We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location, really reasonable price and excellent service”
Review of Orcagna Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Orcagna Hotel
Ranked #41 of 409 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Price was great, we spent 4 nights there, staff was helpful and we can say all the best about that hotel........Rooms were clean, breakfast was good and location is really good, about 10 minutes walk from the city centre....

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vbublica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GIo_64Florence, Hotel Staff at Orcagna Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write of the Hotel Orcagna.
We appreciated so much your review.
We remain at your disposal for any need.
Kind regards from all the staff of Hotel Orcagna.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (830)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

204 - 210 of 830 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2013

Hotel is in residential area, but good walk to the city center. Our family had the entire top floor rooms with a great balcony. Rooms are clean. Staff was very helpful and accommodating. The breakfast lady made wonderful morning cappuccino, hot cocoa, personally delivered to your table, which was very sweet and homey. Food selection was beyond a regular continental style.
We'd love to come back!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank artistCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GIo_64Florence, Manager at Orcagna Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2013

Thank you for having found time to write your review, that we have appreciated so much.
We hope to see you again at the Orcagna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

We had reserved this hotel for january 4 to the 10th 2013 in early Decemeber 2012. As with many complaints with the Orcagna hotel, we were whisked away to stay at the Jane Hotel right across the street. We were told that we couldn't stay at the Orcagna and that we would be better off at the Jane Hotel which was owned by the same owner and had a better reputation and value.

The reason for booking the Orcagna Hotel was based on the positive reviews. We cannot give the same reviews that were written on Orcagna for the Jane hotel. Our room and experience did not match what we were lead to expect. We complained and were told that this was our only choice.

Well I would hope that trip advisor can help future travelers concerning the Orcagna hotel with wrongful bookings being taken by this hotel and then when the hotel is full, bring those over-booked guests to the Jane Hotel. Had I known,we would have booked at a next best choice.

Here are a few comments on Room 25 at the Jane Hotel - the walls had humidity stains in the room and bathroom - ok cleanliness - so so breakfast. The Orcagna reviews are much better than these. We lost out on this one.

We should have taken photos - Room 25 - too late.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank denist_eg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GIo_64Florence, Manager at Orcagna Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2013

Thank you for having found time to write your review.
We apologize for any inconvenience that we caused you booking your stay in another hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2012

Quite happy with our stay here. We thought their standard room would be uncomfortably small and their location would be a pain to deal with, but their low cost would make it ok... It turned out that the size of the room was more than adequate for the two of us and turns out that the majority of the things to do in Florence are within a 15-20 minute walk from the hotel... We were pleasantly surprised with this place.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SandroMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2012

The Hotel Orcagna is good value for money, a bit far from train station, but hey it doesn't cost a bomb either. The reception ladies are ever helpful (she even prepared breakfast for us at 5.45 AM on the day of our checkout). We were in room 42, looked a bit tired but was adequate. We loved our long walks everyday to city center. Breakfast served was good with cereal, pastries, fruit, rolls, yoghurts, jams, some amazing biscuits (we bought similar biscuits from Conad nearby), breakfast lady promptly made cappuccino and kept on replenishing. When you are in Florence, you just cant stop falling in love with the city and its people. Dont miss stunning views from Piazza Michelengelo.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shalini S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

The Hotel Orcagna is an excellent choice if you are looking for value for money. The hotel staff are friendly, helpful and can speak a little English. We were in Room 51 'Il Cielo' which was on the 5th floor; it has an amazing view of the Il Duomo. Continental Breakfast served: cereal, pastries, fruit, rolls, yoghurts and jams, cappuccino and expresso. The hotel itself is situated about a twenty minute walk along the River Arno into the centre, you can catch the Number 14 bus if you don’t want to walk. We would definitely stay here again if we return to Firenze.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yvonne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

We stayed for 3 nights and it was very good!! Front desk was very nice and helpful!! Breakfast was good, fruit, pastry, cereal, and yougurt!! More than enought to start the day!! Close to everything maybe a 20 min walk to the center of florence..which is now my new favorite city!!..
Beds are good, a nice sized room, lots of hot water, and fridge worked well also. Rooms look a little tired but everything works it's a great part of town and the prices are right..and really who spends too much time in their room when you are Florence!!! Would stay again!! And love the fact that they still have keys LOL.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boo98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel La Fortezza
#64 of 409 in Florence
371 reviews
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#62 of 409 in Florence
812 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#40 of 409 in Florence
2,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#37 of 409 in Florence
1,833 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Santa Croce
Hotel Santa Croce
#48 of 409 in Florence
833 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#23 of 409 in Florence
2,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orcagna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orcagna Hotel

Address: Via Orcagna 57, 50121, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Best Value Hotel in Florence
#44 Family Hotel in Florence
#66 Business Hotel in Florence
#69 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £45 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Orcagna Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Orcagna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orcagna Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing