We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel for families in Florence” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Orcagna Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Orcagna Hotel
Ranked #31 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel for families in Florence”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

My wife and two children and I stayed at the Hotel Orcagna this summer for about two weeks. We found that the rooms we had on the top floor were comfortable, spacious, and cool. The view from the balcony was perfect with a clear and unobstructed of the Brunelleschi's dome. The hotel is not in the center of the city, so for those who have trouble walking it may not be the best choice, but there are three bus lines nearby (#14 at one stop and #C2 and #C3 at another) so it was very easy for a family with two children to get to see the many important sites in Florence. The walk to Santa Croce is about ten minutes.

There are a number of excellent restaurants nearby including in particular the family-run
Osteria Cocotrippone on the Via Vincenzo Gioberti. While the restaurant specializes in traditional Italian meat dishes all of their pastas are excellent. I think we tried most of them.

Otherwise the neighborhood of the hotel is very quiet and safe. If you're staying for a while it is helpful that there are various kinds of stores nearby for clothing, toiletries, and such. Since this is a real neighborhood the prices are good as compared with the more touristy areas.

I run every day, so it was very nice that the Arno is nearby with long paths for running and walking.

The staff at the Orcagna is very friendly and helpful. They see city bus tickets if you need them although those are also available at local tabacchi. It was quite easy to find the bus stops on the return even at night. One reviewer I read before I made the reservation said that this was difficult and perhaps on the #14 it is harder in the dark but on the C2 and C3 it is easy as the stop is the last stop (capolinea) of the line. The only difficulty with the buses is making sure with the #14 that you get on the right one (there are several variants of the #14, #14, #14A, #14B, #14AB) to go back to the area of the Via Orcagna. The solution to this is to get a bus map. The buses themselves are fast and efficient as it is about an eight to ten minute ride to the Duomo.

Breakfast was excellent with cappuccino or cafe latte for the adults and freshly made chocolate milk for the children. The hotel offers yogurt, fruit, cheese and meat, cereal, orange juice, excellent cornetti (croissants) and jams of all sorts. The breakfast room is large enough and quite comfortable.

WiFi is available in each room. My only complaint is that at night it was very slow (3000 ms roundtrip for ping to www.google.com vs a more normal 55 ms in the morning). But then, when we needed it to check airplane reservations or use Skype in the morning it was quite good.

Overall the location of the hotel is excellent particularly for the summer as the area is cooler than many others. There is a useful elevator, though it does not (yet?) go to the top floor.

Excellent hotel, very good value, wonderful restaurants and gelateria (GELATERIA ERMINI B. & FIGLI on via Vincenzo Gioberti) in the neighborhood.

As for Florence itself there are so many things to see it is impossible to name them in any useful way, but I should mention the exhibit entitled the "Springtime of the Renaissance" at the Palazzo Strozzi (ending 18 August unfortunately, see http://www.palazzostrozzi.org/Path.jsp?idPath=22&idProgetto=2&idLinguaSito=2) This has many of the most famous works of the Florentine Renaissance well displayed but with few visitors.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TomHNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    417
    256
    49
    13
    6
See reviews for
172
339
15
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

OK first of all, I paid 45 euros. So when I opened the door it was hard for me to process what was inside: 1 single bed 1 twinsized bed and a JACUZZI! And a fancy sink and bathroom too. For 20 minutes I did't put my stuff on the big bed because I thought I was going to share the bedroom with a couple. (I seriously went over the confirmation e mail details if it was a shared room or not.)

The staff was SO helpful that I felt guilty again.

It was another world apart from Florence. The only downside was the location. There's only one bus #14 which takes you to the city and it was painful at first without knowing this information.

But it was an unbelievable experience, THANK YOU ORCAGNA

Helpful?
Thank CaslonHadDyslexia
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
South Florida
Level Contributor
116 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

When we first got to the hotel we had a problem with the air conditioner. We told them and they were able to fix the problem. They were very accommodating to our needs. The staff is exceptional especially Max.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthFloridaCoolmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Bruno, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

rooms were very clean and nice! i was really impressed. everything looked updated. we had a small room, but was well worth it for the price. everything was walking distance. the staff was very helpful. they kept our luggage after check out time so we can still sight see. not far at all from the museums and central florence. would highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kimberly b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

We had a great time at the Orcagna Hotel in Firenze, and we would recommended to anyone.
The hotel was clean, and in a good location and everybody was polite and helpfull.
We spent 2 nights at this hotel and enjoyed it very much.
We were able to park our car for free the 3 days we stayed and walked to all the museums and landmarks we wanted to visit from the hotel. Breakfast was good and the staff was very nice.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jone A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
530 reviews
224 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 423 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

A bit too basic. Room on the second floor with rather dismal decor. Old wooden furniture didn’t help the overall impression of cheapness. Wifi signal didn’t carry to this room. There was supposed to be wifi per floor, from 2nd floor only floor 1 and 4 came up and neither was strong signal. Tv had no channels not even news in English and other channels often had pixelated picture. Not that I wanted a tv but if you do...... Breakfast was similarly pared down to the basics. Two cereals, cold cheese and meats, sometimes empty waiting to be replenished, and one choice of cakes or bread. It is failry central though, only 20 minutes flat walk to the city centre. And at night if you don’t want to walk to the centre, there are a number of pavement and other restaurants within 200/400 metres. Secure indoor parking available at a very reasonable 10 Euro a day. So if you are driving and need to stay out of the ‘exclusion zone’, it is convenient but not a lot else going for it.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KS&HC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

Orcagna Hotel was a good choice. The staff is nice and willing to help, the rooms are cleaned dayly and buffet at breakfast time is excellent.
The mosquitos, however, are a problem, so take a good lotion with you.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Callmelucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#28 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,196 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#26 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,816 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#35 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Hotel Santa Croce
Hotel Santa Croce
#36 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
Pitti
Hotel Restaurant  La Scaletta
San Lorenzo
Hotel Casci
Hotel Casci
#34 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orcagna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orcagna Hotel

Property: Orcagna Hotel
Address: Via Orcagna 57, 50121, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Best Value Hotel in Florence
#44 Family Hotel in Florence
#65 Business Hotel in Florence
#69 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Orcagna Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Orcagna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orcagna Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing