We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, very average breakfast!”
Review of Hotel La Gioconda

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel La Gioconda
Ranked #389 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
219 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Good location, very average breakfast!”
Reviewed 4 July 2013 via mobile

We landed up here by chance via a website that didn't tell us the hotel name before we booked. However this hotel was so central, almost right next to the duomo! The breakfast wasn't very good and it seemed that everything including the cereal was terrible quality. However the rooms were very clean and spacious and the staff very friendly and helpful. The only downside was that we had to carry our heavy bags up the stairs as there was no lift, one had to pay for the wifi and the parking in the garage cost EUR25 a night which could get very pricey during a long stay. I would, however, probably stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsten Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    47
    103
    110
    147
See reviews for
67
221
7
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nanuet, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013 via mobile

First of all, it's a mistake to use the stars a hotel has as a guide. They don't seem to indicate much other than what comes with the hotel. As for this three star hotel, it doesn't live up. Our room had a slight vinegar smell and the air conditioner was pretty loud. Plus, the room just felt dirty. Our queen bed was two old twins put together. The sheets were rough so sleeping was somewhat difficult. The included breakfast was disappointing considering it did not include coffee or espresso, those were extra. I won't complain about there not being an elevator since I can carry a bag, but anyone with a handicap would have great difficulty. Oh, and WiFi isn't free as well.
The only redeeming quality is that it is right by the duomo. Aside from that I would not recommend.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JPhoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Florence hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kastoria, Greece
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

The biggest advantage of the hotel is its location - 2 minutes by foot from Duomo -
Otherwise is not very worthable. Rather poor breakfast, average rooms, average cleanness, expensive wifi, no elevator. Also when we arrived, the first thing the receptionist told us as a welcome, was to pay the 3euro local tax per day - not very polite-.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nico4gr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbados
Level Contributor
277 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013 via mobile

Given its central location this hotel is competitively priced - but it shows. Rooms are quite basic, we went for the 'romantic' package but the basket was average, and the air conditioning unit was so old and loud I couldn't use it and has a dreadful nights sleep. After complaining about three times we eventually got moved rooms. No elevator so hope you aren't up on one of the top floors.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Haribo09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
1,335 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 520 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2013

Stayed here 3 nights. Thankfully not more. On a very small positive note, it is only 10 minutes direct walk from the main train station. But you would pass at least 50 hotels to get there. It is close to the Duomo.

Right. We booked directly with the hotel on their own website vs. using an internet booking service - it was the same price and we thought if they weren't paying massive commissions we might be treated well. We specifically asked for a first floor room due to a recent leg injury. Be warned, even the first floor is almost 30 stairs. The hotel is old. It is frumpy. It gives the impression of tiredness and dirt. Our room was decorated with plastic wood furniture and the carpet was so old we wished for bedroom slippers. The bathroom was old, the shower was poky (for any ladies over an English size 16 - don't bother going). For the first night and the following morning the water in the shower was barely lukewarm. We were too tired to bother hiking downstairs to complain. When we returned from our first day's sightseeing the room was not made up and we had to request fresh towels and essentially show the evening manager the room as he couldn't believe it hadn't been done. Breakfast was very average. Sugary cereals, no eggs, lots of cake and biscuits and somedays some plastic wrap cheese. The morning following the housekeeping debacle we specifically complained to two women we understand to be management. Sorry about the housekeeping - she forgot was their response. I complained then about the water. Apparently I should have let it run longer. (I almost had hypothermia standing in the freezing bathroom of Room 3 on the first floor as I waited for 15 minutes). I asked for some free wifi as compensation - it's Euro 9 (nine!) per hour otherwise. No luck there as I had a very good rate and I should have had one of the rooms on level 3 for that rate, but they had provided a level 1 room out of the goodness of their hearts. Apparently. It is also right on the main road and the windows/curtains and shutters barely block on the noise of nightly revellers. Stay there at your peril and be aware that if you book a good rate on the internet or even direct with the hotel, then in their eyes good rate = rubbish room and if anything goes wrong it's very probably your fault.

Room Tip: Avoid hotel entirely. Specifically Room 3 on Level 3. Though you could use the bathroom as a fridge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JnVSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
182 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2012

We made a hotel reservation via internet in the 3 star hotel La Gioconda in Florence. In the WEB the hotel is described as: “ a hotel with historic ambience and one of the best of its category in Florence. A modern hotel and refined which receives its guests in elegant and nicely decorated rooms. A hotel with an exceptional service.”
Unfortunately this description is completely false.
At the check in in the little reception area at the entrance (there is no reception hall) we handed in the voucher of the travel agency and received a room (number 18) in the second floor. To start with there is no elevator. The room was extremely small, cold (it appeared the heating did not work, without extra blankets available etc. A room which was definitely not a room of a 3 star hotel. I do not think it deserved even 1 star.
When we asked to change the room, the answer was that the “superior” rooms (which I assumed are rooms of the category of a three star hotel) are only available for direct hotel reservations. At this point the receptionist was already annoyed about our insistence and was very impolite. We asked to speak to the manager. But he was not available. I asked for a complaint form to fill out. It was not available or I was rather ignored. I asked for the name of the receptionist but to my surprise he did not want to give me his name. At that point in order to avoid more unpleasantries we decided to leave the establishment and think about alternatives. As something like that never happened to us we were understandably very upset.
When we came back to pick up our luggage to our surprise the manager was now all of a sudden available and wanted to talk to us on the phone. After I explained to her what happened I made it very clear that after the unacceptable treatment received we did not see us capable to stay in this hotel, that I wanted to file an official complaint and that I wanted our voucher back. All of which was denied by her and to my surprise she as well was not willing to give me her name as well. The hotel is a nightmare. Do not book there. The only good thing it has is loacation. But there are plenty decent hotels with good location and friendy as we found out.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel. If you can, insist in a room in the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bernd_Wand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2012

This hotel has nothing to recommend it. NO lift, we had to drag our heavy bags up 3 flights of stairs. Room okay but shabby. Bathroom okay, but shower stall had mould on ceiling and peeling paint - yuk. The breakfast room was shabby and the breakfast was awful. We even had to pay for wifi, which a lot of other places have for free.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Balcony
Hotel Balcony
#95 of 422 in Florence
734 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Giappone
Hotel Giappone
#270 of 422 in Florence
91 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Abaco
Hotel Abaco
#236 of 422 in Florence
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Delle Tele
Hotel Delle Tele
#220 of 422 in Florence
364 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Romagna
Hotel Romagna
#225 of 422 in Florence
376 reviews
San Marco
Hotel San Gallo Palace
Hotel San Gallo Palace
#56 of 422 in Florence
2,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Gioconda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Gioconda

Property: Hotel La Gioconda
Address: Via Panzani 2, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #389 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Gioconda 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the historic heart of Florence, at a few steps from the Duomo and from Santa Maria Novella, at 3 minutes from elegant Via Tornabuoni and San Lorenzo, the refined and historic rooms of Hotel La Gioconda welcome guests with typical Florentine friendliness but also with very modern comforts and impeccable services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel La Gioconda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Gioconda Hotel
La Gioconda Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing