We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely room”
Review of Room Mate Luca

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Room Mate Luca
Ranked #42 of 412 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Texas
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Lovely room”
Reviewed 8 February 2014

We spent 4 nights at the Room Mate Luca in an upgraded room with a small balcony (we didn't discover the balcony until the 3rd day). Breakfast was pleasant although I'm not a fan of automatic cappuccino machines. Hotel was well located as it is just down the street from everything and a walkable distance from the train station. The bathroom shower required a learning curve as I flooded the floor on my first attempt. Minor gliches, as the hotel was lovely and the staff smiling and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank April-pixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luca A, Responsabile reception at Room Mate Luca, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear Visitor,

nothing is more rewardable for us than reading that your stay with us was fully satisfying.

We strive every day for providing people who choose us with an excellent stay and thanks to the original decor, smiling and helpful staff, nice buffet breakfast (please, don't miss to ask the waiter for a freshly made cappuccino the next time!) and a very good location, so, your satisfaction is what tells us we are going the right way...

We cannot wait to welcoming you again here. Kindest regards,

Luca Albonetti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    727
    347
    57
    8
    7
See reviews for
144
658
76
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We have just returned from two nights at Room Mate Luca.

The location is excellent: 10 minutes walk from the train station, less than 10 minutes walk from the Duomo, less than 5 minutes from the Accademia.

We stayed in a standard room, good size, plenty on room to walk about. Our room was on the 1st floor and at the back of the hotel so very quiet. The rooms are gorgeous, quirky but cute with the window shutters. Shower was excellent, nice and hot and powerful! Bed was really big and comfortable although it was two singles pushed together. The pillows were quite firm, I prefer feather pillows.

The staff were helpful when we couldn't get the hair dryer to work and sent one up promptly. The staff at breakfast were lovely and helpful, chatting away as you sit down. There was a good selection at breakfast - yoghurts, cereals, breads, meats, cheese, pasteries and scrambled eggs. Breakfast is served until 12pm! I loved this, a lot of hotels only serve until 10am which means rushing about in the morning when you've had a late one the night before! This meant we could lie in until 10, get ready, head down for breakfast then straight out to town. Thank you Room Mate Luca, if only every hotel did this!

The seating area downstairs is lovely, so nicely decorated and lots of space although we didn't use it. The hotel also provides free wifi and there are English speaking channels for when you want to relax in between a day out and evening out!

I would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lauraandjake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luca A, Responsabile reception at Room Mate Luca, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear Laura,

Room Mate Luca, like any other Room Mate around tyhe world, wishes to be the perfect "friend" you can visit in every city. A friend would always help you like our staff did with you, he would always welcome you in a nice place like the one we gave you through the niccely decorated rooms and shared areas, he would allow you to to have breakfast until late time, he would be in the perfect location... Well, we understand that you really enjoyed staying with a "friend" in Florece.

We really hope to see you again soon. Greetings,

Luca Albonetti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

I was in Florence with my 17 year old daughter (Salvatore e Lia) for a week holiday, beautiful experience! And not only because of the city itself, but also thanks to the amazing service we received at this hotel. Everything about Room Mate Luca is outstanding, excellent service, magnificent location (you are within minutes from major sightseeings attractions, train station and a variety of mouth watering traditional osterie o trattorie, very professional and genuinely welcoming staff! Clean, functional, large room, and although on the top floor (as requested) on the road side, surprisingly quite! A special thaks to Silvia and Alessandra for their amazing support and patience, always ready to help with a smile. We will definitely be back. Highly reccommended!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Salvi0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winterthur, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 December 2013

The staff was awesomely friendly and helpful for any kind of questions or issued. Rooms and bath were very clean although some shelf more and a soap holder or similar wouldn't hurt in the bath. Breakfast was enough for people that live the "italian" breakfast (cappuccino e brioche) but in general probably not quite as big of a variety as in other 4 star hotels. It's location close to the city center and the main train station was just perfect for a trip of a few days.
Over all a very good hotel worth definitely the money and will be back again when i hit Florence the next time.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michele S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 December 2013

All staff at the hotel where so helpful and friendly we could not fault them. Some House keeping can be better but it was a joy to find Adrianna, Luka, Gabriel, Adrian every time we got back to the hotel. I hope I got the name right but you know yourselves thank you for the useful tips and for making Florence's birthday such a success
Rose,

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoseNyarangi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary,AB
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We booked three nights at Room Mate Luca mid November - very nice - happy with our stay and the room - the staff at the front desk were all great - Silvia helped us book a Tuscan countryside tour and wine tasting - breakfast was included - great selection of "American style" if you preferred or European style breakfast. We arrived on the weekend so it was a little bit busier, but then it was quiet after Monday - the room was nice - very large, bed was comfy - and the room opened into a back area that was a rooftop where so cats hung out and harassed some pigeons....beware - there can still be mosquitoes in November in Italy...we didn't know - they loved my husband but didn't care for me...lucky cause he had about 25 bites! If I had known the hotel would have provided us with something to keep them at bay - when we checked out they were so apologetic and felt bad because they could have helped. This hotel is in a great location for getting around Firenze and is a 10 minute walk from the train station! There were lots of restaurants around the area and nice stores - not far from Santa Croce or Academia - I would definitely recommend this hotel and stay here again if I get the chance to return!

Room Tip: Our room was located at the back of the hotel not a street room - it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CalgaryTraveler07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

This hotel is different in a very positive way: Very nice design, old building fully renovated with cheerful colors. The staff is extremely friendly. I don't know what the staff has been eating but I have never seen so much hospitality in a hotel! I took the cheapest single room: The little room is nice .Colors and design are very nice. The bed is good. The bathroom is small but clean. The shower is very small as also the sink. There is enough light and atmosphere in the room and place to store the bags and the clothes. Further a small television, a safe and a minifridge. A bit annoying is the noise of the neighbors: When they use the shower I can hear too much especially when my neighboor hits the walls (because the showers are very small). The breakfast is basic plus and included in the price: Toast, bread, cheese, hamm, (instant) juices, egg, warm eggs, coffee machine (just to survive), yoghurt, fresh bananas, kiwi, oranges. Again the staff is always willing to help. The neighborhood is good and the hotel is 10 minutes walking from the trainstation and the city center (the catherdral). I also like their reservation system: clear prices, the more nights you stay, the lower the price per night, no prepayments and cancelations possible untill 2 days before! I will definitely go back here again!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fly538
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luca A, Responsabile reception at Room Mate Luca, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Visitor,

thank you so much for your kind words! We are glad you have felt what the Room Mate experience is: a comfortable and pleasurable stay in a friendly environement. We have shared your comment with the whole staff because nothig can make us happier than your feedback: you felt welcomed, in a nice atmosphere and that was thanks to the great people of the team.

We look forward to welcoming you again in another Room Mate "friend" that you can find around the world.

Best regards,

Luca Albonetti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#44 of 412 in Florence
2,088 reviews
Duomo
Room Mate Isabella
Room Mate Isabella
#41 of 412 in Florence
465 reviews
Orcagna Hotel
#36 of 412 in Florence
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#31 of 412 in Florence
2,303 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#25 of 412 in Florence
1,945 reviews
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#55 of 412 in Florence
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Room Mate Luca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room Mate Luca

Property: Room Mate Luca
Address: Via Ventisette Aprile 3, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Florence
#32 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#32 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#62 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Room Mate Luca 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Room Mate Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Room Mate Luca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carolus Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing