We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good 3* Hotel”
Review of Hotel Perseo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Perseo
Ranked #37 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 April 2014

No pretentions here, but a good location, clean functional rooms and good breakfast. Staff on reception and breakfast were very helpful. A bit noisy with the window open but that's what you get in the middle of Florence.
A/C worked well.
Easy walk from the station if you have wheeled luggage and near all major attractions.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,811)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

431 - 437 of 1,811 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2014

This hotel was perfect for us since we needed a big room and a nice clean place to rest after a long day of sight seeing. The hotel is centrally located and a short walk to major attractions and the train station. The staff was friendly and very accommodating. They even let us keep the room until 3pm on the day of check out. The breakfast was fine. There was good variety and plenty to eat. The coffee was made to order. I hope to return soon!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluizeNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Spending a few weeks in Italy, we were looking for hotels that were clean, safe, well located and affordable. The Perseo Hotel was all of those! We stayed here 6 nights and were very comfortable.

The hotel is simple, no fancy furniture or mass produced paintings decorating the walls. But the rooms were large enough, decent size bathroom, comfortable bed and bedding, WiFi, and Great Coffee and a nice continental breakfast. The location was perfect, 5 minutes from the Train Station and located 1 block from the Duomo with many shops, and restaurants. The staff was very helpful and friendly.

We would highly recommend this hotel for these reasons.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RTVM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Most of our experience of Florence was based on suggestions and advice from the folks at Hotel Perseo. It was so helpful to have their suggestions on what to visit, where to walk, and where to eat. The hotel felt clean, quiet, and safe. Taxi from the airport is standard 20 Euro plus 1 for each bag. Room was 95 Euro (for two) per night plus 6 Euro (cash) for city tax. Shower was a little wonky, but all else was good. Thank you HP!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank tripseeview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We booked two nights at the hotel sight unseen based purely on its location. The idea was to have a place to crash after our long flight to Florence from the USA. Since our itinerary was loosey-goosey, we had the option of going elsewhere after the first two nights if we didn't like it.

We booked the room on the internet and received an automatic confirmation. We didn't trust this, so we sent a separate email a few weeks later. Louise, one of the owners, promptly responded and confirmed our reservation. When we arrived, we received a warm welcome. We were lead up to our room, where a bottle of champagne was waiting in a bucket of ice!

Our room was nice and neat - nothing super fancy, but very welcoming. There was a pile of mint candies near the super-comfy queen bed. Between the bedroom and bathroom was a little room with a single bed made up like a couch. At first we scoffed at this silly little room, but then we pulled the curtains and opened the windows there was an incredible view of the top of the Duomo and nearby tower. Sleepy from our flight, we sat on that little bed, curled up, sipped our champagne and marveled at the beauty of the Duomo, which was bathed in a warm, orange glow as the sun set.

At dark, the Duomo is lit with floodlights. When we got out of bed at 3 a.m. or 6 a.m. to use the bathroom, we lingered at this window, like we were in a dream.

We've read a few criticisms here of the Hotel Perseo's breakfast. We can't help but wonder if the critics are unfamiliar with the entire concept of a European continental breakfast. If you are expecting an American-style breakfast, you will be sorely disappointed. Denver omelets and chicken fried steak with turkey gravy and fried hash browns are NOT on the menu. But you get fresh baked croissants ( We know they're fresh because We could smell them baking in the morning.) There are fresh rolls, and a choice of cheese. There are salty meats, hard boiled eggs, fruit, cereal, juice and more.

We've stayed in lots of hotels throughout Italy during two different three-week trips. Hotel Perseo's breakfast ranks near the top.

One of the hotel's biggest strengths is that you walk out the front door and you're about a block and a half from the Duomo. You're at the CENTER of Florence and its many sights. You can walk to dinner and all the main attractions. If you need a cab, the hotel can get you one in about 3 minutes. No kidding.

We loved this hotel so much that we booked a third night. Then we went to Malta a few days, and flew back to Florence to stay, again, at the Hotel Perseo, We wandered off to Venice, La Garda and the Cinque Terre, again returning to Florence. Without reservations, we could have stayed anywhere, but the Hotel Perseo was the logical choice.

We need to add that we received excellent advice from hotel owners Louise and his wife Laura. They took their time to ask us questions, try to understand our travel goals and give us good advice. We actually ditched a flight, took a train, and were able to spend several hours in Rome without any additional costs, thanks to Laura. We also saw David without waiting in line, thanks to their advice.

We probably could have saved some money and stayed somewhere cheaper. We didn't get the impression that the hotel was a bargain. But nor was it a ripoff.

We were very happy with our stay and confidently recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a partial view of the duomo if that's what you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jack D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

A nice hotel, although small but clean, walking distance from the train station. Breakfast area is small. Food was OK, but coffee was good. The location is great, close to many tourist attractions, and a lot of restaurants are in the area. Friendly and helpful staff. Having lived in North America for quite some time, the size of the bathroom needs some getting used to, especially when trying to take a shower in the shower stall.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff5152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

I stayed at Hotel Persco this past March with a group of ladies for a girls weekend away. We all had a fabulous stay here! The rooms were clean and ours had a nice view. I can not rave about the staff enough. As a nursing mom, I was nervous to be away from my son even for a few nights but the staff was so accommodating and allowed me to store my pumped milk in their fridge in my own little cooler. This was something they did not have to do and they probably are totally unaware of how much it was truly appreciated. So thank you Hotel Perseo!! The location of this hotel is just top-notch! Everything was in walking distance. You pop out onto the street and the Duomo is literally right there! Excellent choice for exploring the city on foot. The breakfast was great, especially the cappuccinos. Perfect way to start the day. I really can't think of anything truly negative about this place except our water pressure in our shower was a little lacking, no biggie. I would recommend this hotel to any friends looking for a great place to stay in Florence.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hilmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Pendini
Hotel Pendini
#36 of 410 in Florence
1,885 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#38 of 410 in Florence
2,179 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#12 of 410 in Florence
3,544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Duomo Firenze
Hotel Duomo Firenze
#62 of 410 in Florence
1,167 reviews
Duomo
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
#57 of 410 in Florence
1,426 reviews
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#29 of 410 in Florence
2,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Perseo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Perseo

Address: Via Dei Cerretani 1, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Florence
#48 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#54 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range: £79 - £210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Perseo 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely renovated in 2006, Hotel Perseo offers large comfortable rooms full of natural light, many with spectacular views of classic Florentine landmarks. A superbly central location and friendly welcoming atmosphere combined with a stylish designer decor make Hotel Perseo a perfect place to stay when visiting Florence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Perseo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Perseo Hotel
Il Perseo Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing