We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good level hotel in central florence”
Review of Hotel River

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel River
Ranked #105 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 December 2012

It has been a good sleeping facing arno river. The price quality ratio was good thanks to internet reservation deal. Breakfast medium level, it could be better for 4 star hotel.
For 100 euro in double room it is a very good deal, but official price is 3 times higher.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank franco b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simone C, Direttore at Hotel River, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at the Hotel River and for posting your comment.

Please know that we have (03/2016) completely renovated the hotel, many facilities and services.

Sincerely

LHP - Hotel River
Florence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (957)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

439 - 445 of 957 reviews

Reviewed 13 December 2012

After being in Paris for 5 days, Lake Como for 2 days and Venice for 2 days, we were looking forward to getting to Florence for 5 days and getting to unpack and spread out a little bit. This was not actually the case....there were 3 of us and we ended up in a room that seemed VERY SMALL for 3 people to actually be comfortable in. There was very little storage room for our clothing, the armoire was little and there was no where else in the room that had drawers or additional space for things. Before we settled in, we did speak to the front desk person about moving to a bigger room but were told that the larger rooms on the 4th floor were already taken and that those guests had requested them. It would seem that when a reservation is being made for 3 people in one of the smaller rooms that the hotel staff should make mention that there are larger rooms available so that the option is out there. We did not get that option when we were booking and we would have been happy paid more for the comfort since were there for a longer period of time!

The hotel itself is across the street from the Arno River, which is beautiful but we did not have a view of the street or the River as our room had a view of a courtyard with a fire escape coming down into it. The room was extremely dark and the lights just didn't seem to brighten it up at all. As I mentioned the room was small for 3 people and our luggage. We had stuff everywhere since there was really no where to store anything. I had to sleep on a twin sofa sleeper that I was too long for, although I do have to say it was comfortable enough. The bathroom was a pretty good size but, as we saw in all of our hotels in Europe, had the shower head right in the middle of the wall and not on the end of the shower as we are used to in the US.

The WiFi was free but awful! We could not get anything to work regularly or at all. My stepfather had his Iphone and his Ipad, while my mom and I both had Iphones and we had a notebook computer to use...we were unable to communicate with anyone while we were there. It was terrible. I see on some of the other reviews that some guests didn't have any issues so perhaps the hotel management should look in to another service where ALL rooms are able to get service.

Our biggest complaint, besides the lack of space was that the air conditioner turned off every night around midnight. What a nightmare! It was very warm and HUMID while we were there and being that there were 3 of us sharing the space, we looked forward to having the air on every night. When I asked the front desk person about the air, he explained to me that the air was on a setting so that whole hotel went off at night and then came back on in the morning and there was nothing he could do about it. THIS IS RIDICULOUS!! Each room should have it's own controls. It was uncomfortable and hard to sleep when the room started getting warm and stuffy each night!!!

The continental breakfast had a nice variety of things and was a really great way to start each day! There was a nice patio to sit on, which we sat on every morning so that we weren't stuck inside the breakfast room.

The location of the hotel in comparison to the attractions in Florence wasn't too bad. We were across the street from where the On/Off buses picked up and dropped of so on the days we did the bus, it was ver convenient to get there. The walk to get to City Center was about 20 minutes to a half hour. It was not horrible but with the humidity during the day, it was tiring!! We did walk to Ponte Vecchio several times to shop and to eat at the restaurants nearby and that only took us about 15 minutes or so.

We did enjoy our stay, regardless of the couple of issues but being that mom and stepfather have been there before, they would opt to stay closer to City Center if and when we return.

Room Tip: Ask about the rooms on the 4th floor facing the River. You will have more space and get a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tulip0506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simone C, Direttore at Hotel River, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at the Hotel River and for posting such a nice review.

Please know that we have recently renovated the Hotel, its facilities and services and in case you return to visit us we will be able to make your stay even more pleasant.

Sincerely

LHP - Hotel River
Florence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2012

As mentioned in another review, I was worried with the old façade when I first arrived. Also if you come by car , you might find it difficult to unload your luggage. The place the hotel reserves in its front is not ample for the purpose. Parking nearby is difficult and expensive. However that is when your troubles ends. Inside installations are very good, room is smal but facilities comprehend all you need for a visiting spell. Good breakfast and excelent location. One can walk to the center of main attractions or hop on the sight-seeing bus. The view of the river is very nice indeed.Last but not least, it is relatively easy to reach the hotel by car. After being three times to Florence, his has been the best value for money hotel I stayed on.

Room Tip: Make sure your room has faces the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank norbafreund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simone C, Direttore at Hotel River, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay at the Hotel River and for posting such a lovely comment.

Please know that your satisfaction is a fantastic reward for everybody working at the Hotel; we do really appreciate it.

We can't wait for your return to offer another wonderful Florentine holiday.

Sincerely

LHP - Hotel River
Florence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

On arriving at this hotel we were very pleasantly surprised by the beautiful exterior and equally impressed when entering the hotel to the reception and bar area. Extremely tastefully decorated and absolutely spotless. Our room was lovely, yes small, as mentioned in many previous reviews, but all we wanted was a comfortable bed, fully equipped bathroom and a tv, all boxes ticked! Again, tastefully decorated and spotless. We were fortunate to have a room on the 4th floor and made good use of the roof terrace, as did many other guests, it was a great meeting place of an evening, we took our own wine and chatted to other guests about our Florenece experiences. Breakfast was continental with plenty of choice for all tastes. Tea/Coffee was available to be brought to your room at any time, this was a free service. We even ordered pizza to be delivered one evening, with the help of reception, this was perfect after a very long, busy day. The staff were generally helpful but not overly friendly. Our air con stopped working after 3 nights and we were told that it had been switched off as it was the end of the season, 2 nights later we discovered from other guests that their air con was still on, this was disappointing to hear as it suggested that the member of staff just couldnt be bothered sorting it out. It was unusually hot for the time of year so the air con would have been very welcome. The location was perfect for us as we enjoyed the 15/20 mins walk into the city centre but if we didnt fancy the walk, taxis were only about 7 Euros.
We wouldnt hesitate to recommend this hotel to friends and family and if we return to Florence we would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Room 402 was perfect for use of roof terrace, wouldnt recommend paying for the fourth floor rooms wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Audtommo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simone C, Direttore at Hotel River, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at the Hotel River and for posting such a nice review.

Please know that we have recently renovated the Hotel, its facilities and services and in case you return to visit us we will be able to make your stay even more pleasant.

Sincerely

LHP - Hotel River
Florence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

Read reviews before booking this hotel and was a little concerned by things I read but booked it because of the location. Was very pleased with this hotel. The staff was great and attentive. The location was great to get to all attractions easily on foot. The breakfast had everything we could have wanted and was well attended so if something was running low it was quickly replenished. The room and entire hotel was very clean which is very important to us. The only down side is that our room was very small and the shower was tiny. Now this is not that uncommon when travelling in Europe but a little more space would have made it a perfect stay. We had to leave the hotel at 4:30 am to catch our flight. Got the wake up call we requested, arrangements were made with front desk to have a taxi waiting for us and a lovely gentleman made sure we had a great cup of coffee before we left. Check out the roof top deck. Great place to enjoy the view. No problem with wi-fi. Worked well.

Room Tip: We had no view. Ask for room with view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mickey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simone C, Direttore at Hotel River, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at the Hotel River and for posting such a nice comment.

Please know that we have recently renovated the Hotel, its facilities and services and in case you return to visit us we will be able to make your stay even more pleasant.
Sincerely

LHP - Hotel River
Florence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

This hotel overlooks the weir of the Arno river that flows through Florence. A little bit outside the old city but not too far. This made the hotel very accessible for travelling by car.
The room we had was great, bathroom was modern with great tiles and glass shower door (It leaked like a seive) but overall excellent. The rooms look to be recently renovated.
Our room had a leather couch which made it very comfortable and great for entertaining the other people in our party.
Breakfast was included and a good selection of cold continental food available, typical of most of the places we stayed in Italy.
Staff were great and very helpful, most especially reception.
The room we had was close to reception so despite not having a view we did have wifi in our room which the others in our group did not have. Hopefully they improve the wifi soon.
I would have given them five stars if not for the bed. The mattress was terrible, one of the worst I have slept on. On inspection it was old and had been covered by a protector that belied the age of the mattress inside. I didn't hear any comments from the others in our group so it must have been just our room.

Room Tip: Make the choice. View or Wifi. Great views from the front rooms overlooking the Arno with no wifi, R...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simone C, Direttore at Hotel River, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at the Hotel River and for posting such a nice review.

Please know that we have recently renovated the Hotel, its facilities and services and in case you return to visit us we will be able to make your stay even more pleasant.

Sincerely

LHP - Hotel River
Florence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

Just recently returned from a 2 week trip to Italy. We stayed in Florence for 4 days (at the end part of our trip) at the Hotel River. The hotel is right on the Arno River, however, our room had no views of the water and you couldn't even see the water from street level. However, after a quick run across the street, you can see the river just fine. The hotel was a bit far from all the main sites of Florence, however, it is still technically in walking distance. The hotel in general was nice with nice staff and a good complimentary breakfast. However, our main issue was that our shower would not drain properly. With 3 of us sharing the room, it made getting ready take longer and having to rinse out the shower bottom many times. We did let the staff know who said they would fix it, however it was never fixed. Also, when we requested a taxi to be called for our trip to the airport, they assigned our taxi to the wrong hotel room and accidentally called the neighboring room at 4:45am! Oops! This was quickly fixed as they called another taxi which showed up within 5 minutes. Overall, we were pleased with this hotel, however, if we were to do it all over again, we would have probably picked a hotel closer to all the sites.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simone C, Direttore at Hotel River, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at the Hotel River and for posting your comment.

Please know that we have (03/2016) completely renovated the hotel, many facilities and services.

Sincerely

LHP - Hotel River
Florence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Home Florence
Hotel Home Florence
#103 of 410 in Florence
720 reviews
Santa Croce
Plaza Lucchesi Hotel
Plaza Lucchesi Hotel
#55 of 410 in Florence
1,671 reviews
Hotel Mulino di Firenze
#27 of 410 in Florence
1,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Hotel Privilege
Hotel Privilege
#152 of 410 in Florence
409 reviews
Santa Croce
J & J Historic House Hotel
J & J Historic House Hotel
#171 of 410 in Florence
476 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Balestri
Hotel Balestri
#62 of 410 in Florence
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel River

Address: Lungarno della Zecca Vecchia 18, 50122, Florence, Italy (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel River)
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#85 Family Hotel in Florence
#108 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £135 - £292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel River 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing