We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Perseo gets my vote”
Review of Hotel Perseo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Perseo
Ranked #45 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 April 2011

This place was great. As a solo traveller I was looking for somewhere I would feel safe and comfortable and close to all major attractions without spending mega-bucks and this place definitely fit the bill. There's nothing fancy about it, but it's clean, and light filled and pleasant The room I was in was reasonably sized, particularly for one person. I'm not too fussed about a huge room as I don't spend much time there anyway, but this was bigger than I expected, as was the bathroom which was more than fine and much bigger than some bathrooms I've had in Europe. Beds are harder than I'm used to at home, but no lumps and I was so tired after full days I slept really well regardless!

The staff are great. They're friendly, welcoming and helpful: on my last day there, there were people painting the lift well so the lift was temporarily unavailable. Although I did not ask him to, the gentleman on reception insisted on carrying my suitcase down to the street, for which I was very grateful as it was pretty heavy!

It's close the the station, easy walking distance, and within "spitting distance" of the Duomo. I found its central location very handy on several occasions, as it meant I could go back there in the middle of the day without feeling it was too much hassle. This was particularly good seeing as the days started off quite cold, but were always lovely and warm by about 11:30, so it was good to get rid of jackets etc and walk around unencumbered: also if I did any shopping I could drop it off and not have to carry it all day.

Also, because the hotel is on levels 3 and 4, you don't really get much street noise even though it's on a very busy street. I was on level 4 facing the street and didn't really hear anything unless the window was open.

Having breakfast included was great, as going out for breakfast or spending extra for it at your hotel is one of those travel annoyances I try to avoid. They make your coffee for you from their espresso machine too which was a nice touch.

I stayed here based partly on TripAdvisor reviews, and I must say I was not disappointed.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BSlatts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,882)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

848 - 854 of 1,883 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2011

We had the pleasure of staying here for 2 nights and it's just great - 5 mins walk from the Train Station, 1 minute walk from the Duomo, and the Hotel is lovely. It's been recently decorated, and looks much nicer inside than out with bright modern rooms. Despite being on a very busy street there was zero noise. The breakfast was great - verything you could want.
The main highlight were the staff (probably the owners i'm sure) very friendly and helpful.
If i'm ever in Florence again i will look no further.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paddyh117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2011

We only had the pleasure of staying at the Hotel Perseo one night but next time will stay for longer. The location is great, right off the Piazza with the Duomo, between the Duomo and the Train Station. For all that, the room was very quiet except for when people were walking down the halls. Free high-speed wifi in the rooms worked great. The staff was very helpful. Room was small, as per usual in Italy.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dlaw51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2011

My wife and I stayed at Hotel Perseo on our honeymoon in April 2011. It was our first time to Europe; the first of many over a lifetime. We were nervous about European hotels being tiny, cramped, hot, etc. Hotel Perseo was great! We had a large, new, modern bathroom. We had plenty of space in the large, new bedroom. Our superior double room had a magnificent view of the Duomo. The location cannot be beat. We effortlessly walked to all the sights each day. We and all the amentities (air conditioning, U.S. power plugs, etc) and everything worked; no dissapointments. The staff was excellent. Everyone spoke English and was very kind the whole time. They were glad to help and be accomodating with an unexpected situation we had. Laura was particularly nice. We never hesitated to ask a question. The included breakfast was nice and 'delizioso.' I gave 4 stars instead of 5 on value because we sure as heck paid for the accomodations I'm raving about. We were splurging on our honeymoon and were happy with what we got. But in the future when we're on a budget, we may not be able to afford $290 a night (not euros). I gave four stars on sleep quality because, hey, its Europe. I didn't expect to sleep on a king size tempur pedic. But the sleep was acceptable. If you're looking to experience Florence in comfort, I highly recommend Hotel Perseo.

Room Tip: Ask for the 5th floor superior double room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank USTraveler1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2011

We arrived from Venice at 3 PM. Were pleasantly greeted by Tani, a mild mannered english speaking gentleman, who had a great sense of humor. Since the booking was done through priceline, we booked for 2 adults even though we were travelling with our 5 year old son. The staff was quick to offer us a larger room (one without a view), which we refused since we had requested one with a view. That simply showed they were willing to be hospitable and considerate of accomodating our son. At times, Tani also entertained us with an evening coffee and good advice on how to plan our day.
The breakfast was timely, and the staff always wore a pleasant smile on their face, almost like being at home.
The rooms were clean but small. We had the view facing the bell towers, which was nice to have, but did not care, simply because as soon as I got out of the hotel, I was face the duomo. A very central awesome location.

Some Areas of improvement:
The only mild negative feedback was the noise. Even though we were on the 4 floor, there was some karaoke bar which got very loud, but ended at midnight. That only happened on Friday night, after which there was peace and quiet for the next few days.
There is a common door which takes you to a passage where are the rooms are. The door slams pretty hard and makes a loud noise, which occasionally disturbed us. The hotel should replace that with something that shuts quietly.

Overall, great experience, great location, staff could not be friendly and helpful, and a good breakfast. I would recommend this hotel to my friends.

Room Tip: Request of get one with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loveTheMap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2011

My partner and 3 other family members spent 3 nights here. And what a great find it was! The staff are all so friendly and are always willing to help. We were always greeted with a warm family welcome. The included breakfast is the perfect start to the day! The rooms were very warm and were all very clean with new amenities. A PERFECT location too! we did not need to catch transport anywhere! It was a lovely walk to all of teh major tourist attractions that teh beautiful Florence has to offer. As soon as you step out of the hotel and turn your body right, you see the beautiful Il Duomo - a pinch me moment every time this occured. The hotel is surrounded by wonderful shops and fantastic restaurants. Not to mention gelato and pizza shops! We had a fantastic stay. Next time we are in Florence, we will be definitely staying here.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel_Bug0003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2011

small, clean hotel in one block from the duomo and 3 blocks from the train station. elevator to take you up to the third and fourth floor where the hotel is located. free wi-fi in the room which is great. my room (#15) didn't have a view but that doesn't matter when you only sleep there :) I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stepha_ga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Pendini
Hotel Pendini
#35 of 410 in Florence
2,096 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Duomo Firenze
Hotel Duomo Firenze
#60 of 410 in Florence
1,220 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#40 of 410 in Florence
2,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#29 of 410 in Florence
2,418 reviews
Duomo
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
#53 of 410 in Florence
1,482 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Globus
Hotel Globus
#36 of 410 in Florence
1,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Perseo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Perseo

Address: Via Dei Cerretani 1, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#48 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#54 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £88 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Perseo 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely renovated in 2006, Hotel Perseo offers large comfortable rooms full of natural light, many with spectacular views of classic Florentine landmarks. A superbly central location and friendly welcoming atmosphere combined with a stylish designer decor make Hotel Perseo a perfect place to stay when visiting Florence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Perseo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Perseo Hotel
Il Perseo Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing