We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room, good location”
Review of Hotel Abaco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Abaco
Ranked #237 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed 9 December 2012

We stayed here based on a recommendation on Reid's Italy and were quite happy with it. We were in the Rafael room which was small but perfectly acceptable compared to most European hotels, and importantly has its own bathroom which not all rooms do.
The location was great, if I poked my head out the window I could see the Duomo which was only a 5 minute walk away on the same street. I would stay here again when in Florence.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank ExistenceOfChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (159)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 159 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2012

This hotel has an excellent location to discover the highlights of Florence. The owner and his staff are very friendly and helpful! The rooms are cleaned every day. The room "Michelangelo" is the most beautiful, then "Botticelli" and "Raffaello". I return every year!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DionnevB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012 via mobile

The staf is not that great, they tried to change the price that we established in an email a few days urlyer..
But for a final price off 45eur for a doble room whith internet, tv, private bathroom, and breakfast its was actually quite nice.

1  Thank Celso_aat
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 25 May 2012

Room: The room was big and beautiful! There was free wifi as well. The only downside is they don't clean the room efficiently nor change the towels! Also, there were only 2 towels available for 3 guests. There were also mosquitoes around. There's a fan and a/c as well but it gets cold during the night.

Location: very close to S.M. Novella and Cathedral. There are also many shops, restaurants, gelato and money-exchangers around.

This hotel is located on the 3rd floor of an old building which means...no lifts! Not recommended for old, lazy, handicapped people.

Breakfast was poor. Few breads, lots of spreads, an orange juice and coffee/hot choco (which was yummy!)

They can book tours for you which is a plus!

The conceirge is not available at night but you can call them using the phone in your room. Junko and the other guy at the conceirge were helpful though.

Room Tip: Michaelangelo room :) 2 twin beds, 1 pull-out bed and 1 king/queen sized bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clarence B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

I have really had a very good experience in hotel abaco, its rooms well furnished and the staff very helpful and the service , the breakfast was simple but the fact that it is included in the price was very convenient, the clients are allowed to use the breakfast room to eat there, I stayed there one week and it was very expensive to have lunch and dinner in the restaurants, so buying food and eat it in the breakfast room of the hotel was something extra of the services that the hotel offering...

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank favian b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

Initial impressions were ok: didn't expect much and was rather pleasantly surprised. 50 euro per night for a double room small and a bit kitch but adequate. Things turned sour upon payment of the bill when the staff insisted that I pay for the previos night ( I had already paid upon arrival but was not issued a receipt). After a lot of drama I paid for the disputed night again so as to avoid finding a last minute replacement room ( that would probably have cost more anyway). Moral of the story: Always get a receipt and don't stay here if you can avoid it. Happy travels

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rory3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

We read a recommendation in Rick Steve's guide book and took 2 rooms here Sept 2011. What a bummer, from the 4 flights up steep, winding stairs to the surly desk clerk our troubles began. Mosquitos and traffic noise filled the room and the fan did not work. Broken light in the shower. Toilet was way down the hall past where everyone was sitting for breakfast about 3 feet from our door. Tough to just go take a pee first thing. We decided not to stay again on our way back through and we were told they have a 3 week cancellation policy and would charge us. No other hotel in town has a 3 week notice. We found many more places in Florence for less $ in equal or better locations.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RanchoSolYMar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Monica
Hotel Monica
#239 of 410 in Florence
225 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Fiorita
Hotel Fiorita
#98 of 410 in Florence
910 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Bavaria
Hotel Bavaria
#170 of 410 in Florence
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Scoti
Hotel Scoti
#195 of 410 in Florence
299 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Santa Croce
Hotel Santa Croce
#45 of 410 in Florence
825 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Crocini
Hotel Crocini
#96 of 410 in Florence
767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Abaco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abaco

Address: Via Dei Banchi 1, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #237 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: £45 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Abaco 1*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Abaco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abaco Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing