We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel”
Review of Orcagna Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Orcagna Hotel
Ranked #35 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

This hotel is on the edge of Florence city centre, but don't let that put you off. It is easily walk able into the city centre and is actually in a lovely neighbourhood that actually gives some calmness to the holiday while staying in such a busy city. The rooms are very spacious, with all mod cons. the bathroom is spacious. Cleanliness is of a very high standard, reception staff were extremely friendly and very helpful. Breakfast very good and included in the price we paid. We stayed in a standard room and for a 2 star hotel, I would say it is definitely under rated by the starring system on reflection of other hotels we have stopped in. Would definitely stay here again

Room Tip: Standard rooms are of a very high standard!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank niblets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GIo_64Florence, reception at Orcagna Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
We thank you and we are happy that you have found our hotel wonderful . We hope that you will come back to visit us.
Best regards
Staff hotel Orcagna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

773 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    434
    271
    49
    13
    6
See reviews for
181
356
15
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Stayed here on business for two nights and really enjoyed the stay. The staff were very welcoming and the rooms were nice. I had a bath in mine that was huge.

The hotel is around 20 minutes walk from the center so a great location and you walk past the little flea market to get the old town.

I would definitely stay again and would recommend it

Room Tip: My 4th floor room - 410 - was huge
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gavin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Good location, very nice staff. We had a rather big 2-room kind of a penthouse with a terrace lookind at the Dom and the mountains. The wi-fi works.
Clean, comfortable. It's 100% worth the money we spent!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Voronofff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

I'm not sure why I'm just now getting around to writing this review-but every time I think of my trip to Italy, I think of this wonderful hotel. There is a lot of charm to staying in bed and breakfasts-and this was by far my favorite of out trip. First and foremost the people were wonderful. We got there early and they let us leave our luggage and go explore Florence until our room was ready. They gave us wonderful suggestions for restaurants, and possibly best of all, they made us real cappuccino in the mornings (all of our other hotels just had the automatic machines-ew). The room was well acquainted and the bathroom was nice. I loved the little balcony we had. It was near enough walking distance to everything-and following the Arno down to the city center was lovely. If I ever go back to Florence-and I plan on it-I will be staying here.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Meg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GIo_64Florence, uffico commerciale at Orcagna Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear client, Thank You! We are proud that you remember Italy, Florence and Hotel Orcagna; we've shared with all the staff your good impressions and your experience with us.
We thank you for choosing us for your stay and we hope to welcome you again
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucca, Italy
Level Contributor
115 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

The Orcagna Hotel (which is owned and operated by the same folks who own the Hotel Jane accross the street) is a great value for the money. Although only a two star, the room on the 4th floor was quite nice, the bathroom was modern and the Wi-Fi worked very well. The staff, and most of them spoke English, was excellent and very helpful. The breakfast was adequate and what you would expect from a 2 star hotel.

The location of the hotel is approximately a 20 minute walk to the Duomo. Just make one left turn and walk straight down the street to the Duomo and Centro. There are supermarkets, department stores, and all manner of specialty stores all within a 5 minute walk from the hotel. There is even a 'sfuso' bulk wine store about 6 minutes away, which has a number of wines that you can purchase by the liter and it is then pumped into your container.

One last thing - if you drive and arrive by the early afternoon - there are 4 free parking spaces in from of the Hotel Jane. You might be able to park for free. Otherwise you can pay to park on the street or pay 15 euros for hotel parking.

Bottom line: the Hotel Orcagna is a great place to stay and definitely worth the money.

jr

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jay r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Nice and friendly staff. Good location outside the city center with a lot of restaurants close by. We had a room on the 3th floor, where the remodeled rooms are. Breakfast was good. The car space was a bit challenging.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank grad23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GIo_64Florence, Hotel Staff at Orcagna Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear User grad23,
thank you for having found the time to write your opinion on the Orcagna Hotel.
We are happy that you have had a nice stay with us.
We remain at your complete disposal for any needs
With our best regards.
Hotel Orcagna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Nice and clean, friendly staff and walking distance to main tourist area. Have no hesitation in recommending this hotel. The only drawback is it is a little noisy in the mornings but we were right above the breakfast room, got us out and sightseeing nice and early:)

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bell10_63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GIo_64Florence, Hotel Staff at Orcagna Hotel, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Dear User bell10_63

thank you for having found the time to write your opinion about Orcagna Hotel,
We are happy to know that Orcagna is a "“Very nice place to stay” " for you.
We remain at your complete disposal for any future needs.
With our fondest regards,

The Orcagna's Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#29 of 422 in Florence
2,271 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#25 of 422 in Florence
1,895 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#40 of 422 in Florence
1,729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#50 of 422 in Florence
2,026 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Casci
Hotel Casci
#37 of 422 in Florence
2,673 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Santa Croce
Hotel Santa Croce
#41 of 422 in Florence
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orcagna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orcagna Hotel

Property: Orcagna Hotel
Address: Via Orcagna 57, 50121, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Best Value Hotel in Florence
#44 Family Hotel in Florence
#66 Business Hotel in Florence
#69 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Orcagna Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Orcagna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orcagna Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing