We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good situation for sightseeing.”
Review of Hotel La Gioconda

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel La Gioconda
Ranked #380 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed 5 October 2012

Hotel is short walk from station and within easy reah of all tourist spots .Our two night stay was booked by a travel companyand was not my chosen hotel ( no lift!) I emailed hotel to say my sister was 77 and was worried about having no lift! Prompt reply and got room on first floor.When we arrived early morning we were able to leave luggage and when we returned it was already in our room. OK, room was not best 3*,but it had all we needed. However, the decor is plain and in need of refreshing! But staff all friendly and helpful. Lent me an iphone charger when my mine would not work. Staff gave us useful tips and a town map. We slept like logs. May not be the best hotel, but it met our needs for our short stay. Breakfast was ok too and there was plenty to keep us going.
I note that some other reviewers say staff not helpful, but sometimes 'it takes two' and it can depend on one's own manner and approach.

Room Tip: Pay a bit more for the first floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redcar1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (425)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

51 - 57 of 425 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2012

The location was the best feature of this hotel (bus station, many sites). Also my wife's and my calves are stronger for climbing several flights of stairs everytime we wanted to go to our room between site seeing (lots, and lots of spiral stairs - no elevator in a six story hotel!) No gym or swimming pool in the hotel, but I would do my cardio by jogging from 0630 until 0800 around Florence, so only strength training was lacking (note jog early as sleeping

Drawback to being located so close to everything was the noise factor. Could constantly hear the crowds below until all hours of the night/morning as it was a major throughfare being so close to train/bus station and the sites.

Breakfast was very simple and the best part was the coffee. Otherwise food was bare minimum (some pastries, either one type of meat (salami or ham slices), or plastic wrapped american cheese slices, but never both on the same day! Cereal was stale. I've had better breakfasts at cheaper hotels (to call it a buffet is a stretch). We weren't expecting much as location was our primary goal but we actually skipped the breakfast near the end of our trip so we could eat brunch elsewhere.

The staff was friendly, though. We will look elsewhere and recommend the same for our friends.

Room Tip: There are very few rooms per floor (we were in 16 and it was several flights up the stairs). Try to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Collis68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank George T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 12 July 2012

It is a very good location with a lot of shops and restaurants. It is also very close to the central station and easy to go around. The hotel is clean and quiet, but the air conditioner is not in the correct position, therefore, the room is not cold as it should be.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Yaping P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

The only good thing about this hotel is its location. Close to the train station and major sites. However, this is a six(6) story hotel. The tiny lobby is on the ground floor. Rented rooms start on Floor 1 and go up to Floor 5. THERE IS NO ELEVATOR. You must carry your luggage up a spiraling staircase to your floor. There are no porters. Having arrived with a fractured ankle made it even worse.

The staff was curt and rude.

I would think twice about staying here.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anthony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

When we first checked into the hotel, we were a little worried because it did seem a little run-down. They held our luggage for us and we put it into a dark dirty storage closet and were a little bit scared to leave it!
Once we got into our room, we discovered that the rooms were very nicely kept. True, the bathroom and shower area were small and old, but they suited our needs. The bed was really comfortable and the air conditioning worked great. It was quiet and relaxing.
We had no issues with the staff. The desk staff and the cleaning crew were all very friendly and helpful. I really liked the sweet lady who kept our room for us. And the little dog at the front desk (Peggy) was more than happy to pose for pictures! :-)
The breakfast wasn't great. Not many choices, but the coffee was passable. Also, be prepared to climb A LOT of stairs. The staircase is long, there is no lift, and there are no bellmen. It was a long climb to the third floor when lugging 100 pounds of suitcase!

Room Tip: If you have a problem with stairs, ask for the lowest floor possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juli143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

The only good thing I can say about this hotel is that it is in a good position. Staff unfriendly some rude, breakfast was minimal room was so awful we stayed out as much as possible. Bathroom was disgusting. The bedlinen was clean, but not changed for three nights, but I suppose that is acceptable considering it is a low budget hotel. would certainly not stay there again or recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hilton Florence Metropole
#152 of 411 in Florence
2,088 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#23 of 411 in Florence
2,919 reviews
Hotel David
#1 of 411 in Florence
3,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
#52 of 411 in Florence
1,468 reviews
San Lorenzo
Plus Florence
Plus Florence
#14 of 332 in Florence
2,602 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#39 of 411 in Florence
2,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Gioconda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Gioconda

Address: Via Panzani 2, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #380 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Gioconda 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the historic heart of Florence, at a few steps from the Duomo and from Santa Maria Novella, at 3 minutes from elegant Via Tornabuoni and San Lorenzo, the refined and historic rooms of Hotel La Gioconda welcome guests with typical Florentine friendliness but also with very modern comforts and impeccable services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel La Gioconda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Gioconda Hotel
La Gioconda Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing