We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very nice design”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Room Mate Luca

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Room Mate Luca
Ranked #44 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“very nice design”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

This hotel is different in a very positive way: Very nice design, old building fully renovated with cheerful colors. The staff is extremely friendly. I don't know what the staff has been eating but I have never seen so much hospitality in a hotel! I took the cheapest single room: The little room is nice .Colors and design are very nice. The bed is good. The bathroom is small but clean. The shower is very small as also the sink. There is enough light and atmosphere in the room and place to store the bags and the clothes. Further a small television, a safe and a minifridge. A bit annoying is the noise of the neighbors: When they use the shower I can hear too much especially when my neighboor hits the walls (because the showers are very small). The breakfast is basic plus and included in the price: Toast, bread, cheese, hamm, (instant) juices, egg, warm eggs, coffee machine (just to survive), yoghurt, fresh bananas, kiwi, oranges. Again the staff is always willing to help. The neighborhood is good and the hotel is 10 minutes walking from the trainstation and the city center (the catherdral). I also like their reservation system: clear prices, the more nights you stay, the lower the price per night, no prepayments and cancelations possible untill 2 days before! I will definitely go back here again!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fly538
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luca A, Responsabile reception at Room Mate Luca, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Visitor,

thank you so much for your kind words! We are glad you have felt what the Room Mate experience is: a comfortable and pleasurable stay in a friendly environement. We have shared your comment with the whole staff because nothig can make us happier than your feedback: you felt welcomed, in a nice atmosphere and that was thanks to the great people of the team.

We look forward to welcoming you again in another Room Mate "friend" that you can find around the world.

Best regards,

Luca Albonetti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,085 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    686
    328
    56
    8
    7
See reviews for
132
619
76
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

Room Mate Luca is a place to which I would quickly return. The recent renovation is so complete that you would hardly guess that you are in an old building. Our room on the first floor had everything you might want.. The location is good enough and you can easily walk to most attractions in the downtown, which is not very large for a large city. The room was spacious, bright, cheerful and functional. And the bathroom had the type of bathtub you wish you had at home. I found the breakfast area too busy for my liking, but I may have been there at a particularly busy moment.

Excellent value for downtown Florence.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Will A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luca A, Responsabile reception at Room Mate Luca, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Randy,

what a nice surprise! Your words make us very happy as we can see that you had a wonderful experience with us at "Luca". Modern, comfortable, close to everything: all qualities that make our hotel "One of the best" just like you point out.

We hope you will go and know other Room Mate hotels around the world. Thank you once more,

Luca Albonetti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

My room had two large windows, was the corner of the building. Pink velvet bed, lot a romance in the air. For just one night...Nice juice and fuits in the morning, fresh bread and cool people at breakfast restaurant. For sure Florence is going to se me again as well Room Mate Luca :)

Room Tip: Try to get my room, love it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elis57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luca A, Responsabile reception at Room Mate Luca, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you so much for sharing your experience at Room Mate Luca with us and with other people!

We are glad you liked the atmosphere at our hotel and, just like you say, "Luca" will be very happy to see you again on your next visit to Florence.

Best regards,

Luca Albonetti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

The first thing one notices about the Room Mate Luca is the incredibly friendly reception, and again every time one has occasion to speak with them. Really a pleasure. The Hotel is in an old building with high ceilings that has been carefully renovated with modern touches. The rooms are large, beds comfortable and our room to the garden was so quiet that we had to check if the window was really open. The breakfast is ok but not spectacular, and a nearby parking garage picks up and delivers the car. The hotel is very central with San Marco, San Lorenzo and even the Duomo close by. As practically anywhere in this great city there are excellent restaurants within a few minutes in every direction.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room out to the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luca A, Responsabile reception at Room Mate Luca, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Tom,

we are very glad to see that you have used the word "friendly" to describe your impression about our hotel and service: this is just what "Luca" wishes to be, that is a good friend to enjoy Florence with.

We cannot wait to welcome you again. Best regards,

Luca Albonetti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

Great hotel, i give 5 stars for what is essentially a 3 star hotel in my opinion. Negatives and positives but for the price I can't fault it.
- turn right when leaving hotel and 2nd right will take you 10min walk in a straight line through street markets right to Duomo which then again leads you on to all the other must see sights.... It's a lovely walk with such nice surprises at the end. When you walk back and have lost your bearing which happens after seeing so much just look for the Spar shop and walk up the street (san lorenzo) right next to it.
Hotel in a quiet neighbourhood so you feel like you are seeing a bit of local florence life as well as just the touristy bits
Very clean hotel and clean rooms. Furniture and decor well maintained
- good breakfast, no hot food but I would not expect it at this level hotel
- good wifi connection
- small rooms but on a par with most european hotels. decor in my room was fine, busy patterns but its not offensive to the eye at least not mine bathroom in neutral pea green looks bland and it feels neglected it should be improved. Good shower pressure which is needed after a day sightseeing
Room at the front had a nice view but the street noise are intrusive its a main through road, if you are a light sleeper choose a room at the back. It does quiet down after midnight
Mattress too firm for me but I think most people would not mind it. Little things lets the hotel down ie no towel rail only heating rail. Not good enough in my opinion to find clean towel waiting on toilet seat. Only one bath towel per person. 2 towels would be better and perhaps offer a system where guest request towel changes if needed as part of water/energy conservation if laundry is the issue for not providing more than one towel. 5star hotels offers this so i'm sure it would not be a big deal to most guests who would prefer to have more than one towel. The keycard was temperamental when i arrived which i found annoying because it caused me two trips to front desk with my luggage as they don't have concierge service. It was the most annoying part of my stay which is hardly worth mentioning but bear it in mind if you have lots of luggage, it may be that i have become to used to swipe cards. The staff were friendly and helpful. A free coffee/ tea/ complimentary glass of wine at the end of a hectic day (drinks hr at 6.30/7) would endear this hotel to a lot more people because its not quite in the location where most people want to be, it doesn't have a restaurant and it doesn't have room service. No printer attached to the computer so beware because you may not be able to print attachments if received via email. Would I stay here again. Absolutely its a little undiscovered gem that just needs a little bit more polishing.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tonitravelbuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luca A, Responsabile reception at Room Mate Luca, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Dear guest,

we have been very pleased to find your comment on this web page. On the one hand, we see that you enjoyed and felt satisfied from the days you spent at Luca, which is something we do appreciate. On the other, we are even more thankful because you have taken a lot of interest in giving us precious advice for improving our service: we are glad to inform you that we are already doing something that will surprise you much more on your next stay.

Please, accept our kindest regards,

Luca Albonetti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, Vermont
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed at Room Mate Luca in late September 2013. The staff were so friendly and helpful and they made our stay so very nice. The rooms are wonderfully large and comfortable and the breakfast buffet is great. You can get spoiled on pastry and cappuccino every day. You can't beat the location. You are never more that a 5 to 20 minute walk from any site in the historic district of Florence. When you are exhausted from touring all day, you stop for a bottle of wine, some cheese at a shop down the street and ease into the comfortable couches in the main floor sitting area. In all Room Mate Luca is a great value for the terrific rooms, food and service they offer.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VTParkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luca A, Responsabile reception at Room Mate Luca, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear Mr/Ms Parkers,

nothing could make us happier than finding out that "Luca" has been "terrific" for you. You have enoyed everything of our service and we are glad that you have pointed out that its been really worth it.

Room Mate awaits to welcome you here in Florence again, or in another city in the world, to give you some special days like this time.

Best regards,

Luca Albonetti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

Stayed at Room Mate Luca on the 16th & 17th of Oct13. We had a pleasant stay with the staff always available for suggestions and helping us with our plans. They serve grt breakfast with excellent coffee. Would like to specifically thank Franco (front desk teammember) & Andre (all in one staff - bellboy & room delivery) who were very friendly and gave us info about the best restaurant and places to visit. Rooms were typical Europe style small rooms but well kept and well furnished. Only thing which turned me off (which is not so imp) are the lizard wallpapers they have all over the place. Its creepy to have lizard wall paper on the corridors. Cheers to the team of Luca as we had a superb holiday with them. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnjuBrijesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luca A, Responsabile reception at Room Mate Luca, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear Guest,

first of all we would like to inform you that we have shown your comment to Franco and Andre, they thank you for them and are so enthusiastic about knowing they contibuted to a marvellous stay here at "Luca", together with the rest of the staff.

Your happiness and satisfaction give us a lot of energy to continue on this line and provide other people the same impression and vibe you had.

See you soon here at Luca, then; best regards,

Luca Albonetti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Room Mate Isabella
Room Mate Isabella
#38 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#24 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,843 reviews
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#56 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Casci
Hotel Casci
#37 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,616 reviews
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#26 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,223 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#50 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Room Mate Luca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room Mate Luca

Property: Room Mate Luca
Address: Via Ventisette Aprile 3, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Florence
#31 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#32 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#62 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Room Mate Luca 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Room Mate Hotels, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Room Mate Luca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carolus Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing