We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Stay in Florence”
Review of Hotel Bonifacio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Bonifacio
Ranked #170 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Our family stayed at the Hotel Bonifacio for 3 nights in June. The beds were not that comfortable and perhaps the mattresses need to be changed. The room itself was quiet and offered nice amenities such as a refrigerator and in-room safe. Bathroom was large and clean. Breakfast was simple and basic (bread, cheese, yogurt, coffee, and juice).

Staff was friendly but did not explain at check-in that we were supposed to leave our keys at the front desk whenever leaving the hotel. So, no wonder we were asked to identify ourselves on a few occasions when we returned to the hotel in the evening. At first, I thought this was a bit odd, and after the 2nd night, we realized that the hotel normally has guests leave keys at the front and retrieve them when they return.

Overall, a great value for a hotel within a 10-minute walk of the historic city center.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CaLowry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (382)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 382 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2013

The hotel is central. My daughter and I stayed for 3 nights. We walked from the train station to the hotel once we found it the first time it was always easy to come and go. Free breakfast is nice, variety good, was late for breakfast one morning but was accomodated very nicely. Karin at the front desk was very friendly, nice and helpful (although afraid of dog) lol. The room was big and clean. Concerns are the torn window curtain, the dirty green carpet runner and the awful smell on first floor near elevator (lift). If those things are corrected then all will be very, very, good at this hotel. Please fix so I can come back for a stay. Thanks Karin and staff!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BBlessing2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013 via mobile

The room at this hotel was quite spacious, but the air conditioning did not work at all. Coming on to summer and 33 degrees, the room was like a sauna. Upon opening the window, we were infested with Mosquitos. I asked to be moved to another room where the air conditioning was working, as this is what we had paid for, and the management told us it would be fixed by the afternoon. By the next day, it still was not working. Questioned them again, more untruths and the owner quite abrupt. Asked again to no avail. We have been travelling in Italy for six weeks now, and have had wonderful hotels B&Bs and agrituirismo throughout Italy to date. Friendly kind people that go out of their way to accommodate. We cannot say this about this about the management of this hotel. The orher staff were quite friendly and helpful though. We do not recommend this hotel purely because of the false advertising and the hotel Management.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Giowood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

The location is very close to the city centre, about a ten minute walk through lovely streets and past the Accademia. The reception was very helpful and gave a map and advice about what to see and the best ways to get there. There are many restaurants, pharmacies and mini-supermarkets within a block or two of the hotel. There is also a bus station around the corner and the train station is an easy 15-20 minute walk away. Wifi is free but is strongest in the common area downstairs. Normally it is annoying to have to sit in the common area to get wifi but this was great as travellers are all sitting around and chatting and we met some interesting people. The room was not very spacious but it was adequate. It was neat and clean. The breakfast was adequate as well. Overall, the best parts were the location and the customer service.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fareeaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013 via mobile

Our stay was sub average, saved in part by the friendliness of the staff. The hotel while a walk from the heart of the city is still well located; a walk around the neighbourhood revealed a few bars, restaurants, and shops. We read a few reviews before booking so had set expectations, but nothing prepared us for the poor state of the beds. This fact did pass us by on the first night, having arrived at midnight extremely tired after a late flight. I would expect better even at lesser stars. On this alone I agree with the recommendation that there are better alternatives in the general area

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chorfu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

I am a college student who studied in Florence for 4 months and stayed at Bonifacio for the entire stay. The staff is excellent, very personable, and they speak English very well. Rooms are nice with good showers and clean bathrooms. Definitely the place to stay in Florence.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anonymous9222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2012

This hotel is amazing! The staff is super helpful and willing to go the extra mile. Internet is amazing for Florence standards. Breakfast is filling and they offer many choices. Rooms are large and beds are amazing. Bathroom is huge, clean, and the shower is great and high pressure. It is in walking distance of all the major sites and attractions in Florence. 5 min walk from the statue of David!! Best hotel in Florence. Without a doubt book now!!

Room Tip: All rooms are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJ R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel Rosary Garden
#126 of 410 in Florence
439 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Il Bargellino
Hotel Il Bargellino
#114 of 410 in Florence
458 reviews
Hotel Panama
#246 of 410 in Florence
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Giglio
Hotel Giglio
#157 of 410 in Florence
727 reviews
Hotel La Fortezza
#65 of 410 in Florence
338 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Caravaggio
Hotel Caravaggio
#118 of 410 in Florence
798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bonifacio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bonifacio

Address: Via Bonifacio Lupi 21, 50129, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#154 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £49 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bonifacio 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Bonifacio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bonifacio Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing