We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Strozzi Palace Hotel
Ranked #127 of 420 Hotels in Florence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great location, friendly staff”
Reviewed 15 January 2014

I stayed here for a night in January 2014 with my girlfriend. We walked to the hotel from the train station using clear instructions on the hotel's website. The location is awesome. We never used any sort of transport at all and were able to walk to all the main sights.

The thing that stuck out the most when we arrived was how friendly the lady at reception was. We weren't able to check in yet, but she let us leave our bags there, provided us with a map and gave us a run down of what to see.

The room itself was pretty nice. The bed was huge and, for a tall couple, much appreciated. The mini-bar was pretty cheap, although we didn't use it.

Our main criticism was that we couldn't use the Wi-Fi in our rooms. We had to sit in the reception area to use it. I think this should be stated on the website, given it is a major selling point.

There was also a man at reception who was quite rude when we checked out. I'd politely ask him a question after he acknowledged me and he would either ignore me and continue with what he was doing or get back to me an awkwardley long time later, say 30 seconds or so. It just came across as rude, which was disappointing because the lately the day before was so helpful and friendly.

The breakfast was average. Wasn't anything to rave about, but good enough.

But despite those things, I'd stay there again. It was good value for money and in such a great position, it would be hard not to. The lady on the first day also created such a good impression of the hotel for us, it was hard for us not to like our stay, despite the other minor annoyances. I really wish I could remember her name!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Prez72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    271
    94
    17
    15
See reviews for
152
268
26
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shelton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

This hotel has a lot going for it: the location is excellent to walk to the Duomo, to the Ponte Vecchea, Bobeli Gardens, Uffezzi , and most all the sites in Florence. The breakfast was excellent, the main bed was comfortable (the hideaway was not…) The staff were all friendly, helpful, and all spoke English. The hotel was very clean. The only reason I gave this hotel a less than excellent review has to do with the club across the street. This is not something the hotel can fix, nor is it responsible. It was reasonably quiet during the day, and early evening, but after midnight, it got quiet noisy, with yelling, bottles breaking, with people yelling and girls screaming. The manager explained to me that they had called the cops many times, but the club is still present, and they are unable to control the patrons leaving the club. I don't know if a room in a different location would be quieter, and away from the noise (we were in #21) If you are a heavy sleeper, and don't mind the noise, then I would sincerely recommend this hotel for all the other reasons I stated.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 622MelanieG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

The location is absolutely perfect, about 30 seconds from the Piazza della Repubblica, and five minutes from the Duomo. The room was okay. It was a reasonable size for Florence, clean and comfortable. There is good internet access in the rooms. The furnishings are beginning to look a little dated, but then I suppose that keeps the price down. The room was a little warm - even in December - but you can open the windows. There wasn't any view at all, but then you step out of the front door and everything is right there. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GinTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We visited Florence last week and stayed here for 3 nights. First of all, the location is unbeatable. It was an easy walk to all the main sights, even for our seven year old son. The Duomo is about 5 minutes away. There's lots of fabulous shopping in the area at open markets, local shops, as well as high-end stores (there's a Dolce & Gabbana, Louis Vuitton, etc. on the corner). Lots of restaurant/gelato choices in the area. The room itself (we were in 42) was elegant compared to some of the other places we stayed while in Italy, clean and quite large, with a big bed, plus another very comfy pull out bed for our son. The bathroom was large, the shower was a bit tricky, but doesn't take much to figure out. There's a complementary breakfast every morning with a decent spread. It's the same every morning, we enjoyed it. The staff was very friendly and helpful and all spoke decent English. They helped us arranging taxis and gave advice on local restaurants. Our room faced the street, and was pretty noisy actually, but this is something we experienced in every place we stayed while in Italy. I'd say if you want something more quiet, ask for a room away from the street. We'd definitely recommend this place!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Visited Florence this September for a week. The best thing about this hotel is the location it is perfect! Literally round the corner from one of the main squares and only a few minutes walk from most of the main tourist attractions and the station.
Our room was ok it did the job was clean and comfortable if a little tired looking but good value for the price we paid.
Breakfast was the same every day but fine and suited us. Staff were friendly and helpful. Would stay there again based on location alone. I went with an elderly relative and they were able to walk to all attractions from this hotel. There is a steep set of stairs at the entrance which must be climbed to get to the lift so may be tricky for those with mobility issues. Overall I would recommend it as a good central base for Florence.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emma279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

This hotel is ideally suited for easy access to the main sights in Florence; the Duomo is approximately 400 metres away and it's approx 8 minutes easy walk from the bus / rail station. There are several good restaurants nearby and, if it's your thing, the Hard Rock Cafe is literally round the corner. Our room (No 23) was large, clean and well-appointed with a massive, comfortable bed, a mini bar (though there are no tea / coffee- making facilities) and a large, clean bathroom. The view from our room was into a small courtyard and consequently, there was no road noise at all. Our only criticism of the room was the air-con which did not seem to be working. Reception staff were helpful when we needed to ask for advice. Breakfast was a choice of cereals, toast, cold ham and cheese, brioche-style croissants, orange juice and disappointing coffee (given that we were in Italy!). There are no restaurant facilities other than breakfast. The reception desk is up a flight of stairs from street level. There's a stair-lift to the first floor for those who need one and a lift from the first floor. There were only 2 other rooms on our floor so there was no noise from others. We would definitely book here again not least for its central location.

Room Tip: Be prepared for the flights of stairs from street level up to the reception - may be tricky with hea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J3ff_Tracy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We visited Florence in September and stayed here for 3 nights. We had a standard double room for 2 of us. Room was clean and comfortable, especially the bed. AC didn't work which didn't bother us as we're not big fans of this but worth noting if you do need this. Large bathroom with a decent shower. Decor was ok - a bit dated but in theme with the old Italian style of soft furnishings. We had breakfast here which isn't that great - basic continental. Staff are very friendly and helpful - they helped us out in arranging transfers. The location of the hotel was perfect - right in the centre of Florence with all the main attractions in walking distance. Would recommend staying here if you want a clean, comfortable and convenient hotel - but don't expect anything flashy!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
#58 of 420 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,309 reviews
Duomo
Pierre Hotel Florence
Pierre Hotel Florence
#85 of 420 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
#70 of 420 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Tornabuoni Beacci
Hotel Tornabuoni Beacci
#119 of 420 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
Duomo
Grand Hotel Cavour
Grand Hotel Cavour
#109 of 420 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,562 reviews
Duomo
Rodo Hotel Fashion Delight
Rodo Hotel Fashion Delight
#39 of 420 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strozzi Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strozzi Palace Hotel

Property: Strozzi Palace Hotel
Address: Via Dei Vecchietti 4, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#76 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#137 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Strozzi Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the Florence city center in an elegant 19th century building, Strozzi Palace Hotel manages to mix an antique and stilish interior decor with convenience and modern technology.Thanks to its prime location, just a short walk from the Duomo, the Uffizi museum and Via Tornabuoni, the hotel is perfect for visiting the most important sights in the city. Our hotel is very close to the Convention center as well.Strozzi Palace Hotel is suited for shopping, being conveniently located amid the city's most elegant and prestigious shops.Each room, elegantly decorated with high quality wood furnishings, offers amenities such as satellite tv, air-conditioning, shower and jacuzzi, free of charge Internet use (cabled or WiFi). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Strozzi Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strozzi Palace Florence
Hotel Strozzi Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing