We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely al fresco dining experience”

Ristorante Salotto del Gusto
Reserve with
Ristorante Salotto del Gusto is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,191 of 2,679 Restaurants in Florence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Santa Maria Novella
Florence, Italy
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely al fresco dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

A hidden gem...the relaxing Tuscan courtyard atmosphere provides a welcome respite from the hustle and bustle of the city center. We've enjoyed the tranquil, leisurely dining experience. Ther food is excellent, and the staff is very welcoming. We've made it our "home away from home" while living in Florence. You will enjoy early-evening or late night-dining with local Florentines. The restaurant is perfect for an intimate couples' dining experience, for a relaxing time with friends and family, or for a night out with a large group. The restaurant is also open for lunch.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank aam627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    30
    23
    17
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A charming oasis of good food and fine atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

This has been one of the nicest authentic Tuscan meals and atmosphere I have had in Florence. The waiters do not rush you but allow you to enjoy the Tuscan fare in the calm courtyard away from the bustle in the heat of summer. As I understand they have only opened up this year but already seem to be growing a solid reputation with people returning, and locals dine there too, a sign of a good restaurant. The al fresco dining is in a lovely quiet walled courtyard. Its just tucked away from the main scene but worth the walk for the quiet ambience and if you love opera then you will be very happy. Well worth a visit compared to lesser experiences I've had in Florence.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cathp36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ambience and food good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

We enjoyed this tucked away restaurant in via del Prato in Florence. With nice music playing the service was good and the food was excellent. One of the best dining experiences we have had in Florence.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
267 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Horrible!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

When we first arrived we were impressed with the modern decor and the attentive waiter, who turned out to be the only one working. We had a nice bottle of a house wine and we ordered our appetizer and first courses which were good and served promptly. The problem started when my second course (bronzino) was approaching the hour mark after our first two courses. When the wait hit the hour mark I tried to cancel the fish but the waiter insisted that it was 2 minutes away. Fifteen minutes later it arrived cold to the touch and an entire fish complete with the head and tail and it apperaed to have been microwaved. I was used to having bronzino filleted at the table but that was not the case as the waiter obviously was deficient with the task. As my wife was finished eating and we were out of wine and water I wasn't in any mood to pick through the fishbones of a cold fish so I just asked for the check so we could leave and put this rather unpleasnt experience behind us.I don't like paying for something that was unedible but sometimes you just have to count your losses and move on. As the entire restaurant had only one waiter we were noticing other tables having problems with the service as well. The bottom line is that this restaurant is not ready for prime time. My suggestion would be to get a pizza down the street.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ristorante Salotto del Gusto also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Ristorante Salotto del Gusto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing