We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best choices in Florence”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Strozzi Palace Hotel
Ranked #130 of 421 Hotels in Florence
New Tehri, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of the best choices in Florence”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

I was just looking for a hotel in Florence to stay there for one night, when I came across the interesting last minute offer of Strozzi Palace Hotel. Considering the perfect location (I mean it) of the hotel I immediately booked the room for one night, but I regretted the next day why I had not booked the room for two nights when I noticed that there was no vacancy for the night after. The hotel in very well located in Florence, it is clean and the staff are polite and helpful in general. I need to mention Stefano if I am not wrong (the young man with short blond hair and glasses) who was at the front desk upon on arrival in the afternoon as well as the day after.
It is in general a very good hotel by Florence standards, where one should not be looking for large international hotels just because of the architecture of the old city center. The breakfast in the hotel is typical Italian just like other hotels in the area. Our room was relatively small, but you never stay in the room in Florence during daytime. Beds were comfortable and the bathroom was clean and large.
A tip for travelers to Italian cities like Florence: do not expect huge hotels with international breakfast buffet in old Italian cities. Everything is typically Italain, size of the room, breakfast and the hotel building. Enjoy the Italian coffee in the morning with a croissant and try the famous Fiorentina T-bone steak in Florence with a glass of good Italian wine.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Khashayar J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    266
    92
    17
    15
See reviews for
152
261
26
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
108 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

we have just returned home from a great break......firstly we would recommend florence it was beautiful. perfect food wine and weather! the hotel was spot on, couldnt of been better. the furniture and decor is slightly dated but seems to add to the style being in florence. when we checked out there was a tourist tax of 4 euros each per person per night which we wernt aware of so thats worth knowing. the only other point would be that some times the reception staff almost treat you as an interference.......they ignore you even when you are up close and the only one there. this was a shame as it shouldnt be like that, there was a nice guy with short blonde hair and glasses who was an exception to this but the others were on occasion rude. on a whole we would recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicnic03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

We spent three nights at this hotel at the end of August and found it to be comfortable and with just a short walk to the very centre of Florence. The Diablo was just a ten minute walk away and pontevecchio just a few minutes longer. We saw the majority of Florence through walking.
It took us around forty five minutes to walk up to Michelangelo, along the river, up fairly steep hills and lots of steps, but definately worth the effort. However, timings would vary on how fast you walk. Alternatively a taxi ride up to michelangelo plaza which would still be rewarded by the fabulous views of Florence.
The receptionists at the hotel were always cheerful and helpful with whatever query we happened to have and knew the area well.
The hotel had a flight of stairs up to the main lift but did have a stair lift which would be useful for those that might need it. We had a large room which was comfortable and sufficient to our needs with a very reasonably priced mini bar. Only gripe would be that the television was too small for the room, but then you don't really watch much television with the city to explore just outside. Like a lot of european hotels there were no tea/coffee facilities in the room, but we took our own which was ok.
Breakfast was a buffet sevice with tea, coffee, cereals, a variety of bread etc and lovely sweet croissants.
The near by piazzas were nice to sit and have a hot or cold drink while admiring the stunning architecture all around you, although you do pay extra for the privilege of sitting in the city centre. Take a walk up the many lanes and there is a large variety of shops and eaterys to be found, some in the most unexpected of places.
A small hotel but a perfect base in which to start you city tour.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Family66Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at this very centrally located hotel. On arrival we were upgraded to a superior room which was a lovely surprise. The room was large light and airy with a huge comfortable bed. The decor was in keeping with the character of the hotel and city. The ensuite was again large and had a jacuzzi bath which was lovely to relax in after a hard day sight seeing in the wonderful city. Generally the hotel was spotlessly clean and staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was typical continental fair and therefore adequate. Being British it would have been nice to have had a cooked breakfast option but there again as the say.ing goes "when in Rome" or in the case Florence. Tea and coffee making facilities in the bedroom would also have been nice, however overall it was a very enjoyable stay and we would certainly recommend it. Thank you.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Njgt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

Stayed here Sep 4 thru to Sep 9, 2013. Room was EXCELLENT! Very spacious and clean with working Air conditioning. Bathroom was good - able to move around easily. Staff - very friendly & helpful - no matter what time of day or night. Good location, but Florence is so small, anywhere is a good location. Most reasonable mini bar prices I have ever seen in a Hotel. A must revisit when I return!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 33 - very spacious - no particular view however.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frank N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

The hotel is very centrally located - that's about all there is that is positive.

Everything about the hotel looks and feels old. There is a musty smell near the entrance, the carpeting feels old, the blankets do not feel clean.

The reception is on the 1st floor - you have to walk at least 1 flight of stairs to get to the elevator. The elevator is tiny (made for 3 people), and has an annoying setting to stop at reception on the way up and down.

Hotel seems understaffed - the lady at reception was helping us with our bags (where's the porter in a 4 star hotel?).

Our triple room was large (US large, not European large). The air conditioning was loud, the third bed was beyond horrible (3" mattress on a metal mesh, sleeping on the floor was more comfortable).

I called to find out about registering the car for entry into ZTL (the hotel is in ZTL) - was told the "garage" handles this. What I wasn't told, is that there is major construction blocking one of the two roads leading to the hotel - spent about 25 minutes figuring out how to get to the hotel on the narrow one way streets.

Not a good experience, and not a four star hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zheka212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

Appart from the horrid smell as you enter the hotel it is perfect. Awesome location, a stones throw from everything! The rooms are huge and the beds are comfortable. Breakfast is great in the morning.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Todd C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
#61 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,273 reviews
Duomo
Pierre Hotel Florence
Pierre Hotel Florence
#90 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
#68 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Tornabuoni Beacci
Hotel Tornabuoni Beacci
#110 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
Duomo
Grand Hotel Cavour
Grand Hotel Cavour
#113 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,528 reviews
Duomo
Rodo Hotel Fashion Delight
Rodo Hotel Fashion Delight
#39 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strozzi Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strozzi Palace Hotel

Property: Strozzi Palace Hotel
Address: Via Dei Vecchietti 4, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#78 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#137 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Strozzi Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the Florence city center in an elegant 19th century building, Strozzi Palace Hotel manages to mix an antique and stilish interior decor with convenience and modern technology.Thanks to its prime location, just a short walk from the Duomo, the Uffizi museum and Via Tornabuoni, the hotel is perfect for visiting the most important sights in the city. Our hotel is very close to the Convention center as well.Strozzi Palace Hotel is suited for shopping, being conveniently located amid the city's most elegant and prestigious shops.Each room, elegantly decorated with high quality wood furnishings, offers amenities such as satellite tv, air-conditioning, shower and jacuzzi, free of charge Internet use (cabled or WiFi). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Strozzi Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strozzi Palace Florence
Hotel Strozzi Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing