We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to stay, very warm, clean and friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Soggiorno Michelangelo
Ranked #283 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“great place to stay, very warm, clean and friendly”
Reviewed 6 January 2011

Amazing hotel I had a very good stay there for a week, it was beautiful and easily accessible to the city. The staff was warm and friendly, and the rooms were cozy and private. There was internet stay, and breakfast and the owner helped us find great local food

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abyaneag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    16
    10
    4
    2
See reviews for
5
25
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2009

We stayed at Soggiornos for 2 nights, just before Easter 2009. The rooms are clean, but rather small, especially the toilet / shower. For Florence, the weekday price of Euro 80 was ok, but the weekend rate of Euro 120 is a bit stiff.
Oscar (the owner) is very nice and helpful and supplies you with maps and the like. The breakfast is average, but service - again - friendly.
This place is about 20 minutes walk from the cathedral and offers (paid) on-street parking or a parking lot (paid and secured) around the corner. The internet connection is good and fast.
S M is a midrange B&B, no frills, but also clean and with the expected services.
PS: in Tripadvisor it locates this place as being in Siena, however it is in Florence itself. Siena is a 45 minutes drive from Florence!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sirmarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2007

Stayed for four nights at the Soggiorno Michelangelo and were reasonably satisfied.
Previous reviews and criticisms are quite accurate and the hotel is typical by European standards.
The owner, Oscar, is very pleasant, welcoming and will do anything to make your stay more enjoyable. Appears clean (although don't look under the beds/corners) and very spacious for a small hotel, with the benefit of being slightly further away from the city (15 minute walk/2 minute bus ride) and thus very quiet at night.
Breakfast is quite adequate (cereal, croissants, toast, cheese, cakes etc), but if you want something more substantial there are a few nearby pattiseries (S.Matteoi).
On the downside though, pillows were annoyingly flat, the room lacked a safe (as advertised) and the breakfast/seating area is rather communal (but good if you want to get acquainted with other guests).
Not the easiest place to find, I would definitely recommend purchasing maps before you travel and locating the hotel via multimap/googlemaps thoroughly as local taximen/bus drivers don't know the hotel offhand.
On the whole, it is a perfectly adequate hotel for a short stay, couple/traveller friendly, good value for money and typical european, recommended.

  • Stayed September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank lilJoJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2007

I booked this Hotel based upon the reviews from this site and whilst not entirley displeased with the stay, I would not use this hotel again. Looking around florence, there appears to be better choices.

Staying at the Soggiorno Michelangelo Hotel, is very much like staying at a distant relatives house - if you like that sort of feel then its great, but it wasn't to my liking. The Hotel seems to be a conversion of a large apartment on the Second floor of a large building which contains residential flats and business.

There are 7 rooms in total, most of which open onto a communal
'living room' where a cereal based breakfast is laid out on a table. From 8-10 we could hear people talking and eating breakfast very easily (spoons on bowls etc) - just like being at home!

The rooms although clean on the surface had dust and dirt in the corners and the rug in our room was in need of a good hoovering. I placed our suitcase on top of the wardrobe out of the way and when bringing it down, brought down several years worth of dust, dirt and mites!

We had a clean bathroom and towls, but the shower didn't have hot water (luke warm at best) and I would make sure you bring your own toiletries (inc soap and shower gel) - there was no bath.

The bed was two singles pushed together and were grossly uncomfortable, both me and my fianceé felt bruised and had stiff necks each morning from sleeping on the bed. The pillows were rubbish, we had to sleep with a folded towel underneath for some extra cushioning.

The hotel is in a quiet area of Florence on the NE side going out of town. Its a good 15-20 minute stroll into the centre and can be a pain after a while. If you are looking for a central hotel, this is not it - but is is quiet from noisey mopeds etc ... and we felt safe walking to and from the centre to the hotel.

A taxi from the train station the the hotel will cost 8 euros - and he may find it hard to find - get the address and show the driver, we visited a different hotel first (looked a lot nicer!) and then got lost a few times finding the street. Its not obvious to find - look for the light and sign on the wall - its number 24.

Its a friendly place, Oscar (the owner) was polite, although we never really saw him as we were out and about during the day. We were only there for a few days and could not be bothered to raise any of the issues with the room we had with him.

This is a cheap Bed and Breakfast and good if you are on a budget and cant spend a little more to get closer and some luxouries. There a lots of books and guides available in the hotel for you to read (we left an English AA version there!) and Oscar will arrange taxis for you if you ask.

The TV which was in the room, has appaling singnal quality on all channels, and the only choice was Italian TV channels or Italian MTV ... no BBC/CNN world news here!

I dont want to sound damining of the place, as it didn't spoil our vaccation, but reading the reviews before I left I was expecting something else.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank N95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 October 2006

Tomorrow we have to leave, but we can't say enough good about the Soggiorno Michelangelo, which is more like a bed and breakfast than a hotel. The owners, Angela and Oscar, could not be nicer and more helpful. Our room and bathroom are clean; the bathroom is modern. The room is small but gives us (a married couple) all the space we need since there is very little reason to spend a lot of time in a hotel room in Florence. The hotel is in a quiet neighborhood perhaps a kilometer or so north of the center with several good restaurants, bars and a supermarket close by. Highly recommended.

  • Liked — ambiance, cleanliness, owners
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ct-pst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 6 Contributor
68 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2006

My girlfriend and I stayed at this place for a few nights in December 2005. We've travelled a lot and we love the bed and breakfast approach - more personal than a hotel and often just as comfortable. This place is a prime example of that. It's charming, personal and comfortable. It feels like a real Italian home - right down to the rickety old elevator. Oscar is a great host and makes you very much at home.It's in a residential part of the city so you feel as if you are seeing the real Florence. It's about a half hour stroll from the main sights - which was no problem for us as we're used to a lot of walking (and you see more of the city that way) - but for those not so keen on the walk there are plenty of buses. The breakfast is simple but sets you up for the day - only recommendation is get up in good time otherwise it will go!

One other recommendation about Florence - if you want excellent quality basic Italian cooking go to Leonardo's canteen - it's a few minutes walk from the Duomo and up a flight of stairs, and it is fantastic. We ate there lunch and dinner three days in a row. It's mentioned in Lonely Planet and most of the other guide books. Try it out - you wont be sorry.

  • Liked — The personal touch! Real Florence!
  • Disliked — Breakfast - it was no way bad, but it was functional.
  • Stayed December 2005, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank JackWonderful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Half Moon Bay, California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2005

We stayed in this B&B for a 3-day weekend, and thoroughly enjoyed it. The B&B was great value for the money - much better value than other more expensive hotels we have used in Florence. The previous reviews were right - Oscar is a great host, lives on the next floor and is available 24/7 by internal phone. The B&B is on the second floor, which is a bit unusual (take the elevator up), but works out fine once you have all the keys!
The rooms are simple (basic TV & phone), with an updated bathroom attached, air conditioning and heating.
Oscar is a wealth of information, and his locally recommended restaurant (Il Micio), which was almost next door, was one of the best restaurants we have eaten at in Florence (very small and personal service, with good fresh local food).
The breakfast is simple but adequate, and the location quite good. Although not in the center, you could get to most downtown locations within 20-30 minutes. The area around the hotel is mostly residential and feels safe, with some nice cafes and restaurants. There are several buses that stop nearby, and the taxi from the center is about 7 Euros.
Enjoy, and say "Hi" to Oscar - he also let us use his computer for Internet access, which was very handy and saves taking a laptop, if you need email access while away.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BrianXRF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel Panama
#234 of 411 in Florence
414 reviews
San Lorenzo
Annabella Hotel
Annabella Hotel
#289 of 411 in Florence
198 reviews
Hotel Ferrucci
#209 of 411 in Florence
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Savonarola
Hotel Savonarola
#148 of 411 in Florence
307 reviews
Hotel Meridiana
#281 of 411 in Florence
354 reviews
Hotel Casa Lea
#349 of 411 in Florence
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soggiorno Michelangelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soggiorno Michelangelo

Property: Soggiorno Michelangelo
Address: Via Fra' Bartolommeo 24, 50132, Florence, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #283 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Soggiorno Michelangelo 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soggiorno Michelangelo is the ideal place if you wish to spend a holiday in Florence with great comfort, very high standard but low prices. In this facility has been reached a level as high as that of very expensive accommodation facilities. All the rooms are sunny, with private bathroom, air conditioning, colour television, telephone with direct outside dialling and safe. Soggiorno Michelangelo has a sunny and comfortable lounge at your disposal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Lastminute, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Soggiorno Michelangelo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soggiorno Michelangelo Hotel Florence
Soggiorno Michelangelo Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing