We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Hotel!”
Review of Hotel Perseo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Perseo
Ranked #40 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Brea, California
Level Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel!”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Arriving from Rome, we loved this hotel. The rooms are bright and larger than in Rome. The wifi was hit and miss which was tough for us to try and call are kids back home. The breakfast was small compared to other hotels, but we were able to get something in us prior to heading out for the day. The staff was very friendly and they provided us with a detailed map and restaurant suggestions right when we arrived. The restaurants they suggested were the best we experienced on the entire trip (Za Za and Giannino). The hotel is located right near the Duomo and it was a perfect location. There are very loud bells that ring each morning, but we were usually up anyway.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rcopeland14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,701 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,046
    551
    85
    14
    5
See reviews for
492
780
74
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

This was our first trip to Firenze (Florence) and we stayed at the Hotel Perseo from August 27-September 1, 2013. The hotel is in a wonderful central location and easy to find from Santa Maria Novella train station a short 5 minute walk. Our room on the 4th floor was spacious with a queen size bed and a nice bathroom. The room is large by European standards and was clean and comfortable.

The staff was extremely friendly, helpful and professional. Breakfast was included, served in a bright room with a good selection to start the day off right including that all important cup of espresso. Laura, Tani and all the staff made us feel welcome and comfortable. On a few occasions, for supper, we decided to stop by a local supermarket to pick up salami, cheese, olives and a beautiful bottle of Chianti which we ate in the room. The front desk staff was more than willing to let us borrow plates, cutlery, glasses and of course corkscrew for our meal.

The hotel is situated ~300m from Piazza del Duomo and an easy walk to Galleria dell’ Accademia, the Uffizi Gallery, shops and restaurants. Even though you are in the center of all the tourist sites the hotel was quiet in the evenings and we appreciated the air conditioning at the end of a day of exploring all the sites.

I would defiantly recommend this hotel because of its great location, friendly staff and cleanliness.

Happy traveling.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SpruceGrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Perseo at the beginning of September. It was clean, conveniently located, and provided a quiet, comfortable refuge at the end of a day of site seeing. The rooms were spacious, had great AC and in-room wifi worked great. Staff were generally friendly, some more than others, and were helpful in making museum reservations and providing directions to great sites. While we had to return our keys each time we left the hotel, the reception desk was open 24/7. This hotel was fine value for a 3 star accommodation.

Pros:
- great location, easy to find and close to the train station
- had an elevator, which was awesome since it was on the 3rd and 4th floors of the building
- great working AC and in room wifi
- breakfast room was open late and had a fine selection of items
- held our luggage after check out for a couple hours


Cons:
- dreadfully small shower, which leaked onto the floor
- impersonal staff, didn't seem to go out of their way to help
- breakfast room was quite small and lines formed at peak hours
- rooms had wall dents and scuffs, could use some repairs or a coat of paint
- beds and pillows were extremely hard

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013 via mobile

The good: Big bedroom, great location, nice staff

The bad: small shower stall, small bathroom for toiletries, our 5th floor room, 520, we had to lug the luggage up one flight because elevator stopped at 4th floor. Breakfast buffet was very marginal compared to most places we have stayed during this European trip.

Would not give high recommendation for these reasons. But if you want a clean room in a great location, this will work.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HendersonCMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Comfortable room with large bathroon. The staff was very helpful and friendly, It has the perfect location (excellent) near to many of the most popular historical attraction.. very nice brekfast room, Strongly recommended

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZoniaBGarcia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoreline, Washington
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

My husband and I stayed here for two nights at the beginning of September. As others have mentioned, the reception area is on the 3rd floor (it would be the 4th in the U.S.) and we made the mistake of walking up all the stairs with our big backpacks when we checked in- there is an elevator- use it! The room was spacious by Italian standards and the air conditioning was heavenly to come home to with the sweltering heat we had there. The breakfast consisted of pastries, breads, meat, cheese, boiled eggs, juice, cereal and made to order coffee. We had an early breakfast the first day at 7am and there was only one other couple eating at that time, but the next day we didn't eat until after 9am and the breakfast area was packed. We were lucky to get a table right away, but several other parties had to stand around and wait for a table while we were eating. The one girl bussing tables and making coffee seemed very overwhelmed and could have used some help. Another hotel we stayed at had two breakfast times to choose from to prevent the small area from being overcrowded. I feel like this hotel could use something like that. Some of the people that had to wait seemed pretty annoyed. The location was fabulous- just down the street from the Duomo and an easy walk to the Accademia, the Uffizi and all the other major sights. The staff was nice but didn't seem to go out of their way to make us feel welcome, although we didn't really ask for help with anything. We would consider staying here again- it was clean and a good value for what you got.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Deanna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Location couldn't be better. Easy walk from the train station and right off the Duomo square so very convenient to all major attractions. Even given this central location, it was very quiet.
The staff was very friendly and helpful. When we checked in with Louise, she didn't JUST give us a map, she took a few minutes to help us get perspective on where we were in relation to the major sites which was very helpful. Not everyone goes to this extra effort.
When I made the reservation I explained that we were celebrating our 10th anniversary. We were given a room with a beautiful view of the bells (room 407) and never had an issue with them waking us up. I don't think they rang until about 8 or 9 in the morning. We were also surprised with a bottle of prosecco!
The room could use some fresh paint and minor repairs but there was nothing that would keep me from coming back and/or recommending to others.

Room Tip: Room 407 (can use elevator or stairs) has a great view of the bells. Never had an issue with them w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luv2travel_LJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#35 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,705 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Duomo Firenze
Hotel Duomo Firenze
#54 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#24 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#27 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,251 reviews
Duomo
Rodo Hotel Fashion Delight
Rodo Hotel Fashion Delight
#39 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Pendini
Hotel Pendini
#33 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Perseo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Perseo

Property: Hotel Perseo
Address: Via Dei Cerretani 1, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Florence
#48 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#53 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Perseo 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely renovated in 2006, Hotel Perseo offers large comfortable rooms full of natural light, many with spectacular views of classic Florentine landmarks. A superbly central location and friendly welcoming atmosphere combined with a stylish designer decor make Hotel Perseo a perfect place to stay when visiting Florence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Perseo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Perseo Hotel
Il Perseo Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing