We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of Room Mate Luca

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Room Mate Luca
Ranked #46 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great stay”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Great location. Close to all the preferred travel sites. Friendly staff . Had a very nice view of Florence and the Duomo. Easy walking around these parts and extremely peaceful at night. Hope to return really soon.

Craig M

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 806CraigM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    713
    345
    57
    8
    7
See reviews for
139
650
76
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2014

My husband and I just got back from our Italy trip and we loved staying in Room Mate Luca. Out of all of the hotels we stayed in around Italy Room Mate Luca had the best breakfast. They served fruit, pastries, eggs, ham, etc. We were very excited to walk into our room and feel a good air conditioner. Many hotels we stayed at were extremely hot, even with the air on! The location was good. We were able to walk to almost all the main attractions such as the market, the duomo, the Accademia Gallery, etc. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton, UK
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This hotel is one of the finest I have ever stayed in, fantastic value in an awesome city which I will return to one day and hopefully at the Room Mate Luca.

We were checked in by a lovely welcoming lady who provided us with a free map of the city and marked it with essential landmarks such as bus stops and recommended restaurants.
The room was awesome, brilliantly decorated and nice and cool at the height of summer. The bathroom was huge with a large collection of free quality toiletries and the free Wi-Fi was fast and reliable. Our room on the third floor offered great panoramic views of the Tuscan hills.

The breakfasts were excellent, not only did it provide the usual continental range but also American/English cooked food such as scrambled eggs, bacon and sausages.

As you may already be aware, Florence is such a small city that the hotel walk-able from all the main attractions and the train station, we printed of a Google map which was very accurate and got us there in about ten minutes.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mackyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We stayed in a double room from 17th July, and the service was exceptional. The lady on reception could not have been more helpful, as were the rest of the team - booking trips and museum tickets, remembering our names and helping us find a missing sunglass case! The room was a good size, and the wonderful air-conditioner provided a fantastic escape from the scorching Florentine sun. Handy for the train station, although Florence is generally easy to navigate. My only negative was the shower, which was a bit crazy.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We arrived by car with navigation, found it immediately, took us 2 minutes to check-in. Asked for the best parking close-by, and the lady told me they work with a private valet parking company. 26 euro's a day. They park your car and pick it up whenever you need it. Lovely.
Room 216 on the front side of the hotel was our room. A bit noisy because of the traffic in front of the hotel, but that didn't bother us at all. Overall, very clean hotel, rooms a bit small, but everything perfectly in order. Only 'bad' things were the shower didn't drain properly, and the curtains aren't dark, so in the morning you wake up early because of the light (and then falling a sleep again is difficult because of traffic).
10min walk to shopping area and sightseeing. If I would come back to Florence I would book it again!

Room Tip: some reviewers say a room in the back of the hotel, we were in room 216, on the frontside, so light...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
57 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Rooms are cute and clean, staff were kind and helpful, and the location is ideal (close to train stations and sightseeing). Only downside is air conditioning controls do not allow for keeping the fan setting on - the clicking off and on throughout the night always equate to a poor nights sleep for me.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Very impressive. The hotel is easy to find and centrally located, less then 15 minutes walk from train station and many tourist sites in city. We arrived at the hotel at 12:30 and we were able to check-in into Room 109 right away. The room is located on the 1st floor and has a view on the courtyard which means that is was very quiet at night, although there wasn`t much of a view. The room was a decent side with a large, very comfortable bed, had all the required amenities and was very tastefully decorated (much like the rest of the hotel). The bathroom was quite large for European standards, and it was very - very clean. As an added bonus, the towels, soap and shampoo were of high quality, comparable to high end hotels. The staff were nice throughout and were very helpful in providing us with the normal tourist info requirements. We didn`t have the complimentary breakfast as we had to leave at 0630 and it service starts at 0730 but they offered us a boxed breakfast. Check-out was efficient and the staff ordered us a taxi which was there in 5 minutes.

Room Tip: Room on courtyard very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gerard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Room Mate Isabella
Room Mate Isabella
#43 of 411 in Florence
461 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#47 of 411 in Florence
2,056 reviews
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#56 of 411 in Florence
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel San Gallo Palace
Hotel San Gallo Palace
#55 of 411 in Florence
2,154 reviews
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#31 of 411 in Florence
2,287 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#25 of 411 in Florence
1,920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Room Mate Luca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room Mate Luca

Property: Room Mate Luca
Address: Via Ventisette Aprile 3, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Florence
#32 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#33 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#62 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Room Mate Luca 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Room Mate Luca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carolus Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing