We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING Location!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Perseo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Perseo
Ranked #41 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
St. Albert, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“AMAZING Location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

This hotel is literally down the road from Duomo.. close to everything. Good price. Rooms are nice and clean (dont expect a view unless you pay for the nicest rooms) LOTS of steps to get up to the top and a very sketchy elevator so be prepared for some stairs. Theres a begger who is outside the door everyday which may bother some people but that seems to be all over italy. Decent complimentary breakfast. Very nice staff.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashleiggh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,653 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,011
    540
    84
    13
    5
See reviews for
475
759
71
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

Excellent location - close to the main train station and on the main road so easy to find. Centrally located so easy access to all the tourist attractions. The staff were all very friendly - very helpful with recommendation. The room was reasonably sized - there is a nice shower and a good hair-dryer (sounds like a bizarre comments but some of the hotels I have bene in have rubbish hairdryers that do not really dry your hair!).

For breakfast, you have cereal, fruit (tinned peaches every morning and pineapple over the weekend), croissant, bread/toast (toaster available), small selecton of cold meat and cheese. I was very happy with this personally.

Do speak to reception about possible restaurants for dinner, etc - the recommendations they gave were all very good.

Overall, we were very happy with the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mmcaytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Va.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

In a nutshell, this was a positive experience. I would have rated it a three, but the staff was so helpful, nice, and attentive that it really deserves a four. The room was just o.k., large enough to be sure, but the decor and furniture were dated. We had the room with a view of the Duomo...Really, all you could see was the top of the shrine because we abutted another building in front of it. I probably wouldn't book it again (I think the cost was extra for the view?) The location is awesome, very close to the train station and EVERYTHING else you could think of. Breakfast was ok, enough to get you going in the morning. The Wifi was spotty. Look closely at the plaques on the outside wall of the buildings or you'll miss the entrance. Walking from the train station, the hotel is on the right, about a block before the Duomo. There is a SMALL elevator (but kinda neat) to take you to the third floor at check in. Don't be alarmed, there is a CCTV camera watching at the entrance as you make your journey up. As I said, a pleasant enough experience, made so by the great location and wonderful staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joelkevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

We arranged a 4-day trip to Florence and wanted a hotel convenient for the railway station and the city's attractions. Hotel Perseo couldn't have fitted the bill better. All the staff were so friendly and helpful, and The hotel receptionist, in particular, helped with art gallery, restaurant and day trip bookings and all kinds of advice, and nothing was too much trouble. Everything was first rate, and the hotel couldn't have been better situated for our needs.
Florence is a lovely city, and everything is walkable.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

My friend and I stayed for 5 nights in Oct 2013. The location is incredible, just a couple blocks from the cathedral and an easy walk to the other big sites and shopping in the city. There is an elevator to get you an your luggage to the third floor, where you'll have to check in. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful, more so than at many of the other hotels I've stayed in. They always have recommendations about where to eat or what to do, and if you have a specific question about bus schedules or how to get tickets, they will look it up for you. They even helped us print out tickets we bought to a wine tour. The room we stayed in was very clean and spacious for the most part. Im sensitive to light and was glad they had external shutters to block out the sun. There were a couple of devices in the room that had small lights on them that shone once we turned off the lights to sleep, but the front desk cheerfully gave me tape and paper to cover those up. also, the windows did a good job of keeping a lot of the noise of the city out. The included breakfast was nice. They had cereal, milk, cut meat and cheese, yogurt, fresh and can ed fruit, biscuits, toast, and someone was there to make coffee if you wanted it. While the relatively breakfast room was sometimes crowded, we never had to wait to get a seat as suggested by other reviewers. And once, the staff let us eat our leftovers from dinner by opening up the breakfast room during our lunchtime and giving us plates and silverware (there are refrigerators in the room). Also, the value was terrific. Given the location, the clean rooms, and friendly staff, the price was really very reasonable.

A few - minor in the scheme of things- cons: I agree with some of the other reviewers that there could have been more hanging space in the room as there was only one small closet area and only one small area for a carry on sized luggage to be placed. I ended up putting my larger suitcase on the couch. The bathroom, while very clean, also lacked much shelf space around the sink and in the shower, and the shower head kept falling down when I angled it. Also, being American, Im rather used to more shower space, but I made it work with the smaller shower. Also, and this is a very particular comment based on my own personal preference, but the pillows were very thin. I tried using two pillows but that was too much. I only mention this because it did impact my sleep.

Overall, this was a very positive experience and I'd recommend the hotel to anyone, especially for the price!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

This is a good hotel in an excellent location, just a few steps away from the Duomo. The staff are quite friendly, and the room was a good size with a comfortable bed. Given the glowing reviews here, I was a little bit disappointed with the overall experience - it was still good, but not quite as good as I was expecting. There were a few minor irritations: the breakfast room was very small, which meant that people often had to queue to be seated for breakfast in the morning. The in-room wifi was very flaky and often unusable. There was not much clothes hanging/storage space in our room (one wardrobe for two people to share and no extra storage). And the shower cubicle leaked onto the bathroom floor when in use, so we had to put down an extra towel on the floor to mop up the water. Having said that, it's a relatively good price and an excellent location, so I would stay there again, just with slightly lower expectations.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

Hotel Perseo is a good value hotel with clean, comfortable, spacious facilities and decent staff in Florence - which can have quite expensive hotels. We took 2 rooms there in late Sep as part of a family group of 6 - travelling for a month in Europe.
The best bit was the location - a short 10min walk from the train station and literally round the corner (1 min) from the main attraction the Duomo. However, Florence is a very compact city so it would be fair to say the Hotel was so central as to be close and walking distance to everything - San Lorenzo markets, Ponte Vecchio, Piazza della Signoria, Uffizi and around the main Centro Storico area. The longest walk is to Piazzale Michelangelo which is across the river and up the hill - touch set of stairs - but yes the views are worth it.
The hotel offers a decent continental breakfast (which includes boiled eggs) and we were very pleased with the selection - fresh and adequate.The staff were helpful and gave us some great restaurant suggestions - Zaza's was awesome - eat there if you can. The hotel itself is on the 3rd floor of the building so you take a tiny 2 person lift or the stairs. It is like on the main street so right next to it are all the shops and restaurants. However there is no noise in the rooms.
For budget conscious travellers who are looking for a clean, safe, value for money hotel which is very well located and has decent staff you can not go past Hotel Perseo.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RajivTRam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#35 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,687 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Duomo Firenze
Hotel Duomo Firenze
#47 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,057 reviews
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#28 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#26 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,816 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Pendini
Hotel Pendini
#37 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,346 reviews
Duomo
Rodo Hotel Fashion Delight
Rodo Hotel Fashion Delight
#39 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Perseo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Perseo

Property: Hotel Perseo
Address: Via Dei Cerretani 1, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Florence
#48 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#53 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Perseo 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely renovated in 2006, Hotel Perseo offers large comfortable rooms full of natural light, many with spectacular views of classic Florentine landmarks. A superbly central location and friendly welcoming atmosphere combined with a stylish designer decor make Hotel Perseo a perfect place to stay when visiting Florence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Perseo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Perseo Hotel
Il Perseo Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing