We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel away from the crowd”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Orcagna Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Orcagna Hotel
Ranked #32 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great hotel away from the crowd”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

We were very happy with our stay at Hotel Orcagna.

Lovely and very helpful staff.. very clean and modern hotel. We were given a very large room with all the usual amenities and nice balcony looking out over the street. Great Wifi internet access throughout the hotel.

Location is approx 15min walk to the centre of florence (a nice walk along the river) which was quite nice.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Asubterranean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GIo_64Florence, Hotel Staff at Orcagna Hotel, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Dear User Asubterranean,

thank you for having found the time to write this review.
We are happy that you have had a lovely stay here at the Orcagna Hotel.
We remain at your complete disposal for any needs.
Warmest regards from all Hotel Orcagna's Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    422
    261
    49
    13
    6
See reviews for
175
342
15
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

We were made to feel welcome from the start by the friendly and helpful staff. The third-level room was clean, comfortable and had a balcony for watching the action below. Great little restaurants and bars around the corner. And a short walk to the Arno promenade or a slightly longer interesting walk through neighborhoods to the Duomo and other tourist sites.
And a good breakfast, with fresh espresso or cappucino made by the kitchen staff.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hatchvillepottery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GIo_64Florence, Hotel Staff at Orcagna Hotel, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Dear User Hatchvillepottery,

thank you for having found the time to write this review.
We are happy that you have had a good experience here at the Orcagna Hotel, and that you enjoyed our breakfast with espresso and cappuccino.
We remain at your complete disposal for any needs.
Warmest regards from all Hotel Orcagna's Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laval, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

We are pleased with our stay at this hotel. The over all experience was great. The location was not too far by bus from downtown Florence. The staff was very helpfull in giving us good advices for our visit of this beautiful town.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nataliec102013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GIo_64Florence, Hotel Staff at Orcagna Hotel, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear User Nataliec102013,

thank you for having found the time to write this review.
We are happy that you have had a good experience here at the Orcagna Hotel.
We remain at your complete disposal for any needs.
Warmest regards from all Hotel Orcagna's Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

We booked 3 rooms: 2 doubles and a triple. The doubles got upgraded to the superior suites (all located on the 3rd floor) which indeed looked very nice. The triple room on the other hand was a mess - ancient wooden door, wallpaper peeling off the walls, constant damp smell coming from the bathroom and lots of noise from the nearby street. In contrast the superior rooms had a Jacuzzi and all sorts of new gadgets like electric shower doors.
The stay was a good experience for the upgraded rooms, but terrible for the triple one. The hotel is supposed to undergo renovation during this winter, so hopefully all this will change by next year.

Otherwise the staff was helpful (albeit not particularly apt in communication in anything other than italian) and the location is rather good - 15 minutes to the city center, lots of good restaurants/pizzerias around, and close to the Arno for midnight strolls

Room Tip: Go for the superior suites, located on the 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GIo_64Florence, Hotel Staff at Orcagna Hotel, responded to this review, 29 September 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you for having found the time to write this review.
As you wrote on your review the rooms located an the 3, 4 and 5 floor has been renovated last winter, but not the rooms on the first and second floor that will be restored from november 2013.
We are sorry that we were not able to give you 3 renovated rooms, but only two of them.
From next springtime the hotel will be completely renovated, included the reception and breakfast area.
We remain at your complete disposal for any needs.
Warmest regards from all Hotel Orcagna's Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tegucigalpa, Honduras
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

I stayed at the Orcagna hotel in our recent visit to Florence. We stayed fjor four nights. It is a quiet and nice place, the location seemed excellent to me since you can get to the attractions in the city by walking. There is also a bus station a few blocks away from the hotel that leads you to the main train terminal. The rooms are renovated and very neat. They serve a complete breakfast every day with no extra charge. Wifi is also available for free. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: the upper romos are renovated, the lower floors romos are nice too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Elsa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GIo_64Florence, Hotel Staff at Orcagna Hotel, responded to this review, 29 September 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you for having found the time to write this review.
We are happy that you have had a good experience here at the Orcagna Hotel.
We remain at your complete disposal for any needs.
Warmest regards from all Hotel Orcagna's Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

Price was pretty good, location was 15-20 minutes walk from the main attractions. Decent breakfast. Great staff, very helpful. Room was very modern and clean, with a small balcony.
They have a parking space for a couple of cars but you have to reserve it in advance - it was taken when we came so we parked in the street. We did find a close parking space but you have to use parking meter - not too cheap - if you're coming for a few days and have a car do yourself a favor and reserve a parking space.
Note that you need to take some steps for the elevator. Might pose a problem for disabled/elderly people.

Overall very good experience, definitely recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for the new rooms - seems like there are still some older rooms available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank nitzanj2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GIo_64Florence, Hotel Staff at Orcagna Hotel, responded to this review, 29 September 2013
Dear User nitzanj2,
thank you for having found the time to write this review.
We are happy that you have had a good experience here at the Orcagna Hotel.
We remain at your complete disposal for any needs.
Warmest regards from all Hotel Orcagna's Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castro Valley, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

We have stayed at the Orcangna twice over the years. This year we booked for four days. The hotel is a bit far from the center of town but easily reached on foot in 20-25 minutes. The room we stayed in had just been redone, very modern, very clean, very nice. The staff was uniformly helpful and pleasant. Even the morning cappuccino was good, just make sure to ask for it. All in all a very relaxing experience, one that we would not hesitate to renew.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nonno2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GIo_64Florence, Hotel Staff at Orcagna Hotel, responded to this review, 29 September 2013
Dear User Nonno2000,
thank you to be back at the Hotel Orcagna.
We are happy that you have had again a good experience here at the Orcagna.
We remain at your complete disposal for any needs.
Warmest regards from all Hotel Orcagna's Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#26 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,225 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#24 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,843 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#35 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Hotel Santa Croce
Hotel Santa Croce
#41 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Casci
Hotel Casci
#37 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,616 reviews
Pitti
Hotel Restaurant  La Scaletta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orcagna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orcagna Hotel

Property: Orcagna Hotel
Address: Via Orcagna 57, 50121, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Best Value Hotel in Florence
#44 Family Hotel in Florence
#65 Business Hotel in Florence
#69 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Orcagna Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Orcagna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orcagna Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing