We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Duomo Firenze
Ranked #59 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Rome, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Comfortable and Great location”
Reviewed 12 December 2013 via mobile

While I have been to Florence many times this is my first time in the Hotel Duomo. The location is right next to Santa Maria del Fiore and from many of the rooms you have a great view of Brunelleschi's amazing Duomo. The hotel is located on the third and fourth floors of a fourtheenth century palazzo (don't worry there is an elevator) and has been extensively renovated to provide a modern minimalist decor (but done very tastefully!).

The wifi is complementary but over eight days I had no problems with bandwidth or connectivity which was great. Breakfast is 07:30-10:00 and has something for everyone. If you are not a fan of caffe americano then make sure you ask for an espresso or cappuccino.

Overall very happy with all aspects of the hotel and more than happy to recommend it to others visiting the birthplace of the Renaissance!

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lavener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    700
    321
    77
    14
    11
See reviews for
190
520
137
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
1 review
Reviewed 9 December 2013

I liked everything about this hotel. With a japanese "less is more"style at the room i had the space i need when i travel and a big bathroom which is essential for me. I had a single room which means single bed so if someone is alone and wants double bed,i suggest to choose the double room since the price of the rooms is not expensive. The location is perfect. There is all you need to have a sufficient breakfast but i didn't like the cappuccino coffee(we are in Italy after all, coffee is superb everywhere). It's a pity they don't accept pets.I' m glad that i know a good place to stay in Florence which offers more than you pay.

Room Tip: I had a room with no view but with a balcony- i didn't care about the view (the asked me) i want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MyrsiniT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Excellent location, and the most amazing view of the Duomo from the bedroom window. The room was well sized, and the bathroom was huge and modern. The staff were able to communicate well in English and were very helpful, particularly the male staff member (I didn't get his name). Will definitely stay again if I'm lucky enough to return to Florence.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephange12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

You can't beat the location of this place; it's right next to the Duomo. Our room had a balcony that had a direct view of the Duomo (you can actually see the balcony from the top of the Duomo!). The staff is friendly, but takes a little time to communicate in English. They were welcoming and even gave us a gift when we left, which we appreciated.

Our room was tiny; it hardly had any space around the bed. But it was clean as was the bathroom. We didn't spend that much time in the room anyway and the view certainly helped.

Overall, this is a great place to stay when you're visiting Florence.

Room Tip: Try to get the rooms that have direct views to the Duomo
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank porjotok_Boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013 via mobile

The staff is wonderful. Breakfast was included in our room rate and the breakfast was very well done. The location is wonderful. The duomo catherial is right out of bedroom window. We had a room for three. The king bed was very comfortable. The third bed was a twin and was not very comfortable. I would stay here again.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

We had a great experience staying at hotel Duomo. The hotel is literally 50 meters across from Il Duomo with wonderful views of the building. The location was perfect - you are within 10min walking distance from all major attractions, museums and close proximity to world class shopping.

The staff were extremely welcoming and helpful in giving us advice on what to see and where to eat during our stay in Florence.

We had breakfast included which was totally worth it. Also, we took advantage of settling our bill in cash which resulted in about 10% savings on the lodging.

Would definitely stay again at this hotel and would recommend it to others.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Vlad V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level 6 Contributor
66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We were on our tenth anniversary celebration and had booked this hotel for it's location.Our room was supposed to have windows that were supposed to open into the view of Duomo@ 194 Euros/night. When we reached to check in ,we were told of plumbing issues in our room and that a mail had been sent to our account 2 days prior to our visit ,when we had booked atleast 20 days prior ,and that we had been accomodated in another hotel of a similar kind just down the road,Hotel Ruspoli .What put us off was that we were in Rome and received no call regarding the same.Since we were on a holiday we were not checking mails so frequently.Anyway we were told to check in in another place which was the 4star hotel Bernini and very posh.So we were assured that Ruspoli will be decent.Anyway ,we were told to leave our baggage there and check in and reach Hotel Ruspoli at 2 pm getting our room.Since we were in Florence for two days we did not want to lose time searching for another accomodation ,so we agreed to the set up.At 2 pm when we reached Ruspoli,there was another woman shouting at them telling them how they had changed her booking and moved her from Ruspoli @ 150 Euros to another accomodation which was @100 Euros.That's when we realised that this entire thing was a scam.We patiently waited for our turn and after 45 min were told that they also didn't have any rooms and that they were transferring us to yet another accomodation which was a 4 star Hotel California slightly further away.So you see,each time we are also moving away from Duomo each time we move hotels.Not taking any further chances we told the manager of Ruspoli to come with us and make sure we get some accomodation.Finally,we checked in Hotel California which was a basic neat and clean hotel but you had to pay for everything there ,for wifi ,for even water.
This has left us with a bad taste with not only the hotel but also the city.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank prernasinha2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelDuomoFirenze, Direttore at Hotel Duomo Firenze, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
we sorry for the inconvenient happened. we had some plumbing issues so part of our rooms wasn't able to accommodate guest. Florence was very busy in that period we looked for a nice hotel same categorie and near to us and we booked Hotel Ruspoli.
Unfortunately, we trusted on the wrong partner because they moved you after few hours and some inconvenient to another hotel Unfortunately, we trusted on the wrong partner because they will moved to another hotel after few hours and some inconvenience.
We apologize for the situation but we really did all the best possibile to help you we also tryed to contact you 1 week before without success.
We understand your point of view for your disappointment at not being stayed in the hotel that you had chosen for the anniversary but we are really surprise about your reviews for our rooms ( Cleaning . comfort - size ) because you never stayed in our hotel.
Hope to acommodate you in the future so you can realize that our rooms are real like the photos on the net
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#38 of 411 in Florence
1,738 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#47 of 411 in Florence
2,056 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#39 of 411 in Florence
1,744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#25 of 411 in Florence
1,920 reviews
Hotel David
#2 of 411 in Florence
3,173 reviews
Orcagna Hotel
#36 of 411 in Florence
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Duomo Firenze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Duomo Firenze

Property: Hotel Duomo Firenze
Address: Piazza del Duomo, 1, 50122, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Florence
#21 Family Hotel in Florence
#33 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Duomo Firenze 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is no hotel in Florence that can be proud of their location like us.If you lean out the window'rooms you feel like you touching the Cathedral with your hands.Eating breakfast under the "Brunelleschi's Dome" will be a unique and unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Duomo Firenze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duomo Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing