the free walking tour and were so made up we did as the history we were taught from the local guide and the sights he showed us were second to none, highly recommended to learn the history of this stunning place!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank R0undy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“breathtaking view of Florence”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

climbing 400+ narrow steps is a bit easy than Duomo and you will be rewarded with breathtaking view of Florence from the top. For me the view was much more beautiful than from Duomo because you can see the Cathedral and Duomo.
Pre booked your ticket and come early, bring a bottle of water and fan. If you are claustrophobic maybe this is not for you because the stairs going up is narrow and a bit dark as well as if you have fear of heights.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Hansky18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Campanile di Giotto also viewed

 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Campanile di Giotto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing