We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely nice staff, cool design hotel”
Review of Room Mate Luca

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Room Mate Luca
Ranked #42 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 March 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at this location for three nights. The reasons I booked this hotel is that I had read an article in a magazine about this new Spanish chain and its founders and really wanted to try one of their hotels.
I booked through a third party website at a very good rate.
The hotel is to the north of the main sights, which are easily reached on foot in less than 15 minutes. It is also conveniently located near good eateries and the Centrale market which offers excellent Tuscan treats. It is also just a 10 minutes walk from the main train station.
The reception staff were all exceptionally welcoming and our room was ready (1 PM).
The decor in the lobby is very colourful and cool and seems to have been newly renovated.
We were on the 1st floor, facing the main street.
The room was a bit dark and small, though the high ceiling managed to not make it too claustrophobic. The wallpaper and the bed looked very chic and seemed new. The bathroom was nothing special but very clean.
The bed was very (too) soft and was actually two beds put together, so if you tried getting too close to your partner you would sink in the middle.
The a/c didn't seem to work but I think they deactivate it at this time of the year, and because the room was right in the main street opening the window was out of the question as it could get noisy.
Breakfast was buffet-style and not very good. The first morning our coffees were prepared by the waiters, and were good. However the next two days we were directed to a coffee machine which had awful coffees. The juices were equally as bad (there was even some sort of syrup at the bottom of the glass) and the pastries on the last day were stale.
So overall I feel I got what I paid for and was in general satisfied and would recommend this hotel if the orice is good.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sbercher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,167)
There are newer reviews for Room Mate Luca
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

402 - 408 of 1,167 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2014

After my stay in Rome, this hotel is such a delight. Reasonable in price, great staff and beautiful colours! The bed were really comfy and location was just a stone's throw away from Duomo. In fact, it's within walking distance to all the interesting sights.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KittyCatSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

The decor and attention to detail in this hotel is perfect. Nothing is too much trouble, the staff are friendly and helped with some very good restaurant choices.
The rooms are delightful , window shutters and bold colours. The public rooms are wonderful, hardly used , which is a shame, but everyone is out exploring Florence. If I return to beautiful Florence, and I hope I do, this is the place for me!

Room Tip: Higher floor and look over the roofs of Florence.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carmeltravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luca A, Responsabile reception at Room Mate Luca, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for leaving the comment about your stay here: we are very glad to see that Room Mate Luca is the place for you! Actually, as Room Mate wants to provide people with special friends in all the cities where we are, we can say that "Luca" has became the "friend" for you in Florence. And friends cares for all details...

We look forward to welcoming you again soon, then. Our dearest regards,

Luca Albonetti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

I stayed at the Mate Luca for 2 days on a business trip to Florence. The hotel is only a 15 minute walk from Santa Maria Novella train station and about 10 minutes to the Duomo, 10 minutes from there and you're on the Arno. Great amenities including a free breakfast spread that stays open far longer than most hotels. The staff were incredible and always quick to make recommendations about great local spots to check out. Would highly recommend to all.

Room Tip: Keep your keycard away from your phone :)
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mosh229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luca A, Responsabile reception at Room Mate Luca, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Room Mate Luca would like to let you know that he is very glad to give you an excellent stay for your business trip.

The location combines the functional and comfortable aspects: next to the main train station and in the city centre. Our buffet breakfast is open every day until 12:00 pm, so there is no need to rush if you wish to sleep a little more. The Staff always strive for giving the best service, with authentic recommendations and willing to smile.

We hope to welcome you again soon here and thank you for your kindness.

Greetings,

Luca Albonetti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Great stay in Florence. Easy walking to all the sites - 10 minutes from main station, 10 mins to Duomo etc.

The staff were all so lovely and very accommodating and eager to help.

The breakfast was great, and on our day of departure they allowed us to start earlier in order to make our train- very much appreciated.

The decor of the hotel is great, very bright and colourful and quite modern.

I had a minor issue with the shower in our room but realised it was a user error (doh!) which contributed to flooding the whole bathroom...once I was shown what to do we never had this issue again.

Room Tip: We had the corner room in the main picture and it was pretty big and very clean. Had beautiful views...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SelinaAu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luca A, Responsabile reception at Room Mate Luca, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Dear Selina,

what some wonderful words! Location, staff, breakfast, decor... we are so happy that everything was up to the top of your expectations and Room Mate Luca is part of your memories of Florence.

Room Mate hopes to see you in any other ciity around the world where you can find them!

Best regards,

Luca Albonetti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights and were very happy with our stay.

The location is great. The hotel is only a 10-15 minute walk from the train station and 10 minute walk from the main Duomo piazza and main shops etc. There are also a few restaurants/bars very close and the Accademia gallery is only a 5 minute walk.

Our room was on the second floor looking out onto the road and was quite noisy. We live on a very quiet road usually so the buses took a little getting used to. The room was lovely though - very big and clean.

All in all a great hotel and very good value for money. Would recommend to anyone looking for a good hotel in Florence that is close to the centre and good value but maybe try to get a room at the back of the hotel.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank lizzylillington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luca A, Responsabile reception at Room Mate Luca, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Dear Lizzy,

thank you so much for taking your time to write this nice comment.

We are very happy that your stay with "Luca" was satisfying: actually, the location of the hotel is strategic for visiting the city and, as you say, the nice decor of the rooms gives an original touch to comfort. We thank you also for the suggestion you have made: we wish to improve every day and your opinion is very important to help you in this matter.

We trust on surprising you much more the next time you will come and visit us. Kindest regards,

Luca Albonetti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

I have been in this hotel for a business trip. The hotel is walking distance from Railway station Santa Maria Novella and 10 minutes walking distance from the Duomo square in Florence. It is pefect for both business trip and holidays in Florence. The room was very clean and confortable, with free very fast wifi connection. The breakafast was regular continental one and the personnel very polite. The position is fantastci even if quite problematic to be reached by car due to the traffic restriction in downtown Florence. However the hotel has an agreement (to be booked before your arrival) with a private parking that they collect your car and park it, cancelling any fine and penalties you can get driving to the hotel. The ratio between quality and piad price is more than excellent: to pay for an hotel like this in downtown Florence below 80 Euro per night is a miracle!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobyRamone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luca A, Responsabile reception at Room Mate Luca, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Dear Roby,

thank you so much for the fantastic words you have used to comment your stay with us and with "Luca". As you underline, the location in perfect: we are in the very centre of the town and, still, very close to the main fair ground and this make both tourism and a business trip something functional and pleasurable. Room Mate wishes to provide travellers with ideal "friends" and it is so nice to see that, in this case, this ideal friend has turned into a true one for your days here.

We cannot wait to see you again here. Best regards,

Luca Albonetti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#41 of 411 in Florence
2,129 reviews
Orcagna Hotel
#39 of 411 in Florence
800 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#25 of 411 in Florence
1,970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Wellness Hotel
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#30 of 411 in Florence
2,333 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Casci
Hotel Casci
#43 of 411 in Florence
2,756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Room Mate Luca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room Mate Luca

Address: Via Ventisette Aprile 3, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Florence
#32 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#32 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#62 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £87 - £252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Room Mate Luca 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Room Mate Hotels, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Room Mate Luca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carolus Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing