We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, Clean, and Friendly choice for a convenient spot in Florence.”
Review of Hotel Perseo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Perseo
Ranked #36 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 April 2011

My wife and I stayed at Hotel Perseo on our honeymoon in April 2011. It was our first time to Europe; the first of many over a lifetime. We were nervous about European hotels being tiny, cramped, hot, etc. Hotel Perseo was great! We had a large, new, modern bathroom. We had plenty of space in the large, new bedroom. Our superior double room had a magnificent view of the Duomo. The location cannot be beat. We effortlessly walked to all the sights each day. We and all the amentities (air conditioning, U.S. power plugs, etc) and everything worked; no dissapointments. The staff was excellent. Everyone spoke English and was very kind the whole time. They were glad to help and be accomodating with an unexpected situation we had. Laura was particularly nice. We never hesitated to ask a question. The included breakfast was nice and 'delizioso.' I gave 4 stars instead of 5 on value because we sure as heck paid for the accomodations I'm raving about. We were splurging on our honeymoon and were happy with what we got. But in the future when we're on a budget, we may not be able to afford $290 a night (not euros). I gave four stars on sleep quality because, hey, its Europe. I didn't expect to sleep on a king size tempur pedic. But the sleep was acceptable. If you're looking to experience Florence in comfort, I highly recommend Hotel Perseo.

Room Tip: Ask for the 5th floor superior double room.
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank USTraveler1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,790)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Perseo
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

796 - 802 of 1,791 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2011

We arrived from Venice at 3 PM. Were pleasantly greeted by Tani, a mild mannered english speaking gentleman, who had a great sense of humor. Since the booking was done through priceline, we booked for 2 adults even though we were travelling with our 5 year old son. The staff was quick to offer us a larger room (one without a view), which we refused since we had requested one with a view. That simply showed they were willing to be hospitable and considerate of accomodating our son. At times, Tani also entertained us with an evening coffee and good advice on how to plan our day.
The breakfast was timely, and the staff always wore a pleasant smile on their face, almost like being at home.
The rooms were clean but small. We had the view facing the bell towers, which was nice to have, but did not care, simply because as soon as I got out of the hotel, I was face the duomo. A very central awesome location.

Some Areas of improvement:
The only mild negative feedback was the noise. Even though we were on the 4 floor, there was some karaoke bar which got very loud, but ended at midnight. That only happened on Friday night, after which there was peace and quiet for the next few days.
There is a common door which takes you to a passage where are the rooms are. The door slams pretty hard and makes a loud noise, which occasionally disturbed us. The hotel should replace that with something that shuts quietly.

Overall, great experience, great location, staff could not be friendly and helpful, and a good breakfast. I would recommend this hotel to my friends.

Room Tip: Request of get one with a view.
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loveTheMap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2011

My partner and 3 other family members spent 3 nights here. And what a great find it was! The staff are all so friendly and are always willing to help. We were always greeted with a warm family welcome. The included breakfast is the perfect start to the day! The rooms were very warm and were all very clean with new amenities. A PERFECT location too! we did not need to catch transport anywhere! It was a lovely walk to all of teh major tourist attractions that teh beautiful Florence has to offer. As soon as you step out of the hotel and turn your body right, you see the beautiful Il Duomo - a pinch me moment every time this occured. The hotel is surrounded by wonderful shops and fantastic restaurants. Not to mention gelato and pizza shops! We had a fantastic stay. Next time we are in Florence, we will be definitely staying here.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel_Bug0003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2011

small, clean hotel in one block from the duomo and 3 blocks from the train station. elevator to take you up to the third and fourth floor where the hotel is located. free wi-fi in the room which is great. my room (#15) didn't have a view but that doesn't matter when you only sleep there :) I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stepha_ga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2011

* Describe the service you experienced
Excellent service. People, in general, were very friendly. Very good tips on touristic places and inside and personal suggestions that made us "hit the road running". The free mid-afeternoon expresso was very much appreciated. A little gesture that make all the difference and show the positive attitude towards the guest. Thanks.

* Tell us how you liked the room
Very clean, quiet, and organized.

* Talk about the location & amenities
Impossible to have a better location. Near it all. Within walking distance from the train station (10 min) and close to the main touristic atractions, such as the Duomo, the Bridge, the Republica square, both the new and the old market.

* Say what you liked best & least
The hotel has been recently renovated. Everything was brand new. We, even could seed the painters finish painting the aisle outside the Hotel.
Owners were very friendly and enjoy to host the guests. We could share some ideas and could learn some inside stories of the town and of its History.
The breakfast was huge and wonderful.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2011-Tony-V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2011

What a wonderful Hotel. My Husband and I stayed here for 3 days in March and Could not of been happier.

Rooms: Spacious and recently renovated. Very clean with comfortable beds.

Bathrooms. As these room have been renovated recently the bathrooms were like new. Nice showers with plenty of hit water. There is also a Shaving/Makeup magnifying mirror in the bathroom which is something I really miss when on Holidays.

Staff: Can't say enough about the staff at this Hotel. The owners and staff go out of there way to make you feel and home and will help with any questions you might have.

Breakfast: Great Breakfast. Fresh and plentiful. They will make you a cuppachino, Hot Chocolate , or anything else you want.

Location: Excellent. 2 min walk to The Domo and 10 minute walk to the station.

Internet: There is a laptop you can use anytime free of charge.

Overall: Perfect

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank live-at-cedars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2011

We stayed one night and had a large room on the 5th floor with a great view of the Duomo. The room was somewhat spartan but very nice and clean. The owners are lovely and very helpful, especially for those of us whose first language is English, as one of the owners is from Australia/New Zealand. The location was really good-near the train station, the Duomo and other sites. Note that the hotel starts on the 3rd floor and the elevator is small but fine; the steps are very easy to navigate as well.

The one disappointment was that breakfast was not overly exciting or great. However, very nice espresso.

Room Tip: The 5th floor large room has a great view.
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank newyorker021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Pendini
Hotel Pendini
#34 of 411 in Florence
1,812 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Duomo Firenze
Hotel Duomo Firenze
#62 of 411 in Florence
1,155 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#11 of 411 in Florence
3,520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#40 of 411 in Florence
2,136 reviews
Duomo
Rodo Hotel Fashion Delight
Rodo Hotel Fashion Delight
#54 of 411 in Florence
340 reviews
Duomo
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
#61 of 411 in Florence
1,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Perseo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Perseo

Address: Via Dei Cerretani 1, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Florence
#48 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#54 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £79 - £233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Perseo 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely renovated in 2006, Hotel Perseo offers large comfortable rooms full of natural light, many with spectacular views of classic Florentine landmarks. A superbly central location and friendly welcoming atmosphere combined with a stylish designer decor make Hotel Perseo a perfect place to stay when visiting Florence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Perseo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Perseo Hotel
Il Perseo Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing