We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience in the heart of Florence”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Duomo Firenze
Ranked #56 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We had a great experience staying at hotel Duomo. The hotel is literally 50 meters across from Il Duomo with wonderful views of the building. The location was perfect - you are within 10min walking distance from all major attractions, museums and close proximity to world class shopping.

The staff were extremely welcoming and helpful in giving us advice on what to see and where to eat during our stay in Florence.

We had breakfast included which was totally worth it. Also, we took advantage of settling our bill in cash which resulted in about 10% savings on the lodging.

Would definitely stay again at this hotel and would recommend it to others.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Vlad V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,209)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

625 - 631 of 1,209 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2013

We were on our tenth anniversary celebration and had booked this hotel for it's location.Our room was supposed to have windows that were supposed to open into the view of Duomo@ 194 Euros/night. When we reached to check in ,we were told of plumbing issues in our room and that a mail had been sent to our account 2 days prior to our visit ,when we had booked atleast 20 days prior ,and that we had been accomodated in another hotel of a similar kind just down the road,Hotel Ruspoli .What put us off was that we were in Rome and received no call regarding the same.Since we were on a holiday we were not checking mails so frequently.Anyway we were told to check in in another place which was the 4star hotel Bernini and very posh.So we were assured that Ruspoli will be decent.Anyway ,we were told to leave our baggage there and check in and reach Hotel Ruspoli at 2 pm getting our room.Since we were in Florence for two days we did not want to lose time searching for another accomodation ,so we agreed to the set up.At 2 pm when we reached Ruspoli,there was another woman shouting at them telling them how they had changed her booking and moved her from Ruspoli @ 150 Euros to another accomodation which was @100 Euros.That's when we realised that this entire thing was a scam.We patiently waited for our turn and after 45 min were told that they also didn't have any rooms and that they were transferring us to yet another accomodation which was a 4 star Hotel California slightly further away.So you see,each time we are also moving away from Duomo each time we move hotels.Not taking any further chances we told the manager of Ruspoli to come with us and make sure we get some accomodation.Finally,we checked in Hotel California which was a basic neat and clean hotel but you had to pay for everything there ,for wifi ,for even water.
This has left us with a bad taste with not only the hotel but also the city.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank prernasinha2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelDuomoFirenze, Direttore at Hotel Duomo Firenze, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2013

we sorry for the inconvenient happened. we had some plumbing issues so part of our rooms wasn't able to accommodate guest. Florence was very busy in that period we looked for a nice hotel same categorie and near to us and we booked Hotel Ruspoli.
Unfortunately, we trusted on the wrong partner because they moved you after few hours and some inconvenient to another hotel Unfortunately, we trusted on the wrong partner because they will moved to another hotel after few hours and some inconvenience.
We apologize for the situation but we really did all the best possibile to help you we also tryed to contact you 1 week before without success.
We understand your point of view for your disappointment at not being stayed in the hotel that you had chosen for the anniversary but we are really surprise about your reviews for our rooms ( Cleaning . comfort - size ) because you never stayed in our hotel.
Hope to acommodate you in the future so you can realize that our rooms are real like the photos on the net

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We just got back from a vacation in Italy. One of our stops was Florence at the Hotel Duomo.
We loved it. The hotel was clean, the staff was very nice and the location couldn't be beat!
It's definitely a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Pay the extra few dollars to have a room with a view of the Duomo-amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kate R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

The hotel is located on the 4th floor in an apartment building just across the street from the Duomo's north side. The rooms are a bit small but big enough if you don't plan to do some business work during your stay in Florence. I had a room with a balcony facing the Duomo so the view was outstanding and still peaceful even during the busy tourist hours. The breakfast was very nice and with a lot of choices, both warm and cold dishes, so everyone can find something to get ready for the day. I can really recommend this hotel as long as you are not in need of a big spacious room.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hakan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Rooms with private balcony from wich you have an astonishing view of the duomo. Ideal location for couples on a romantic trip to Florence. Really, I can't think about anything negative, our trip was just perfect.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sebastien V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Room with balcony was very nice. Tremendous view of a cathedral from number with a balcony. The breakfast buffet is outstanding--eggs, bacon, meats, coffee, tea, juices, breads, and fruit.The breakfast were excellent!We will surely return again to this remarkable hotel

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OLGA K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We spent 12 nights at Hotel Duomo in October. Our room was very nice with a balcony where we could hear beautiful music from the street every evening. Frederick, Francesca, and Sophia made us feel very welcome and comfortable. The breakfasts were excellent!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J0an1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#42 of 411 in Florence
1,867 reviews
Duomo
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
#52 of 411 in Florence
1,466 reviews
Duomo
Grand Hotel Cavour
Grand Hotel Cavour
#82 of 411 in Florence
1,914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Pendini
Hotel Pendini
#35 of 411 in Florence
2,065 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#23 of 411 in Florence
2,917 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#24 of 411 in Florence
2,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Duomo Firenze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Duomo Firenze

Address: Piazza del Duomo, 1, 50122, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Florence
#33 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £69 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Duomo Firenze 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is no hotel in Florence that can be proud of their location like us.If you lean out the window'rooms you feel like you touching the Cathedral with your hands.Eating breakfast under the "Brunelleschi's Dome" will be a unique and unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Duomo Firenze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duomo Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing