We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rod and Marion - Great quiet location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel River

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel River
Ranked #87 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Ringwood, United Kingdom
1 review
“Rod and Marion - Great quiet location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

We recently had a great seven night stay in historic Firenze staying at Hotel River. The hotel is very well placed overlooking the river Arno just 5 to 10 minutes easy walk to the fascinating medieval heart of the city and all the amazing buildings and artworks to be seen. At this time of year the centre is extremely busy with tourism and at the end of a tiring day, it is very nice to return to the tranquility of Hotel River and enjoy a good English pot of tea, available free 24 hours.
All the staff were extremely friendly, very helpful, spoke good English and happy to help anyone trying to speak Italian. Effervescent Esther has a smile for everyone and at breakfast she made it her business to say hello and be friendly to all guests. The breakfast was absolutely excellent with loads of fruit, cold meat selections, toast, rolls, croissants, etc etc.
The decor of the hotel is good, everything very clean and an excellent standard. There is a nice conservatory; a courtyard and a top floor terrace with great views of the Arno and south side of the river. Our room did not have a view but this did not detract at all as it was a nice quiet and comfortable retreat.
The hotel definitely made for a great weeks holiday and we would not hesitate to return there should we decide explore even more of a delightful city.
Thanks to all staff once again.

Room Tip: Request when booking if you want a room with a view but you must be prepared to pay a little more( I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Rodney R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simone C, Direttore at Hotel River, responded to this review, 28 May 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at the Hotel River and for posting such a nice comment.

Please know that we have recently renovated the Hotel, its facilities and services and in case you return to visit us we will be able to make your stay even more pleasant.
Sincerely

LHP - Hotel River
Florence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    288
    331
    99
    31
    13
See reviews for
142
371
18
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights of our Italian city honeymoon. The hotel is very nice with extremely friendly and helpful staff. We had a small but lovely room with a terrace which was great for relaxing in the sunshine.

A short walk to all the major sites and i would definitely recommend this hotel

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simone C, Direttore at Hotel River, responded to this review, 27 May 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay at the Hotel River and for posting such a lovely comment.

Please know that your satisfaction is a fantastic reward for everybody working at the Hotel; we do really appreciate it.

We can't wait for your return to offer another wonderful Florentine holiday.

Sincerely

LHP - Hotel River
Florence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laval, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

My husband and i are not picky, and i am not saying so to minimise this lovely place at all, but we found this hotel charming with a hint luxury and sophistication! Sadly, we only stayed there one night since we were passing through Florence for about 48 hours, but if we could have stayed longer, we would be very happy staying here!

The hotel is nicely located in front of the Arno river and near walking distance to major sights including the Duomo. It took us about 10 minutes walk to the famous Vecchio bridge from the front door. The rooms were pretty spacious for European standards which included a big queen bed and nice bathroom with a shower which everything was spotless. The concierge service was excellent and the continental breakfast buffet was very decent! And it is thanks to a very nice young man who worked at the front desk on May 21st that recommended us the best restaurant we went to during our stay in Italy (Natalino)! So thank you again!

I definitely recommend this lovely hotel to anyone staying in FLorence, and if we are meant to come back to this lovely CIty, we would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maribelle444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simone C, Direttore at Hotel River, responded to this review, 27 May 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay at the Hotel River and for posting such a lovely comment.

Please know that your satisfaction is a fantastic reward for everybody working at the Hotel; we do really appreciate it.

We can't wait for your return to offer another wonderful Florentine holiday.

Sincerely

LHP - Hotel River
Florence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

We have just returned from a fabulous holiday in Florence having stayed at The Hotel River. The staff were extremely helpful and on arrival one of the staff gave us a map to highlight many places to visit and to eat. Esther the hotel manager was amazing , so friendly and nothing was too much trouble , it was evident she wanted everything to be as perfect as possible for everyone. Everywhere in the hotel was spotlessly clean and the buffet breakfast had something for everyone there was a very good choice of food and drink. The walk to the center is about 10-15 minutes where there are so many places to eat and drink, shops and of course everything for those wanting the culture. We would certainly love to go back and would definitely choose to stay at The River Hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simone C, Direttore at Hotel River, responded to this review, 27 May 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay at the Hotel River and for posting such a lovely comment.

Please know that your satisfaction is a fantastic reward for everybody working at the Hotel; we do really appreciate it.

We can't wait for your return to offer another wonderful Florentine holiday.

Sincerely

LHP - Hotel River
Florence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
277 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

The hotel overlooks the Arno river on Lucarno Della Zecca. It is a short walk to the Uffizi, Ponte Vecchio, the Duomo and just about everything else.

The staff are uber helpful particularly for Firenze. They make great restaurant recommendations and know where everything is situated even the most bizarre locations.

The rooms are huge, super clean and have all modern conveniences like bar fridges, safes, super quiet A/C and great showers.

Breakfast is a cut above with quite a few Tuscan specialities and a great selection of croissants, Danish and breads. Lots of cheese and fresh fruit.

This is a great comfortable Firenze hotel and does not resemble any Best Western I have stayed at in North America.

Room Tip: Room 301 is a suite and overlooks the falls on the Arno river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IntSommelier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simone C, Direttore at Hotel River, responded to this review, 28 May 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at the Hotel River and for posting such a nice comment.

Please know that we have recently renovated the Hotel, its facilities and services and in case you return to visit us we will be able to make your stay even more pleasant.
Sincerely

LHP - Hotel River
Florence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenwood, Arkansas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

We recently stayed three nights at this Hotel and had no serious complaints except for the distance to the center of the city, and the location of our room. We were given a recent renovated room which was very nice, but the only window in the room was a glass door used for entrance. It had a sheer curtain over the glass and a heavy curtain for night time. The view if anything was to a small courtyard. However the short-comings were over ridden by the very nice staff at the hotel. Marlena was very nice and helpful. Her English was excellent and was patient with us on each and every question or concern. if you decide to stay here, be ready for a hike to the center of the city and request a room facing the Arno, which cost more, but worth it. Marlena will make you feel at home.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Arno.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yeargans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simone C, Direttore at Hotel River, responded to this review, 28 May 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at the Hotel River and for posting such a nice comment.

Please know that we have recently renovated the Hotel, its facilities and services and in case you return to visit us we will be able to make your stay even more pleasant.
Sincerely

LHP - Hotel River
Florence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chisinau, Chisinau, Moldova
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

we stayed at the River hotel with my parents and despite the fact that we lived in the same room there were no problems with space, bath and etc. Because the rooms are large enough, as well the bah is. Condition system's ok, everything's atomized. The location of the hotel is so comfortable 'cause it's 2 km from the center and it's not too crowded and also it opens a great view on the river. Breakfasts are ok, as any random breakfast at the hotel. Stuff was really nice. I enjoyed my time sitting in the lobby and surfing the web at 3 a.m. just right back from the walks.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tatiana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simone C, Direttore at Hotel River, responded to this review, 28 May 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay at the Hotel River and for posting such a lovely comment.

Please know that your satisfaction is a fantastic reward for everybody working at the Hotel; we do really appreciate it.

We can't wait for your return to offer another wonderful Florentine holiday.

Sincerely

LHP - Hotel River
Florence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Home Florence
Hotel Home Florence
#83 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
Cosmopolitan Concept Hotel
#104 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
Santa Croce
Plaza Lucchesi Hotel
Plaza Lucchesi Hotel
#54 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Hotel Privilege
Hotel Privilege
#166 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
San Marco
Hotel San Gallo Palace
Hotel San Gallo Palace
#52 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,889 reviews
Santa Croce
J & J Historic House Hotel
J & J Historic House Hotel
#159 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel River

Property: Hotel River
Address: Lungarno della Zecca Vecchia 18, 50122, Florence, Italy (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel River)
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#108 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#125 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel River 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and ACCOR so you can book your Hotel River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing