We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden Gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Abaco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Abaco
Ranked #250 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

Lovely little hotel just around the corner from the duomo.
Only about a ten minute walk to/from the station and 5ish to the centre of Florence.
Room was beautifully decorated in a vintage boutique-y style but the bathroom was perhaps a little too old fashioned. That said, everything worked well and was clean!
Some noise from street below despite being high up- windows are pretty old school too!
Breakfast is served just outside the rooms whenever you request it-juice, coffee, breads and pastries. Staff very friendly.
Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katherine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    55
    23
    12
    8
See reviews for
20
63
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

Hotel is located in the heart of Florence. You should avoid if your legs cannot stand the stairs because you should climb to arrive to the main door expecially with heavy luggage, by the way extremely raccomended if you want to save money, room quite clean and good breackfast, cheap price make this choice.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikegooday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
82 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013

This place was nice and charming. My main concern is that there are too many stairs if you are faint of heart or have too much luggage. The location is in the heart of the city, the rooms are nice and have themes by artists. The shower head mount broke the morning we were using it, and by the time we returned to our room later that day, it was fixed. We did not have to tell them about it.
The shower is integrated in with the sink and toilet, so be aware!
The breakfast was good, with great coffee and rolls with jam. I would recommend this to anyone that wants a pleasant Florence experience with not too much fanciness.

Room Tip: The rooms vary in what they offer, and we made sure we had one with a private bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zürich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2013

What a great find! This is a small hotel located very close to the Duomo. As others have mentioned one has to climb a few steps to reach the hotel, but it is well worth it. The rooms are lovely, lots of gilding! The room and bathroom were very clean. We stayed in the Leonardo room and had our own bathroom, which was small but sufficient. The staff were so helpful and pleasant. I can't wait to return and stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EddieRG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2012

We stayed here based on a recommendation on Reid's Italy and were quite happy with it. We were in the Rafael room which was small but perfectly acceptable compared to most European hotels, and importantly has its own bathroom which not all rooms do.
The location was great, if I poked my head out the window I could see the Duomo which was only a 5 minute walk away on the same street. I would stay here again when in Florence.

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ExistenceOfChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

This hotel has an excellent location to discover the highlights of Florence. The owner and his staff are very friendly and helpful! The rooms are cleaned every day. The room "Michelangelo" is the most beautiful, then "Botticelli" and "Raffaello". I return every year!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DionnevB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Ferretti
Hotel Ferretti
#262 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Bavaria
Hotel Bavaria
#167 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Dali
Hotel Dali
#131 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Il Bargellino
Hotel Il Bargellino
#133 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Scoti
Hotel Scoti
#198 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel San Giovanni
Hotel San Giovanni
#245 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Abaco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abaco

Property: Hotel Abaco
Address: Via Dei Banchi 1, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#38 Best Value Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Abaco 1*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, HostelWorld, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Abaco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abaco Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing