We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little place to stay in Florence”
Review of Orcagna Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Orcagna Hotel
Ranked #41 of 409 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Recently renovated smaller Hotel run by friendly helpfull staff. The room was modern and stylishly decorated with an ok sized bathroom. Short walk to the bus for trips into town, or visit a restaurant or bar with many located around the Orcagna. Many of the local bars had a happy hour with cheaper priced drinks and free tapas. A local supermarket is also handy for those who like to self cater occasionally. Wifi was a little unreliable at times but after mentioning it to the staff at reception was reset immediately for a reliable fix! A great little boutique Hotel for a great stay.

Room Tip: Choose one overlooking the outdoor eating area at the back of the hotel for a lovely little balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Philip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GIo_64Florence, ufficio commerciale at Orcagna Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear client
thank you a lot for the positive comment regarding your stay. We've shared with all the staff your good impressions
We are already looking forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Orcagna
Beste regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (830)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

136 - 142 of 830 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Last year I wrote a review of Daddy O in Miami, US, giving the hotel top score. I think Orcagna must have used the very same interior designer. Our room was really fresh and looked as it was renovated yesterday. Our bed was big and really comfortable.
The staff was really friendly as well. My tip is to get on the good side with the sweet old women that controls the citchen. She will make you a really great capouccino for breakfast!
The location is a little bit outside the centre of the old town. It takes about 20-30 minutes to walk because you have to stop at every corner to look at the beautiful city, but if you don't care about such I guess you can make the walk in 10-15 minutes. The hotel also has bikes for rent if you prefer that.
I would strongly recommend Orcagna for anyone going to Firenze/Florence, and I really can't believe that you can find such a nice hotel for such a reasonable price anywhere.
Oh, one last thing, if you're a couple looking for a romantic time, just turn on the lights above the bed;o)

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bossel66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We spent 4 wonderful days here in June. Can't find anything but positive things to say. It is by far the best priced hotel around. The rooms are all modern and very well kept. You are out of the beehive in central Florence. It is just a pleasant walk to the main tourist attactions. Plenty of local shops and places to eat near the hotel. The staff is fantastic , everyone we met was friendly and answered all are questions with a smile. Great job ! We would recommend the Hotel Orcagna to anyone and make it as our first choice next time we visit Florence.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Pete195142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GIo_64Florence, ufficio commerciale at Orcagna Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear guest,
Thanks for your review; we are delighted to have contributed to making your stay in Florence a pleasant one. We are grateful for your comments that are very rewarding and motivating to continue on this way.
Hoping to see you again, best regards
The Hotel Orcagna Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Florence was already wonderful, but I'm convinced our hotel enhanced an outstanding destination by at least 20%. Everything about it was perfect. A very cool, well-designed, modern boutique hotel, the Orcagna still manages to convey warmth and welcome, especially because of the friendly, helpful staff. As we checked in, around 7pm on a Thursday evening, Mary exuberantly told us, "It's Notta Bianca!" We were clueless, so she explained all the details and printed out the info: on the eve of the May 1 national holiday, all the attractions in central Florence open their doors from 7pm to midnight -- free of charge! (Other cities may have similar celebrations, but if you can manage to be in Florence on April 30, what a bonus.) We dropped our bags and tried to orient ourselves on the way to Palazzo Vecchio.

The Orcagna, located just outside the central tourist area, is in a very pretty residential neighborhood where glorious older buildings mix with attractive newer dwellings. It's a three-minute walk from the Arno, and a scenic 15 minutes from the Uffizzi, Palazzo Vecchio, and other famous sites. You won't be alone, though -- the riverfront route is a very popular walkway.

It took a day to used to the prominent shower and sink in our bedroom, particularly because we were awakened early on the first morning by someone's long, noisy shower (then never heard it again). Our room was uncluttered and comfortable, with a tiny terrace overlooking the hotel's lovely, inviting guest patio. Breakfast, mainly the typical assortment we'd seen at our other hotels, included two welcome additions: yogurt and granola. Another food highlight was the staff suggestion of nearby La Taverna for a wonderful, very un-touristy dinner.

While I could only manage a few minutes' visit to that appealing patio, I had a delightful discovery on the way: an unobtrusive, ample bookcase featuring books obviously donated by other guests. B&Bs often have that little amenity, but I rarely see them in hotels. Just one more example, for me, of the subtle touches that make the Orcagna a 10. And I'd plan the next trip to Florence around when we can get a room there.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carly5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GIo_64Florence, ufficio commerciale at Orcagna Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Thank you very much! Your words about your stay, about our hotel and our staff are so kind! Thank you again for sharing with us and with Tripadvisor's Readers your positive experience.
We hope obviously to see you again!
Best regards
Hotel Orcagna Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

This is a fantastic hotel, our room was really lovely. The staff can't do enough to help you. The hotel is in a good location, ten minutes walk from the very centre of Florence, along one straight road with lots of shops and bars to see on the way. I would book this hotel again, when I go to Florence next.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Margaret C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GIo_64Florence, ufficio commerciale at Orcagna Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Thank you a lot for your positive comment . We've shared with all the staff your good impressions and your experience with us.
Hoping to see you again, best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Even though all the reviews I had read were positive, Hotel Orcagna exceeded expectations. The rooms were very clean and very modern in an ancient city. The breakfasts were lovely. But what made our stay exceptional was the kindness of every staff member, from the two front desk ladies, to the breakfast ladies to the chambermaid, all were sweet and beyond helpful. Everything from the the physical plant to the checkout process was quietly efficient. Would stay again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Angelal1006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GIo_64Florence, ufficio commerciale at Orcagna Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

We thank you for choosing us for your stay. We are really delighted to hear that you did like the room and the breakfast and that you appreciated the quality of service and the kindness of the staff. We are proud of it.
We hope to welcome you again!
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This hotel was very quaint. The lobby was nice and the room was average with an adorable little balcony overlooking backyards in the neighbourhood. The location was a little inconvenient, only serviced by a bus stop down the street and the bus system is a little confusing. We walked often and once we mastered the bus service we were fine.
We had a woman check us in who was awesome and spoke very good English (we couldn't get our room unlocked- old fashioned keys- and she came up and helped us) but there was a man on desk later who spoke absolutely no English. Didn't understand "computer" or "internet" or any of my various gestures/signs (I speak some french so I was baffled that he wasn't getting any of it, even my imitation of typing at a keyboard). I ended up pointing at a "internet access" sign and he gestured at a computer in the corner.
We enjoyed the breakfast, it was standard for hotels with continental breakfast included in Italy. There is a pizzeria nearby called La Luna that you MUST go to and order a litre of the white house wine. It was our favourite place in all of Italy. We would definitely go back to Orcagna and already recommended it to friends who were visiting Florence.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheiladoreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GIo_64Florence, ufficio commerciale at Orcagna Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Thank you for your review and for choosing our hotel. We are glad that your stay was ok and we hope to welcome you soon

Best regards
Hotel Orcagna Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel La Fortezza
#64 of 409 in Florence
373 reviews
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#62 of 409 in Florence
812 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#40 of 409 in Florence
2,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#37 of 409 in Florence
1,833 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Santa Croce
Hotel Santa Croce
#48 of 409 in Florence
833 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#23 of 409 in Florence
2,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orcagna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orcagna Hotel

Address: Via Orcagna 57, 50121, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Best Value Hotel in Florence
#44 Family Hotel in Florence
#66 Business Hotel in Florence
#69 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £45 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Orcagna Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Orcagna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orcagna Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing