We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In this case, a picture isn't worth a thousand words”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Duomo Firenze
Ranked #58 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Excellent location. Good breakfast. Appalling coffee (this is supposed to be Italy). Francesca adds a lot of value. Everything you see would have you believe that this is a comfortable, well maintained hotel. It's tired, the soft furnishings are dirty and torn (in particular, the sheer drapes and bedspread) and it's gloomy and did I say tired? From the reception, you walk down a flight of stairs to reach some of the bedrooms. Room photos on the web cannot be anything other than "show rooms" because our two rooms looked nothing like any in the photos. You take a diminutive, aging elevator (capacity 2) from the ground floor to the fourth floor - which is where the hotel is located. Fortunately, there were no elevator outages while we were there. Consider other accommodations in the same price range before you commit to this one. Noisy drunks in the Piazza Duomo woke is up two out of five nights.

Room Tip: Consider staying elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank prsemere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FedericoG1, Proprietario at Hotel Duomo Firenze, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear Mr.Peter,
we thank you so much for your kind review.
We don't want to reply nothing of your think about our Hotel, but we want only to reply regarding two points.
We are a Hotel with a point of interest view, the amazing Florence Cathedral. It's logic our Hotel starts from the third floor!! What kind of view you can see from the groundfloor? To reach us you have to use an elevator that is old, that's true, but it's the third elevator built in Florence!! It's really important for our town so it's normal that is little but it works really well and it's safe.Think that we are in a 15th century building and like a lot of Hotels in Florence have a lift like this one!! As regard the pictures of the rooms on our web site we have never tried to sell something different from the reality, the rooms are like you can see on the pictures. We want to inform you
that we are planning to change all the covers of the rooms and to remake the forniture inside the rooms.
So we would like to invite you to come again to check our improvments about the problems that you found on your last accomodation. Hope to have you our guest again.
Best regards

Federico Gori

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,194)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

566 - 572 of 1,194 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2014

This hotel is perfect for anyone wanting to stay in Florence. Literally right outside the Duomo and the centre of the city, it was the ideal place to explore Florence from. The room was a good size, the beds were comfortable and the bathroom was a good size.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SLawther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We stayed here for 7 days. It's really a very nice hotel, which located in the center of the city, and not so far from the railway station. Although the shower room is not so big, but it is very comfortable. It is also worth to mentioning that, electric kettle can be borrowed here, which is very convenient for tea.

Room Tip: Room 31 can get a good view of the Church.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wendellsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

This little hotel is right next to the Duomo. We had a lovely view from our window! Our beds were comfortable, the bathroom was a nice size, and the room was quiet. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The breakfast was very good. I definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank beaches_gg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

You won't be disappointed. The hotel Duomo is right next to the Duomo, and in the square. You don't have any traffic outside the hotel, because it is in the square, so it is quieter than if you were on any other street. The church bells from the bell tower had a soothing affect. Just a very nice older hotel, in a great location.

Room Tip: location, location, location
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Hotel Duomo for one night in May. Even though there is no public road access the cab was able to take us to the front door. The staff were very friendly and helpful always wanting to satisfy our needs. The room was small which was no big deal for us as we were only there for one night. If we were there longer I would have asked for a bigger room because I couldn't have my suitcase open in there. The rooms are very very clean and the bathrooms are quite modern. The only negative about our experience was we were woken very early by the cleaning staff. We could hear a lot through the walls. The hotel is in a perfect location for all sights in Florence. We were able to see so much in one day because of where we were located. The breakfast was good as well. I would stay here again when visiting florence.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Catherineaccetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

The Hotel Duomo was a very reasonable experience for a busy, tourist centre. Our room overlooked the iconic Duomo which gave us a fabulous close-up of the cathedral. The staff at reception were very friendly and helpful. The room was quite adequate but with no tea/coffee making facilities. The bathroom was clean and functional but the shower was so small that it just about accommodated you in a standing position. We didn’t have breakfast at the hotel because Florence is blessed with numerous restaurants which provide a tasty meal. I would certainly stay at Hotel Duomo again.

Room Tip: Choose Duomo view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank starryjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#37 of 410 in Florence
1,845 reviews
Duomo
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
#54 of 410 in Florence
1,453 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#23 of 410 in Florence
2,884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Pendini
Hotel Pendini
#36 of 410 in Florence
1,984 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#24 of 410 in Florence
2,042 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#38 of 410 in Florence
2,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Duomo Firenze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Duomo Firenze

Address: Piazza del Duomo, 1, 50122, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Florence
#21 Family Hotel in Florence
#33 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £68 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Duomo Firenze 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is no hotel in Florence that can be proud of their location like us.If you lean out the window'rooms you feel like you touching the Cathedral with your hands.Eating breakfast under the "Brunelleschi's Dome" will be a unique and unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Duomo Firenze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duomo Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing