We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Broken water line, or was it???”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Centro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Centro
Ranked #305 of 421 Hotels in Florence
New Mexico
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Broken water line, or was it???”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

We booked a room here months in advance, only to be told upon arrival that there had been a waterline break. They said "No problem!" We have a room for you at another hotel (See my review for the Hotel Veneto). After walking several blocks to the Veneto and seeing the tiny, cement box that they rehoused us in, we went back to the Centro to make certain our room would be ready the next day - there was no way we were staying 3 nights at the Veneto! A different person was at the front desk, and had no idea what water line break we could be talking about. She had the room schedule/calendar up on her computer screen and from what I could see, the room we should have had was booked up through our first night, and available starting the next day. Basically, they overbooked and sent us to a "hole" that was offering €50/night closets, and charged us their full €100/night rate.
Don't stay here. It's in a very noisy part of town, and they seem to have no problem screwing you if they make a mistake.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank N2RUINS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    112
    92
    38
    35
See reviews for
60
156
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

Hotel Centro is a 2-star hotel which means you can't expect a lot! The service was ok, had the feeling that they don't what they are doing. Our room was basic, but it was so noisy we couldn't sleep at all. You can hear every noise from the street. Bathroom was ok, but very small. Breakfast was only dry white bread and yogurt with tee and coffee.
Location is very good, near duomo and railwaystation is close too. Wifi was working in the lobby, but not on our room.
I think the price and the quality don't match here.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Livena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

The service is nice! The owners are very friendly but my experience here was very unpleasant! The walls are paper thin, it is extremely noisy, we heard our neighbors "being intimate" on more than one occasion. We got woken up by a girl screaming at about 2am from the room down the hall from us. You can hear conversations clearly from all rooms around you as well as people showering, using the bathroom and walking around their room. My partner and I were woken up constantly at all hours of the night by other guests. The rooms are very basic and the beds are quite uncomfortable. About a 40 minute bus ride to the center of florence which isn't that bad but it could be better. I would most definitely not stay here again, much too noisy, I truly would not recommend staying here at all.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morgazim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Florence hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2013 via mobile

This is a very low budget hotel. Its a step up from a hostel. Some of the rooms share a bathroom. Luckily my wife and I had a bathroom in our room. Thanks to earplugs and the fact the pros outweighed the cons, it ended up being a nice stay.

Cons:
-Beds were uncomfotable.
-Walls are super thin. You can hear all the noises from the street and in the hallway. We had to wear earplugs to bed everynight.
-Bathroom smelled like something awful. Almost like a mildew/metallic smell.
-Safe in the room didn't work.
-You had to be buzzed into the building everything you come in which is great for security reasons, but bad when you keep hearing the buzzer from your room.

Pros:
-People working there are really friendly. They would help us out whenever we needed it and seemed happy doing so.
-Free breakfast before 10. It wasn't the greatest variety of food, but it was nice that they did that.
-Location to everything is perfect. Just a block from the Duomo.
-Free Wifi.

Overall it was an interesting experience. The cons really made the stay problematic, but its not the fault of the people who run the hotel. It's an old building and they seem to do everything they can to overcome the cons with the pros. Stay if you're on a budget, and expect a budget place.

Helpful?
Thank chanceva
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013 via mobile

Hotel reception does not augur well, however the rooms are comfortable, well equipped and a good value for money.

Would recommend it to budget travellers. Close to train station and clise to all main attractions.

Wi-fi in room worked perfectly well.

Helpful?
Thank Cyrus E
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2012

It's a place to sleep. The breakfast wasn't anything special. It was cheap but charming. I survived the tiny elevators and the air conditioning that blew right on my face.

They ask that you don't come in after midnight or so, probably because the buzzer for the main door is really loud and will wake up everyone sleeping.

I'd recommend it to my friends who don't complain too much.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank CiaoMille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2012

We enjoyed our stay in the quirky Hotel Centro, which as the name implies is central to all the main tourist sites in Florence. It is situated on the 1st floor of a mini Florentine palace associated with the painter Raphael and you ring for admittance through the heavy wooden door and climb a flight of stone steps or use the minuscule lift to gain access. There seems to be just 6 or 7 rooms and some of them are small and share a bathroom, but we had Room 104 which had en suite facilities, a king sized bed and a sofa. It was clean and the bed was comfortable. The street outside probably was quite noisy in summer but in November, the only problem was the street cleaning machine which one felt one should not complain about. The breakfast was included and was not exceptional but entirely adequate. I recommend it to thrifty travellers who are still fairly spritely.

Room Tip: Room 104 is large and en suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maggicam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Loggia Fiorentina
Loggia Fiorentina
#170 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#277 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Aline
Hotel Aline
#319 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Savonarola
Hotel Savonarola
#137 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Ferretti
Hotel Ferretti
#264 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Hotel Masaccio
#269 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Centro

Property: Hotel Centro
Address: Via De' Ginori 17, 50123, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #305 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Centro 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Centro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centro Hotel Florence
Best Western Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing