We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice”
Review of Orcagna Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Orcagna Hotel
Ranked #41 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2013

From all the hotels we stayed at during our trip this was our favorite. The room felt like it was new. BTW, we stayed in a room in the third floor. They seem to be different from the rooms in the 1st and 2nd floor. The room and the bathroom had plenty of space, which is not the case for most of the hotels in Europe. Considering the price, breakfast, location and room it was the best bang for the buck.

The only two negatives were the the smoking smell in the room and a few mosquitos. However, after turning on the A/C and opening the windows the smell got much better. Also, the hotel provides mosquito control tablets in the room.

I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard-Andrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GIo_64Florence, Hotel Staff at Orcagna Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Dear User Richard-Andrea,
thank you for having found the time to write this review.
We are happy that the Orcagna has been one of your favourite hotels during your holiday.
We remain at your complete disposal for any needs.
Best regards from Florence
Hotel Orcagna's Staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (815)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

197 - 203 of 817 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2013

We spent three nights here and found it quite nice. The quiet neighborhood was a nice break from walking the heavily packed and noisy tourist areas, the small patio was very pleasant and the staff was friendly and very helpful. Our room was clean and comfortable, and though the bathroom was small that's pretty much normal for large Italian cities in my experience. Our morning breakfast was pleasant with cappucinos brought to us with a smile. A nice visit to a place I'd definitely consider staying at again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GIo_64Florence, Hotel Staff at Orcagna Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Dear User John L,
thank you for having found the time to write this review.
We are happy that you have had a good experience here at the Orcagna Hotel.
We remain at your complete disposal for any needs.
Smiles from Florence
Hotel Orcagna's Staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

We stayed at the hotel for four days. Stuff was very nice and helpful. Room was perfectly cleaned every day. Beds were very comfortable. Quiet area. Best pizzas nearby. Breakfast was nicely served by a very nice and warm seniora.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nuritsahar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GIo_64Florence, Hotel Staff at Orcagna Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Dear User nuritsahar,
thank you for having found the time to write this review.
We are happy that you have had a good experience here at the Orcagna Hotel.
We remain at your complete disposal for any needs.
Warmest regards from all Hotel Orcagna's Staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2013

We spent 4 nights at this hotel and found it to be conveniently located for visiting sites in Florence either by foot or by bus. The staff at the front desk, especially Griselda and Cristina really made our visit special and gave us great recommendations for catching the bus to some of the sites and for restaurants in the area. The breakfast room is very nice and offers a variety of items. Request a renovated room if you can (the old skeleton locks require deftness and patience) and the elevator is pretty small, we took the stairs which helped justify our gelatos.

Room Tip: Renovated room are above the second floor. They hope to finish the renovations next year.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GIo_64Florence, Hotel Staff at Orcagna Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write of the Hotel Orcagna.

Currently, the renovated rooms of the hotel are on the third, fourth and fifth floors.

From the month of November 2013, also the rooms on the first and second floor, the breakfast room and the entire ground floor will be renovated

We remain at your disposal for any need.
Kind regards from all the staff of Hotel Orcagna.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Price was great, we spent 4 nights there, staff was helpful and we can say all the best about that hotel........Rooms were clean, breakfast was good and location is really good, about 10 minutes walk from the city centre....

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vbublica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GIo_64Florence, Hotel Staff at Orcagna Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write of the Hotel Orcagna.
We appreciated so much your review.
We remain at your disposal for any need.
Kind regards from all the staff of Hotel Orcagna.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Hotel is in residential area, but good walk to the city center. Our family had the entire top floor rooms with a great balcony. Rooms are clean. Staff was very helpful and accommodating. The breakfast lady made wonderful morning cappuccino, hot cocoa, personally delivered to your table, which was very sweet and homey. Food selection was beyond a regular continental style.
We'd love to come back!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank artistCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GIo_64Florence, Manager at Orcagna Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2013

Thank you for having found time to write your review, that we have appreciated so much.
We hope to see you again at the Orcagna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

We had reserved this hotel for january 4 to the 10th 2013 in early Decemeber 2012. As with many complaints with the Orcagna hotel, we were whisked away to stay at the Jane Hotel right across the street. We were told that we couldn't stay at the Orcagna and that we would be better off at the Jane Hotel which was owned by the same owner and had a better reputation and value.

The reason for booking the Orcagna Hotel was based on the positive reviews. We cannot give the same reviews that were written on Orcagna for the Jane hotel. Our room and experience did not match what we were lead to expect. We complained and were told that this was our only choice.

Well I would hope that trip advisor can help future travelers concerning the Orcagna hotel with wrongful bookings being taken by this hotel and then when the hotel is full, bring those over-booked guests to the Jane Hotel. Had I known,we would have booked at a next best choice.

Here are a few comments on Room 25 at the Jane Hotel - the walls had humidity stains in the room and bathroom - ok cleanliness - so so breakfast. The Orcagna reviews are much better than these. We lost out on this one.

We should have taken photos - Room 25 - too late.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank denist_eg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GIo_64Florence, Manager at Orcagna Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2013

Thank you for having found time to write your review.
We apologize for any inconvenience that we caused you booking your stay in another hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#38 of 410 in Florence
2,176 reviews
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#61 of 410 in Florence
805 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Casci
Hotel Casci
#46 of 410 in Florence
2,788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#25 of 410 in Florence
1,995 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#37 of 410 in Florence
1,809 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Santa Croce
Hotel Santa Croce
#44 of 410 in Florence
825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orcagna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orcagna Hotel

Address: Via Orcagna 57, 50121, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Best Value Hotel in Florence
#44 Family Hotel in Florence
#66 Business Hotel in Florence
#69 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £50 - £353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Orcagna Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Orcagna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orcagna Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing