We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderfull”
Review of Hotel Abaco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Abaco
Ranked #240 of 422 Hotels in Florence
illinois
1 review
“wonderfull”
Reviewed 13 March 2012

I have really had a very good experience in hotel abaco, its rooms well furnished and the staff very helpful and the service , the breakfast was simple but the fact that it is included in the price was very convenient, the clients are allowed to use the breakfast room to eat there, I stayed there one week and it was very expensive to have lunch and dinner in the restaurants, so buying food and eat it in the breakfast room of the hotel was something extra of the services that the hotel offering...

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank favian b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    56
    28
    12
    8
See reviews for
21
68
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

Initial impressions were ok: didn't expect much and was rather pleasantly surprised. 50 euro per night for a double room small and a bit kitch but adequate. Things turned sour upon payment of the bill when the staff insisted that I pay for the previos night ( I had already paid upon arrival but was not issued a receipt). After a lot of drama I paid for the disputed night again so as to avoid finding a last minute replacement room ( that would probably have cost more anyway). Moral of the story: Always get a receipt and don't stay here if you can avoid it. Happy travels

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rory3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico
Level Contributor
92 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

We read a recommendation in Rick Steve's guide book and took 2 rooms here Sept 2011. What a bummer, from the 4 flights up steep, winding stairs to the surly desk clerk our troubles began. Mosquitos and traffic noise filled the room and the fan did not work. Broken light in the shower. Toilet was way down the hall past where everyone was sitting for breakfast about 3 feet from our door. Tough to just go take a pee first thing. We decided not to stay again on our way back through and we were told they have a 3 week cancellation policy and would charge us. No other hotel in town has a 3 week notice. We found many more places in Florence for less $ in equal or better locations.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2Mayto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2011

Rooms are clean, albeit a bit dingy. We were in the michelangelo room with private bath. Toilet occassionally let sewer gas out, so a bit smelly at times. Rooms had AC and soundproofing windows. Meager breakfast, but passable. Don't take one of the 5 rooms that open to the dining area (rooms 1-5) or you will be woken at 7:30 or so.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fishers-rock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights during our recent stay in Florence, this was the cheapest place we stayed at during our holiday in Italy and for good reason. It's hard to complain when you're only paying 65 a night for a double, but there are many things that need addressing in this place. The 'shared bathroom' contains one toilet, a broken washing machine and one of those "floor showers" - would have expected more than one bathroom for a place with 7 rooms plus the hot water ran out if there were too many guests. Our room backed onto the 'breakfast area' which barely contained enough space for all the guests to sit in the morning and meant breakfast had to be taken in shifts. The breakfast was very average and included a pre-wrapped hamburger bun with butter (although since it was included in the 65 a night cost again, hard to complain) The rooms had little insulation and we were woken each morning by everyone in the breakfast area talking. Our air con wasn't working and couldn't be fixed for a few days so we had the option of putting up with the heat or having the windows open and putting up with the mosquitos and road noise. The upside was the location. Wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NomadicKiwi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2010

This was a convienient and fun place to stay on our stop in Florence.

We stayed in the blue, Michelangelo themed room and thought it was a wonderful experience. This is a very large room with it's own bathroom. It is worth the extra money.

I liked the fact that we didn't have far to walk from the train station with our luggage. Sure the steps can seem daunting, but it also means privacy and quietness! Consider it a warm-up practice for climbing the 350 + steps to the top of the Duomo. You Must Do It!!

Walking distance to the historic Duomo and surrounding piazzos. Great wine shop just below for the champagne!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rekabecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2010

We started and ended in Firenze our 3 weeks September/October round trip to Italy. Found Abaco hotel in our Top 10 Florence and Tuscany, Swedish ed. 2009.
It said under Low cost findings "a real pearl between cathedral and the station".
Indeed from the railway station it takes 10 minutes and to Duomo 5 minutes!

We liked this little hotel from the very beginning. Friendly, helpful hosts. Like Aurora we met every morning finding time for a small chat in my poor Italian.
No elevator but climbing up the high second floor in 16th century house was worth it. Nice baroque home furnishing, really high, beamed ceilings. Our room decorated after Michelangelo (painting Doni Madonna we actually found at Uffizi). Near to all we wanted to see, no need for a bus during 4 (September) plus 3 (October) days stay. When lost we could always find to Duomo, then few hundred meters to our hotel.
For the prize the stay was perfect. We decided to return to Abaco for our last 3 days in Italy getting a good deal too.
Anna, Andrzej from Stockholm, Sverige

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaAndAndrzej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Albergo Sonia
#293 of 422 in Florence
143 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#283 of 422 in Florence
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
B&B Hotel Firenze Novoli
#189 of 422 in Florence
627 reviews
Careggi
#185 of 422 in Florence
338 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Monica
Hotel Monica
#250 of 422 in Florence
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Abaco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abaco

Property: Hotel Abaco
Address: Via Dei Banchi 1, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#41 Best Value Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Abaco 1*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Abaco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abaco Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing